We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable stay”
Review of Arlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arlington Hotel
Ranked #52 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I found the location excellent for the seafront, shopping areas and took several enjoyable walks
during my stay. The food was very good and I thought there was a good selection at each meal and the service was excellent. Overall the staff provided a high standard of service, always being
helpful and polite.

The only down side was the shower unit was not satisfactory, but I believe this was because the room I stayed in ( 23 ) had not yet been refurbished.

Mick Lister

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    85
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
39
84
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Good value for money, great location, Helpful staff.
However there are one or two bad points. The main photo of the front of this hotel is not a true description. There is not enough parking and the car park will be jam-packed to the extent that your car could be boxed in by five other cars. You have to leave your car keys at reception so they can move cars around.
We stayed in the small double overlooking the park. This was adequate except, the shower did not work so we had to have baths (which took ages to run). Also my girlfriend dropped an item of clothing on the wardrobe floor and when she picked it back up it was covered in dust.
Having said that, I felt the hotel offered a reasonably good experience for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked this hotel for a weekend away for my boyfriend. As we both work late on a Friday we did not get there till late however the night gentleman was lovely and was able to point us in the direction of some food that late at night which was so helpful.
Breakfast was fine good choice and staff were helpful. The lady on the desk was fantastic and went out of her way to find us out information about the local area.
The rest of the weekend was is to the same standard.
The room was small but perfect for a place to sleep and get ready as there are lots of mirrors.
The hotel is a bit dated however it just added charm.
The location is very central and close to the beach, bars and restaurants which was important to us as a young couple
Would definitely recommend and return
Thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabs_wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Arlington is in a wonderful position overlooking the Lower Gardens and has private access to the gardens. The rooms are good value for money and the facilities are adequate (free WiFi, bar and terrace with great view, complimentary tea tray and toiletries, free car parking). The pier and seafront are minutes away, as is the town centre. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. Good breakfast choices. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadbuttruenumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-s-Mare
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Have stayed at the sister hotel twice before, but this was the first time at the Arlington. The hotel is a bit tired, but was spotless. All the staff were friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was plentiful and hot. The only real gripe was the bar price for a 440ml can of beer at £2.80, at the nearby Wetherspoons you can get a full pint of real ale for £1.99. Even the barman thought this was a bit steep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I were part of a group of 17 who booked into the Arlington on Friday 7 March for a Rotary conference at the Bournemouth International Centre. The position of the hotel was excellent - two minutes walk to the centre or to the beach.

There's nothing fancy about this hotel, but it does represent good value for money. Our double room was small with a tiny en suite, with bath and shower, but it was immaculately clean and cleverly planned with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space, ample flat surfaces for cosmetics etc, and a decent sized TV for watching the news while dressing for dinner.

We ate dinner in the hotel as a group on the Friday evening, and the food was quite delicious - not an extensive menu, but even my vegetarian wife had no complaints. The wine list was very reasonably priced, and we enjoyed a very palatable Rioja.

The staff were universally pleasant, and we were very well looked after during the one evening we spent in the small but comfortable hotel bar.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone spending a few days in Bournemouth and looking for an inexpensive but well placed resting place, very handy for the BIC, the Lower Garden, the pier and beach, or just the shops and cafes of Bournemouth.

Jimmy Morrison

Room Tip: The best views are towards the back of the hotel, overlooking the terrace and Lower Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Arlington Hotel on 22nd Feb 2014 due to visiting the BIC.
Pleasant room, very close to BIC, lovely breakfast and friendly staff. For under £60 we had a double room, parking and a breakfast.
The room was basic but perfectly fine for our 1 night stay. I would stay here again due to the price and proximity of local attraction.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJC005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#9 of 66 in Bournemouth
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#18 of 132 in Bournemouth
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#65 of 132 in Bournemouth
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Hotel

Property: Arlington Hotel
Address: Exeter Park Road, Bournemouth BH2 5BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arlington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, independent hotel in a quiet cul-de-sac overlooking Bournemouth's Lower Gardens, with its own entrance directly into the gardens. Very close to beach, BIC & Pavilion theatres; both are less than a 5-minute walk - the BIC just around the corner with one pedestrian crossing to negotiate, and the Pavilion Theatre a short and pleasant stroll along the path through the gardens. The main shopping area with its impressive variety of shops and restaurants is also just across the Gardens. Short breaks to one of Bournemouth's theatres, a weekend getaway to the seaside, or a family holiday - The Arlington accommodates them all. Cyclists and walkers are always welcome at the Arlington and we can arrange cycle storage, cycle hire, and packed lunches for day trips. The Arlington Hotel has 28 rooms- single, double, twin and family rooms. Some rooms are on the ground floor, while there is a lift to the two upper floors. All bookings include: • FREE WIFI in all public areas • A full English Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing