We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the sea-front” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
PL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Right on the sea-front”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely old building, overlooking the sea, less than 10 mins from centre of Bournemouth.
Staff are very friendly. Breakfast great. Lobby area perfect for lounging and reading the papers.
Although this is a Marriott, I had no sense of it being a big chain hotel, it felt much more like a locally managed hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    465
    228
    100
    57
See reviews for
252
570
31
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

First time at this Hotel. Drove up to reception and the doorman directed me to their car park. By the time I got to the other side he was there to direct me to the best space. Reception very friendly and I got an upgrade with a sea view at the front of the Hotel. Room was very spacious. Staff in the lift greeted me and wished me a nice stay. By this point I was already blown away by their hospitality. as I have a Marriott rewards card I got free wi-fi for 24 hours and parking was free. Attended a trade dinner in the adjoining suite. Food was great. bar prices not over the top either.

Breakfast was excellent. Wide selection of cold or hot food and the mushrooms were freshly cooked, not tinned, microwaved. Whenever i needed coffee refill or sweeteners there were staff almost anticipating my needs.

Can I find anything to criticize them for? Not really. Everything was brilliant. care and attention was perhaps over the top but I am not going to damn them for that. Fantastic!

Definitely stay here again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Get a Marriott rewards card and get to a reasonable level quickly! If you want parking at the Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodworker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

What a setting! Our room overlooked the beach and was not a standard hotel "box" - it was a really pleasant change to have an hotel room with character. Still the standard Marriott EXTREMELY comfortable bed though!
Best part of the stay? - Waiter Sam in the bar serving drinks and evening bar snacks - he had a wonderful patter with everyone in there and found time to chat with guests if they wanted. His chat with an American lady on an adjacent table, introducing her to small samples of British beers from the bar was outstanding!
Great breakfast selection.
Only downside was £10 overnight parking charge.

Room Tip: Well worth requesting a sea view room in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is our second stay here and I must say it just gets better, from the time we arrived in our car we were directed to a secure parking bay at the back of the hotel. Checking in was painless and efficient, our room with a sea view was perfect. This hotel is the ideal location for Bournemouth, walking east or west is lovely along the esplanades, lift available to get back up if required. Short walk into town. The facilities at the hotel are excellent, all the staff are great, nothing is too much trouble. In fact one of our group had a slight emergency and she was treated to the best attention that I've experienced at a UK hotel. Well done everybody, I think it is the Marriott American way of doing things.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeD278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

For our arrival, the hotel greeted us with a bottle of champagne in the room and some chocolates, which were amazing!!! Next morning we went for breakfast, we had an incredible continental breakfast, with great views to the see. Every single person working in there were really kind and always taking care of us.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanaosorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I had my wedding at the Highcliff Marriott Hotel on Good Friday 2014. Everything was absolutely perfect! From the professional and efficient staff to the delicious food. The Marriott had made my experience memorable. My husband and I was lucky enough to have lovely weather and was able to have the Gazebo wedding I wanted. The whole experience from planning my wedding to the day of was spectacular. Nothing was too much and the day had exceeded our expectations. I would highly recommend this hotel for a wedding or any other event. Angela Faber and previous events manager Nicola Hibbert were very helpful and helped me plan my wedding to the finest detail. Rony Da Silva was the banqueting manager/ host of ceremony for the day and had made my day run smoothly. Sarah Bailey was my personal assistant for the day and was absolutely helpful and very sweet and the Head concierge Steve is brilliant and was at hand if there were any issues. The staff really made me feel special and everyone who attended my wedding said it was the best wedding they ever attend. Thank you Highcliff Marriott!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatimama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

It's the staff that make the difference in this hotel, they are well trained, very polite and extremely helpful.
Leisure facilities and spa great for relaxing.
Good location on sea front, right next to lift for those who can't manage the steep slope down to beach. Lovely bar and barbecue to front of hotel.
We stayed in one of cottages which were absolutely delightful, very clean and well decorated.
Hotel restaurant very good value and steaks were great, although the puddings were exceptional especially with matching cocktails., will definitely return.

Room Tip: Either go for a sea view or a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillywhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing