We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely owners”
Review of The Park 24

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Park 24
Ranked #69 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just spent a fantastic weekend at the very comfortable Park 24 B&B. The owners, Fiona and Chris, couldn't have been nicer and the facilities were top notch. The bed was gloriously comfortable, our room was quiet and the breakfast was a feast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowsubmarine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIONA D, Owner at The Park 24, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your lovely review.
Both Chris and I are delighted you both had such a good time, so very nice to meet up with you again after all these years !!! Such a very small world, once we had all worked who we were!!!!!
Looking forward to seeing you again if you are planning a return trip to sunny Bournemouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at The Park 24 for a short break, we had read the wonderful reviews, and our expectations were high! We were not disappointed, Chirs and Fiona certainly understand "customer service" nothing, and I mean nothing was too much trouble. It is so refreshing to find a bed and breakfast with this smart attitude, and it comes across as completely genuine.
Our bedroom was perfect with luxury bed linen, fruit, chocolate, flowers, and home made flap jack!
The bed by the way was so comfy we overslept in the morning, something we never ever ever do!
Bathrooms, terribly well appointed with rain showers, and the additional option of using the roll top bath, bath bombs, and the obligitary candles!!
Breakfast times are flexible with is another plus, non of this "you must be in by 8.30 or else" Fiona just needs an "ish" time which was helpful, as we had our big oversleep problem!
Breakfast was a feast of local produce, cooked to perfection, you simply have to try the mushrooms, divine, like nothing else I have tasted in the mushroom department.
The decor is fabulous, lots of wonderful antiques, and some modern art/sculptures thrown in, stunning sitting room and amazing fire, which was when we stayed in August, but I can imagine how beautiful it is. The gardens which Fiona tells me are Chris's department are a riot of colour and imagination.
Everywhere is spotlessly clean and starched even Lula the well behaved springer smells of shampoo!!!!
Beautiful candles greet you along with relaxing music, we have now found our Bournemouth "retreat".

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vicky1z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIONA D, Owner at The Park 24, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write this lovely review.
We like to think we offer something a little special and The Park 24 and pleased you thought so too.
Our "open house" policy is what is says, we really hope that our guests take the time to unwind and relax, the log fire will be in full action shortly, so perhaps another reason to take it easy!!
We look forward to welcoming you to The Park 24 if you should be planning a return trip to sunny Bournemouth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A beautiful house with peaceful and very comfortable accommodation. We were made to feel very welcome by the hospitable owners Fiona and Chris - thank you for looking after us so well. On arrival Fiona made us a pot of tea which we enjoyed sitting in the garden. We stayed two nights in the Beaumont Room and couldn't have asked for anything more. We had an en-suite shower room and there is also a separate bathroom with a roll-top bath. Candles and a variety of bath bombs help relax aching legs after long walks along the promenade. Breakfasts were fabulous and the town centre is a leisurely 15 minute walk through Meyrick Park and the central gardens. We highly recommend The Park 24 and can't wait to return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Oneov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIONA D, Owner at The Park 24, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your very kind review, it is always nice to know when we get it right!!
So pleased to hear you enjoyed the candlelit bath, always so nice to take the time and relax properly.
We shall certainly be exploring Naples, and thank you so much for your advice on where to go etc.
Hoping you will both visit us again if you are planning a return trip to sunny Bournemouth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

During our 2 night stay we were made very welcome by 2 friendly (but not in your face) and discerning hosts who really understand customer service and appear to take great delight in sharing their wonderful and comfortable home with you. Comfortable summer house to chill out in, located in a very well maintained garden whilst eating Fiona's cake and reading the house's newspapers. Breakfast is served in the kitchen/breakfast room where you can either engage in conversation with Fiona and Chris almost like old friends, as breakfast is cooked, or be left alone - they are experienced and sensitive enough to sense your needs. One word of caution and tip - Fiona's breakfasts are not only very scrumptious with high quality prduce being used so extremelly difficult to resist, but also very generous so make sure you bring your exercise kit to burn off those calories from the 2 double yoke eggs in the English breakfast !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIONA D, Owner at The Park 24, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank so much for your lovely review, it is always nice to know when we get it right!
We always use local and where possible organic produce for our breakfasts, and yes,the eggs are large!! Sadly the chickens are apparently having a short break from laying the "whoppers" but I am hoping they get back on form very soon!!!
Looking forward to seeing you again if you plan a return trip to sunny Bournemouth .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

My fiance Stu and I stayed here for a couple of nights from 19th July & it was a true delight. It was a very busy weekend in Bournemouth & although Fiona & Chris had sold out of rooms in the main house (which is stunning by the way) they offered us a gorgeous self contained apartment next to the main house. It was absolutely perfect. We were surrounded by the lovely garden & had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. Fiona & Chris were so helpful & welcoming, they'd even adjusted their Friday night plans so they'd be able to welcome us at 10pm on the Friday night after our drive down from the midlands. They informed us of great places to eat & how to get to the main town which was only about a 15-20 minute walk away & a very pleasant walk at that. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time and were made to feel so welcome. I'd have no reservations in recommending this fantastic place to others :) thank you to Fiona & Chris for such a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIONA D, Owner at The Park 24, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write this review, it was an absolute pleasure having you both to stay. It is always nice to know when we get it right.
We fully understand the that arrival times need to be fully flexible and wherever possible we will ensure that we can fit in around our guests and not the other way around!!!
You were oth so lucky with the weather and this always helps, hoping your journey back was not too much of a nightmare!
We look forward to welcoming you to The Park 24 the next time you plan to visit sunny Bournemouth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I traveled to Bournemouth recently to visit my new born grandson, and what a treat we had. I have been staying in Bournemouth for more than 20 years, and during that time I have experienced some of the poorer aspects of B and B that Bournemouth has to offer. However my confidence in human nature - and B and B's in Bournemouth - has been restored after our experience in The Park 24. Fiona and Chris really made you feel like they were happy you chose to stay with them. We had a cold bottle of beer and cup of tea on our arrival. We were give helpful advice on where to eat, go for a beer and any tourist attractions we might be interested in. The bedroom was sumptuous, the breakfast was wonderful - all appetites and indulgences catered for. Fiona loved baking and she offered us some of her wonderful creations fresh from the oven - yummy. The location was excellent, the house was wonderful, but what really made our stay memorable was the level of hospitality offered by Fiona and Chris, Thanks Guys, see ye next time we are in Bournemouth

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIONA D, Owner at The Park 24, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for your very kind words, it is always nice to know when we get it right!
We firmly believe that the little "extra special" touches make all the difference, during a stay away from home and we are delighted that you thought so too!!
Congratulations on the safe arrival of your grandson, and we look forward to seeing you both again on your return trip to sunny Bournemouth.
Once again thank you for taking the time and trouble to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have stayed at various places in Bournemouth looking for that special place, our search is now over as we have found The Park 24. In a great setting, in a very quiet area on the edge of Meyrick Park this large period house is just a 15 minute stroll through the park to the centre of town.

There are two rooms available; we chose the Beaumont with ensuite wet room. There is also a large bathroom with roll top bath across the hall should you prefer.

On arrival we were greeted by Fiona, the lady of the house, such a natural and entertaining hostess and offered wine, coffee or tea. We were then shown around the house and offered local area advice before being shown to our room.

With a choice of duvets, offered prior to arrival, quality bedding, furniture and fittings our room offered a very high standard of accommodation. There was also an easy to use coffee machine, Green and Black chocolate, fruit, bottled water and flowers; this is an area where The Park 24 offers so much more than the vast majority of their competitors. Homemade biscuits were also provided during our stay, no small packs of biscuits here.

Returning from a morning out we were served chilled wine and nibbles as we sat under the sun in the beautiful garden that is tended by Chris. We were fortunate, we were staying the weekend and the weather was glorious.

One of the highlights of our stay was the breakfasts created by Fiona in the open kitchen and served at the table overlooking the garden. Good quality locally produce food served at its best.

On our next visit to Bournemouth we shall be returning to The Park 24 to once again enjoy the delights of this fine house.
We have stayed at various places in Bournemouth looking for the one, our search is now over as we have found The Park 24. In a great setting, in a very quiet area on the edge of Meyrick Park this large period house is just a 15 minute stroll through the park to the centre of town.

There are two rooms available; we chose the Beaumont with ensuite wet room. There is also a large bathroom with roll top bath across the hall should you prefer.

On arrival we were greeted by Fiona, the lady of the house, such a natural and entertaining hostess and offered wine, coffee or tea. We were then shown around the house and offered local area advice before being shown to our room.

With a choice of duvets, offered prior to arrival, quality bedding, furniture and fittings our room offered a very high standard of accommodation. There was also an easy to use coffee machine, Green and Black chocolate, fruit, bottled water and flowers; this is an area where The Park 24 offers so much more than the vast majority of their competitors. Homemade biscuits were also provided during our stay, no small packs of biscuits here.

Returning from a morning out we were served chilled wine and nibbles as we sat under the sun in the beautiful garden that is tended by Chris. We were fortunate, we were staying the weekend and the weather was glorious.

One of the highlights of our stay was the breakfasts created by Fiona in the open kitchen and served at the table overlooking the garden. Good quality locally produce food served at its best.

On our next visit to Bournemouth we shall be returning to The Park 24 to once again enjoy the delights of this fine house.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 46,887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIONA D, Owner at The Park 24, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write this review, especially as you have not used Tripadvisor before.
It was an absolute pleasure having you both to stay, and we were delighted you enjoyed your time here at The Park 24, we like to think we offer something special and a little different , and we were pleased you thought so too!
We look forward to seeing you again on your return trip to sunny Bournemouth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,611 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,061 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park 24? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park 24

Address: 24 Meyrick Park Crescent, Bournemouth BH3 7AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £85 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A little bundle of luxury, hidden in the park" The Park 24, a boutique and bespoke bed and breakfast, offers clients unique and indulgent breaks. Like a country mini house hotel, yet by the seaside, we enjoy an idyllic wooded setting, minutes from central Bournemouth, Meyrick Park and the golf course. Accommodation is chic, with a mix of contemporary art, log fires and antiques, plus sympathetically restored interiors which beautifully complement this traditional Edwardian house. Bedrooms are individually styled, with luxuriously comfortable beds and luxury towels. Each room provides a flat-screen TV with integrated DVD, Nespresso tea and coffee machine, Bose iPod docking station, fluffy robes and slippers. There is a reading/games room, with a library of books to choose from, as well as the traditional fun board games. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing