We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cecil Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cecil Court Hotel
Ranked #29 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Oxford
1 review
“Lovely weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just spent the weekend at the Cecil Court Hotel in Bournemouth. It is really lovely. It has clearly been recently refurbished to a high standard. We stayed in room 10 and it was nice and big. Great value for money. As for restocking or clean towels as mentioned in other reviews, I did mention the fact that our room had not been cleaned whilst we were out during the day and I was told that the rooms are cleaned every other day but if there is anything that we needed then all we had to do was ask! Simple!! As for hairdryers, I always take my own as a precaution and often don't get on with other hairdryers anyway, I do prefer my own. This might be some teething problems for some, but for the cost of this hotel, I think some people just want to pick out minor niggles for the sake of it!!
The hotel is literally a 5 min walk from the town centre but also in a quiet enough area to enjoy some peace and quiet.
The owner and his wife are lovely and we were in the bar until almost midnight on Saturday having a drink (or two ) with them.
Breakfast is great, full English or any variation of it if you prefer something a bit smaller. We had a smaller breakfast on Saturday morning as we were going off to play racquet ball!
Nice, clean, bright all round excellent hotel and have already booked for another weekend in August :-)

Room Tip: try and get room 10, its lovely, bright and big :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    73
    33
    7
    5
See reviews for
38
101
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a clean friendly hotel so local to beach and town. comfortable beds with extra pillows if needed. amazing value. had a lovely stay and the staff couldn't be more accomodating, lovely.
would definetely stay again. thank you

Room Tip: front of the hotel will experience more noise naturally. and it is a busy hotel area and popular so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winnjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for Valentines weekend. Had secured a great rate by booking well in advance. We arrived late due to the recent inclement weather but this wasn't an issue. We were shown to our room, which was lovely and clearly recently refurbished. Have since read reviews from others and agree there are still some things needed to bring the place up to a higher standard. Firstly, we only had a bath in the room - this was OK but not great if you need to wash your hair; bringing me on to point 2 - where is the hairdryer? I had to go out with wet hair as I'd assumed one would be provided so hadn't brought my own. The first time I went in the bathroom, there were hairs in the sink. Unfortunately for me, I am not great with having to pick up other peoples hair. Apart from that, the bathroom was spotless, but hooks need to be installed in there or a shelf, as there was nowhere to put things. The room was also very cold, heating didn't come on til way into the evening and was switched off again in the morning. There were only blinds up at the windows too, so no way of making it more cosy. If you're going to stick with original single glazing, please could you put up some curtains. Tea and coffee making facilities were available, but one of the UHT milks in our tray had been opened previously so wasn't great. No restocking of the tea and coffee took place, despite us being booked for a 2 night stay. Also we only had bath towels, no hand towel and their policy is to only replace every other day or on request. I don't object to using a towel more than once, but because the heating wasn't on after the towel had been used, it wasn't dry by the time I came to use it again. My suggestions would be - make sure guests are your priority - get hairdryers, review your restock/replacement system and please, please make sure the rooms are warm. Also, the thing that spoilt my trip more than anything was the rowdy group who were braying on the hotel door (underneath our room) at 6am!!! I'm no party pooper but I do like a good nights sleep. All in all, despite the points above I really liked this hotel and would visit again. Am confident that in time, the niggles will have been sorted and it will be a sought after place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back and with a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Arrived late afternoon with my wife for a one-night stay to find car park full. The hotel does not guarantee a car parking space in any case. A gentleman who greeted us at the door suggested that I might be able to park at the side of a nearby road which I found to be fully occupied already. However I managed to park temporarily in the hotel car park by blocking in another car.
This meant that we could take our luggage to our room and I then found a pay and display car park nearby. Luckily we had to attend a function nearby and we found a parking space there. Room was clean and tidy but heating was turned off. There was a bath but no shower. Only one towel per person was provided. No cup or beaker was provided in the bathroom for washing of teeth. Tea and coffee-making facilities were located in a cramped position on top of a bedside cabinet (which also had a table lamp) presumably because there were no suitable electric sockets (but there was plenty of space) elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get there early to check in and you may then be able to park at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sightseer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Had a lovely night away fab hotel fab room fab breakfast and lovely owners and staff lovely bar area really relaxed will definitely be returning just a short walk from the town and a few minutes away from some lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I can't fault this hotel on arrival was greeted with a huge smile and a valentines rose! Customer service was great, the room was very spacious, very clean, shower and toilet room was spotless and spacious for an en-suite! Will be returning and will be recommending to friends! I think I fell in love with the hotel as it's also my grandads name :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FisherOliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

As previous reviews have said the hotel has recently been refurbished to a good standard A lovely warm welcome and secure place to park. The only thing that let it down for us was the windows it was so draughty we were freezing even with the heating on I understand wanting to retain the windows in keeping with the building but please draught-proof them or think about hanging curtains - blinds alone just don't do it!
The breakfast though extra was worth every penny We didn't need to eat until the evening after it Well done chef it really was good Would we stay again - undoubtedly it was worth the money convenient and apart from the window draught a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#30 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#16 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#46 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#15 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#3 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecil Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecil Court Hotel

Property: Cecil Court Hotel
Address: 4 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cecil Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderfull building built in the later part of the 1800s a true gentlemans residance with many original features ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cecil Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing