We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyable”
Review of Winton Tandoori

Winton Tandoori
Ranked #224 of 741 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Cuisines: Asian, Bangladeshi, Indian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

On a Wednesday, you get 3 courses for £11.95 which is fantastic value - especially as the food is delicious.

I haven't got anything negative to say about my experience, it was thoroughly enjoyable - especially for the price. However, as the restaurant began to fill up, I could tell the staff were eager to get people finished. That's understandable though.

Toilets are clean which is always a plus!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan-Names-Taken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    20
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Forest
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely ”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

First time here, really busy, and best indian food we have had in years.

We will be back very soon.

Lovely fresh flavours and great service.

The Marisa is highly recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank covrich123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A promising first experience”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Not quite as Asian in atmosphere as one might have expected, but pleasant nevertheless. The tables are mainly set in rows down either side of the restaurant with those facing the central Isle sitting on a long padded benches against the wall. This place appears to be set up for turnover of tables, but as you are given two hours on the early evening 'sitting', it still leaves plenty of time to have an enjoyable meal. The service is fast and efficient, but the waiters seemed a little distant. However, we noticed that there were a lot of regulars eating and some of the staff took time to chat to these people. In fairness, I should point out that it was a Wednesday night which apparently is their specials night, offering a 3 course meal for £11:95. Very tasty and good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigglesMGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mhamun H, Owner at Winton Tandoori, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi,

Many thanks for taking the time to review, glad you enjoyed the food. We do pride in making sure the service is professional and efficient but will tell the front of house to be a bit more open. Hope to see you again soon

- all the best
Winton Tandoori Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant, Not quiet as good as last visit”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Evening started well with very good service.

However, Vegetable Samosa starter was luke warm.

We finished our mains, and 15 minutes after the plates were cleared following our main courses we had ask to be served as the staff seemed to be avoiding our table.
Once we had finished our coffees we waited 15 minutes for the bill before we decided to pay at the bar.

Still one of the best Indians about, but need to ensure the service doesn't slip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mhamun H, Owner at Winton Tandoori, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello Mark,

Many thanks for taking the time to make a review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the food but do apologise that the service you received wasn't up to our usual high standard. I will liaise with front of house and ensure that the service we pride ourselves upon is met. We hope to see you again soon

- All the best
Winton Tandoori Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best in Bournemouth!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have visited Winton Tandoori now on two occasions; once as a couple and again in a large group of 10. Both visits delivered the same quality and impeccable taste!

I have tried a lot of Indians in Bournemouth and this little gem hidden away in Winton has quickly become my favourite place to dine. The staff are friendly and attentive, the food is of a excellent quality and I always leave feeling full, yet wanting more!

The menu is brilliant, with curries included that I have never had (Bhuna Masala is a favourite) as well as the generous Wednesday set menu offer with 3 courses at £11.95.

Winton Tandoori is a golden light in the world of indian cuisine hidden away in Winton. My advise is to seek it out and ENJOY!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mhamun H, Owner at Winton Tandoori, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hello James,

Many thanks for your review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you soon

- Winton Tandoori Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winton Tandoori also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Winton Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing