We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay for stag party” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cecil Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cecil Court Hotel
Ranked #31 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
La Paz
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay for stag party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here just the other day with a stag party of 8. The staff are very friendly and have a good sense of humour. Everything was clean and facilities were good. Breakfast was just OK, but all in all great value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    71
    33
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
101
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Nice welcome from ollie, we had two rooms one double one family, rooms small but pleasant tea and coffee making facilities but no decaff, could not open bathroom window in the family room the weather was particularly hot and Humid very difficult to sleep fans in rooms would have helped, walls seem thin could hear very loud tv from inconsiderate neighbour I did mention this not sure if told, breakfast good, would be nice to have rooms cleaned daily and not every two days but all in all a pleasant stay with friendly staff. Also did not expect to pay before stay never done this before I believe you should pay on leaving when completely satisfied with hotel.

Room Tip: Family room stuffy and third bed not comfy at all this was room 3 but main bed very comfy and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsangryRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Warm welcome from Kenny & his son on arrival. Always find it slightly odd that you have to pay on arrival rather than check out - but hey ho! Hotel was completely refurbished last year having been derelict and this shows in the decor and cleanliness. We had a deluxe room (Room 6). The room was very small and the view from the window was the car park of a neighbouring hotel. Glad it wasn't a standard room! Steps down to the bathroom which were OK. Shower worked fine on Sat evening, however, flushing the toilet caused the shower to stop working. Met other guests in the bar on Sat evening watching the football. The drinks are very expensive- London prices, which was a little shocking. Shower did not work at all on Sunday morning. No water pressure and the trickle was either boiling hot or freezing. Breakfast was good and it seemed as though you could keep going up for cereals, yoghurt, toast etc. We mentioned to the manager that the shower didn't work and he did not seem surprised and said there had been "issues." All in all, this was a pleasant stay and we would go back (if they accepted dogs)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labramad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A very friendly greeting when we arrived and then we were shown to our room which was basic but had everything you needed for a one night stay including a hair dryer. Happy to answer questions; directions to the beach. However although the breakfast was nice the people serving were quite rude, we were sat for 15 minutes before anyone came over, serving people who arrived after us also when I asked what I could choose from I just got a blank look and response of well it's just a full English. I won't let this put me off and will return again and go to spoons for breakfast :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cazsh95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

we stayed here june 22nd-29th ,warm welcome, spotless room, friendly staff, free off road parking, breakfast was delicious.a first class hotel , we had a quiet room ,was so quiet we slept untill 9am ,nearly missed breakfast[the bed was a memory foam one ,comfortable to say the least]highly recommend this hotel .5mins walk to the beach and to the shops.

Room Tip: we would use this hotel again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Although a smartly presented budget hotel close to town I'm not sure quite how this hotel got it's amazing reviews. Just the little things - like maybe offering to help carry a case when we were led up a steep flight of stairs to our room. When asking for a cup of tea at the empty bar one evening we were told 'there are tea things in the room'. As it was our second day and the rooms are only cleaned every 2, we had run out milk/tea bags. He went to the kitchen and rather than make me a tea came back with a small jug of milk and extra t-bags, I then had to take these up to my room, make tea and come back down as my partner was having a beer there. Yet all the reviews say 'nothing was too much trouble for the staff'? Breakfast is included in the price but there are 2 options on the Booking.com website and I had inadvertently ticked the wrong box that hadn't included breakfast. We were informed of this at the breakfast table in a packed room and made to feel really uncomfortable - he kept saying he won't make a big deal of it and to continue with our cereals for free but then that's it. Felt so embarrassed like we were trying to cheat them (although it came free anyway) and couldn't wait to leave. What with the really noisy air con unit outside all night, rubbish left in the bedside cabinet, hot/cold shower and the unfortunate incident of standing outside because of the fire alarm at 3am.....will never stay here again that's for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephsviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard c, Owner at Cecil Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
thank you for your review I have checked your paperwork and you booked a room only
no breakfast
I provided breakfast on the first day my mistake for not checking paperwork on the second day I noticed that you were room only out of curt icy I let you have toast juices coffee cereal's
without charge
we do not do free breakfast there is always a charge
always check your paperwork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with friends in a triple room. Good parking, very friendly and helpful staff.
Room was clean and the beds very comfortable. Very good breakfast. Only comment was the air conditioning unit from the next hotel was outside our window and very noisy from 6 am. This however was not his fault and he did apologise. Also for a triple room there was not enough tea/ coffee or milk.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#30 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#19 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#46 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waves In
Waves In
#29 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecil Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecil Court Hotel

Property: Cecil Court Hotel
Address: 4 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cecil Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderfull building built in the later part of the 1800s a true gentlemans residance with many original features ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cecil Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing