We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for a beach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2011

My husband and had a very relaxing and enjoyable week. All the staff were very friendly and the food was very good - we opted for breakfast and dinner. The room was comfortable and even when there was a wedding reception being held, the music was not too noisy and ended at a reasonable time. We didn't have any problems parking outside the hotel and the area was very quiet and just a very short walk from the beach which has got to be one of the best and cleanest we've seen. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Go for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsellery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,261 - 1,267 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

We had our wedding at the Riviera on the 27th of May, and from start to finish my experience of the hotel was excellent. From the initial enquiry we had total confidence that Silva (wedding co-ordinator) and all the staff would make our day perfect, which is exactly how it was.
Nothing was too much trouble, we sorted different menu requirements, disabled access and minor things like decoration arrangements with ease.

On the day everything went without a hitch. The bar was well stocked and well staffed, the food was delicious and at no time did we feel rushed to finish. The evening reception was excellent, and having the separate room is brilliant as it doesn't feel like you're spending the whole day in one function room!

The honeymoon suite is compact but lovely, with a nice balcony with sea views. Several of our guests stayed and they all said their rooms were great. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and well cooked.

Overall I loved our day, and our stay. I'd recommend the hotel, and especially the wedding package, to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsEtherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We recently stayed at the Riviera on a 5 day coach holidy.
The manager came on board the coach to welcome us to the hotel. Free tea and coffee were served in the lounge, a nice touch.
Our room was on the front of the hotel facing the road, it was well appointed and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and despite being on the road it seemed to be traffic free at night so no problems sleeping even with the window open.

The food was excellent with a good choice and the chef went the extra mile in presentation.
For breakfast there was a vast choice with something for all tastes. The fried eggs tasted very fresh unlike some hotels where they seem to have been made hours before ! The quality of the fried eggs and bacon are usually a good guide to a well run kitchen, so full marks here.
Free WiFi is always useful, in this day and age I fail to see why some places are so greedy they consider this to be an extra, so well done Riviera.
Last but not least the staff at the hotel were as friendly a bunch as I have seen anywhere both in reception and in the dining room.

In conclusion a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The front rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Observer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words ,it’s great to hear such good feedback as all the our staff work very hard to exceed the guest expectations . We look forward to welcoming you back at The Riviera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I cna not fault this hotel at all, the reception staff were exceptional, the managment should be gratefull to have such good staff working for them, I would go back time and time again.

Room Tip: Try and get a lodge room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveh1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Thank you for your comments I am pleased that Claire and her reception team made a really good impression , they are a real asset to the hotel I will pass your comment to the reception team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Just back from a weekend there - didn't have such a good time due a drunken crowd in the pool at 4:30 am Sat which wasn't really dealt with - checked out a day early as a result. Stayed in pool lodge family room. Clean, but dated and problems with hot water for showers - apparently it doesn't come on until 6pm! No bath - only shower with mouldy grout. Would not say lodge rooms were 3 star but perhaps hotel rooms are. Staff were very nice but preoccupied with Weddings both Fri & Sat. Nearby beach lovely. Credit to management as they gave us a refund when we left early.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Spent two nights at the Riviera. Lovely staff, hotel spotlessly clean. We paid an extra £20 for a room with balcony/sea view and it was well worth it. Breakfast was good and plentiful too. It's just a five minute walk to a beautiful beach. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 211, quiet and fabulous view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We are regular guests at the Riviera (both the hotel and apartments) and would like to say that yet again it has come up trumps and given us a home-from-home relaxing break with great service and food. The staff are always friendly, the rooms could not be cleaner and the location of the hotel could not be bettered, in my opinion, for a family with young (ish) children. It takes about 3 minutes to walk down the hill to the fabulous wide sandy beach at Alum Chine, where there's also a great playground for the kids and a cafe serving Italian coffee for waiting parents. A little train runs along the promenade to Bournemouth pier and town centre, or it's a 20-minute walk. We alternate our days on the beach or swimming in the hotel's pools. The food is good, with a children's menu to keep the younger ones happy. A perfect break for stressed parents. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaside38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
192 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,572 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £43 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing