We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay”
Review of Arlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arlington Hotel
Ranked #46 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
felixstowe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed at the Arlington for 4 nights last week - the whole experience was really good . We had a great room overlooking the Gardens which really added to our holiday .
The Hotel was very clean - the rooms being thoroughly cleaned every day .
The staff were all very pleasant - Reception on our arrival were great - it makes for a good start . We were able to park the car without any problems FOC - very useful as a number of hotels in Bournemouth are now charging up to £20 per night ! Parking is not guaranteed but with a bit of luck you should be ok .
The Evening meal is exceptional - if you want pizza , steak or any type of fast food don't have it - we had Dorset roast turkey , fresh grilled plaice , chicken etc - there's plenty of choice of really good home cooked food which is of high quality - normally a choice of 5 starters , mains & desserts - with unlimited free coffee afterwards .
We normally stay in 3* / 4* hotels but this is better than any of them - the rooms are not huge but more than adequate with really good beds , new TVs & not a speck of dust in sight .
The location is the best - go down through the hotel gardens & you are into the Lower Park Gadens which are only 3/4 minutes to the beach, pier or either side of the town centre . The walk to all these places is completely flat as well .
Not surprisingly they were awarded the Best Small Hotel of the year in Bournemouth in 2011 - it's certainly deserved . They just do everything so well & seem to attract good staff & friendly guests who return year after year & listening to some of them month after month - we shall be one of them !

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens are good but I think rooms at the front of the hotel are larger - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    86
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
86
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed at the Arlington Hotel as the base for a Bowls Tour and I would recommend the hotel 100%.
The hotel was in the perfect location, with the beach and shopping centre within easy reach.
The hotel staff were friendly and polite. I had a twin room which was ideal for a long weekend. The bathroom was a bit on the small side and I wasn't very keen on having to wash using the sink in the main room.
The hotel itself was clean and tidy and had everything that was required.
The food was excellent with plenty of choice at each sitting.
I would happily go there again.

Gunners Reading

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The staff are rude and unhelpful. They would rather shout and hang up the phone rather then sort a situation out like an adult! They cant take critisim and are out to con their customers into more expensive rooms. By stating 'only one room left'.
In the event of trying to log a complaint with mangement the phone call was quickly cut off and they obviously have caller ID and recognised the number as they did not answer again only to when I called from another number.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank queenyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is in the perfect location, short walk to the beach and pier and short walk to shopping centre. couple of nice restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk. The hotel staff were polite and friendly. We had a twin room on first floor at front of hotel, it was small but adequate. The bathroom was tiny and fan did not work, shower needed a bit more water pressure but we coped. we thought it was slightly overpriced for the room and time of year. Breakfast was good.
We would consider using this hotel again .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1kinkyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed here at the last minute after the hotel we had booked messed up our booking. Slightly apprehensive when we pulled up but ended up being pleasantly surprised. We received a warm, friendly welcome and were checked in effortlessly. We took the last room that was available, a twin room on the top floor (we saw there was a lift but didnt use it). The room was small and slightly dated but was cleaner than some 4* hotels we have stayed in. It was also comfortable, warm and quiet considering the location. The shower was only a trickle but we managed by using the bath.
The hotel was located overlooking the Winter Gardens, 5minutes walk from the beach. It was an ideal base from which to explore the town and seafront and we didnt need to use the car once. Its worth pointing out that the hotel does have limited parking but there is on-road parking outside or a multi-storey car park nearby.
Unsure if the breakfast was cooked to order as it came out very quickly but it was hot and tasty with plenty of toast, tea & coffee.
Overall a good hotel, good value for money and we would book again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bean25Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed at the Arlington at the weekend, my lovely partner and I were slightly apprehensive about staying at the Arlington, as we are regular customers for Bournemouth central premiere inn. However as they were fully booked we decided to give it a go. We were welcomed with smiles and there was a wonderful atmosphere. The characteristics of the hotel were truly homely and comforting. The staff were extremely helpful and we will most certainly return!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrietxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed here with a group of friends for a reunion. When enquiring we asked if groups were accepted, most welcome we were told. The opposite was found to be true. The hotel is extremely dated, although very clean. Walls & ceilings paper thin, rooms & bathrooms small & shower not much more than a trickle. Do not dare sit at the wrong table at breakfast as you will receive a lecture from the waitress with the nose ring (even though most tables were empty & already laid). One of our party was actually singled out by reception for being too noisy, we apologise if she was laughing too loud (so sorry she was trying to enjoy herself)!! We would have pointed out some of comments to reception on departure...but that is another story - be careful to check your deposits.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#9 of 66 in Bournemouth
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marsham Court Hotel
Marsham Court Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Hotel

Property: Arlington Hotel
Address: Exeter Park Road, Bournemouth BH2 5BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arlington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, independent hotel in a quiet cul-de-sac overlooking Bournemouth's Lower Gardens, with its own entrance directly into the gardens. Very close to beach, BIC & Pavilion theatres; both are less than a 5-minute walk - the BIC just around the corner with one pedestrian crossing to negotiate, and the Pavilion Theatre a short and pleasant stroll along the path through the gardens. The main shopping area with its impressive variety of shops and restaurants is also just across the Gardens. Short breaks to one of Bournemouth's theatres, a weekend getaway to the seaside, or a family holiday - The Arlington accommodates them all. Cyclists and walkers are always welcome at the Arlington and we can arrange cycle storage, cycle hire, and packed lunches for day trips. The Arlington Hotel has 28 rooms- single, double, twin and family rooms. Some rooms are on the ground floor, while there is a lift to the two upper floors. All bookings include: • FREE WIFI in all public areas • A full English Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Arlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing