We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stopped here for Two Nights 31st May/1st June The first room we were given was in the Old Dorchester wing which is like Gods waiting Room totally unacceptable for the price charged. In all fairness all the staff are brilliant and full marks to whoever is in charge of Training. There were no other rooms available but they did move us in to a more suitable room for the next night. I really object to them charging for Internet in the room £6 per Hour or £125 for the week when you are already paying £250 a Night. This hotel knows how to charge so watch out £1 for a shot of Lime Juice ?? A shame they have to be so greedy

Room Tip: Stick to the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiwibates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony E, Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Good afternoon Kiwibates,
Thanks for your post, great to hear about the service that you received, I have fed this back through to my team as recognition for them.
In regards to our internet, there is a premium on high speed and secured internet, our bedroom rates for this is £6 per hour and £75.00 for the week, however we also have free WIFI in our public areas for all of our guests.
Great to hear also about the team moving your room, due to the history of the hotel we certainly have a variety of styles of bedrooms.
Our beverage prices are constantly reviewed and again we are in the process of doing this, currently we charge 50p for a lime dash however again this is being reviewed as we speak.
Thanks again Kiwibates for your post and I look forward in welcoming you back to us at the Highcliff, when you would like to return give me a call and I will personally oversee all necessary requirements.
Kind regards
Tony Edwards
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

911 - 917 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for two night break with my teenage daughters we were going to a concert at the BIC.. I asked for a twin room with sea view & wasn't disappointed, we had a fabulous room on the 4th floor with 2 double beds & a view to die for! We had a front view of the sea & much to my daughters delight we could see a side view of the stage door of the BIC & all the tour bus comings & goings!
We ate both nights in the bar which was nice. The breakfast choice was nice but the hot food a bit dry as if it had been out for a while.
The staff were very friendly. Parking wasn't an issue I found a space easily & the car stayed there the whole stay (cost £10 per day) & we walked or used the local bus.
Shame about the weather as if it had been sunny the outdoor bar seating looked lively.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mum2em1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I would give this place a 5 if it was not for the parking. Honestly, that is my only complaint.

We were warmly greeted. Check-in was not complicated. More than one person offered to take our bags. The room was very spacious with a nice view of the water. We received a welcome card along with some treats that were delicious.

Room was clean and met our needs. They have an electric hot water pitcher for instant coffee or tea. They have a hair dryer, safe and small fridge in the room.

We were there for the spa. We received one hour massages in the gazebo. Excellent job.

Overall excellent service from the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gozz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a family wedding reception here. It was such a wonderful day and the setting was amazing. The staff, food and service were all top class. Would definitely recommend anyone booking their wedding reception here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Laird_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at the hotel. We were delighted both times. The concierge staff could not have been better. We have not stayed anywhere that has such a high standard of service led by senior concierge Stephen. The breakfasts were amazing in choice and quality and again service. Carlos created be-spoke omelettes to order from a vast range of fillings on offer for self selection and then cooked while u wait on the buffet hot plate. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel - maybe not the cheapest but certainly worth every penny. If you are hesitating just go for it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is at amazing location with superb services. I loved the view and the food available in vicinity. The rooms are comfortable with pretty decent staff to take care of needs. Best would be to take beach view (obviously) but even the cottages are nice.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank ShekharSingh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I should start with the fact that I kind of like Marriott. It's a brand that tries to deliver a consistent level of service, even if it is franchised (which makes it potentially trickier, as it means managing at arms length..)
I am also a club points member, so have stayed in quite of few of them.
My summary of this hotel:

Great location, on the beach head, and overlooking the sea.
You'd probably have to pay extra and early to book a room with Coast view, otherwise it's a gamble between that and the car park vista.
Hotel has a large typically English 'grand' hotel feel. Well appointed.
The rooms vary massively, so be very clear on what you want/expect.
Layout: typical of private hotels with loads of extensions, the walk from the lift to your room can be a bit like a maze. (Vs new builds that have every room /corridor designed to be a short walk from life. )
Last visit, we ended up in a back room, that had view overlooking rear car park.
As we checked in, we could hear below us, the infamous 'testing 1,2,1,2' sounds of a stage microphone being deployed. Yep, alarm bells rang in our heads..
Went back to recreation to ask, and they confirmed there was a dance floor below our room, which was being set up for a party later.
That's the bad news..
On the plus side.. The staff were EXCEPTIONAL In their empathy and understanding, and came to the room to check the situation, then immediately went about how to move us.
We ended up in a beautiful (and quiet) cottage, that Is part of the complex (note: the hotel bought the neighbour cottages which used to be the coastguard local cottages).
As a result, we ended up in a wonderful apartment, v quiet, and THE most wonderful views across the beach.
Feel very lucky and made our stay really very good.
The point I am making?
1) make sure you check location of room in relation to views, as well as whether it's near or above a late night function room.
2). The staff were so very friendly, with a 'can do' attitude, which is why I give the hotel a strong positive rating.

Top tip: don't include your breakfast in the stay, just the room. Sadly, 'chain' hotels charge a fortune, and there are really charming cafés within a short walk that are lovely.


I really hope this review is of use to you all.

:).

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't pay the expensive fee to have breakfast. There's lot of lovely cafés...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPM_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £69 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing