We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Friendly & Well Run Hotel , in nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Friendly & Well Run Hotel , in nice location”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a very well run hotel and all staff have been very well trained. Every-one was so cheerful & helpful from the management down to the cleaners and it made for a very relaxing atmosphere.
We parked in the rear carpark which also has an entrance to the hotel via a lift . There are parking spaces at the front of the hotel and in the event of no carparking spaces being available,guests are encouraged to park on the road outside the hotel,leaving keys for management to move it if blocking anyone one in.

Breakfast - Hot & Cold serve yourself to as much as you like with the tea,coffee & toast being served at the table. With a vast choice of food there is something to suit every taste. If you want Porridge etc it is individually cooked on request.

We didn't have an evening meal in the restaurant as we went for a walk out to Bournemouth and ate in 'The Moon in the Square' Weaterspoons pub (The only one which we could find that allowed under 18's in - allowed kids in til 9pm & I'd recommend it to anyone).
We returned to the hotel bar and entertainment later for a few drinks and sometimes baguettes ,which were very tasty.

Nice comfy seating areas in reception area and free internet use on their computer.

On the one morning that it rained our son made use of the Xbox which just required a £10 returnable deposit for the games & controller. There is also a Pool Table,Table Football, Table Tennis , Playstation 2 & other games located in a couple of games rooms on the lower ground floor. Deposit required for Cues etc. It took us a time finding the games rooms so more signage would be a help . But it was no trouble as we enjoyed touring the corridors looking for it!

The Outdoor Pool area was very nice and even though the water was coldish when you first got it it was bearable and many any hour was spent in there. It was nice having some music played in the background as well.

The Indoor Pool needed a code to get in, and FreeTowels are supplied from reception. There are 3 changing cubicles and a playpen for people with small kiddies. There are lockers available but we didn't use them. (We left our valuables with reception whilst swimming) . The pool was clean and lovely and warm. There is also a jacuzzi and a sauna,although the Sauna was only hot on one occasion. I did however see it written somewhere to ask for the Sauna to be switched on if you intended to use it.

We had a family seaview balcony room which was a decent size,but when we extended our stay,the second family seaview room was a lot larger . Rooms seem to vary in size but on peeping into rooms as we walked down the corridor they all looked decent sizes.
Nice Flatscreen TV but we didn't use that much.
Hairdryer in the room and complimentary toiletries.Tea & coffee & hot Chocolate replenished daily.
Plenty of Coathangers in large wardrobe (12 in first room & 16 in next )
Bathroom very clean and rubber bath mat supplied on request.

The one occassion when wereported that our sink plug was stuck,the maintenance man had it fixed a few minutes later. Excellent service!

The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from the beach and the hill,although steepish,isn't as long and steep as others in Bournemouth.
The beach near to the hotel has lifeguards on duty and cafes & toilets .


I would recommend this hotel to everyone and will certainly be returning again.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a Seaview Balcony Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffordJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind review. We pride ourselves in catering for everyone and can see that your family enjoyed the many facilities we offer especially for children.

I have passed your kind comments on to the team who work so hard to get reviews like this.

Kind regards.

Jonathan Gould
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    462
    184
    55
    35
See reviews for
421
500
40
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

in the past we have always stayed on the outskirts of bournemouth but having read the website decided to stay at the riviera. We were not disappointed. We stayed in one of the superior apartments and found them ideal for our family of three.
the apartment was clean,tidy with everything provided for a week away from home.The bathroom was ok and bedroon was a good size with confortable beds.
The kitchen and living room area was also comfortable with ample seating and good tv &
reception with choice of many channels.
Sun bathed around pool area - very nice but too cold to go for a dip,staff helpful when asked to find extra sun loungers by other guests.Didn't use indoor pool.
staff in reception and bar staff very helpfull.
Ideal location - 2 minute walk onto the superb beaches0
Thanks for a great holiday - we will certainly visit you again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sreven_byram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments which I have passed on to the Riviera team. We have worked hard to create a superior apartment in Bournemouth and we believe they are ideal for a family getaway.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Gould
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, LA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed in one of the Riviera Apartments as part of a large group for a family wedding. The apartments were fairly basic although convenient--they had a tiny living "area," bathroom, two bedrooms, and a small kitchen which was adequately equipped. We noted the way the cutlery and utensils had been lined up in the drawers and there were notes about how many of everything there was--clearly the management thought we would steal thier stuff! The bathroom was absolutely tiny and you could hardly squeeze between the sink and the bathtub. It was a task to get four people washed and brushed in the morning! Otherwise the apartmetn suited us as a family of four. The hotel itself was very pleasant--the breakfast buffet was awesome with everything you could want and more. I pigged out every morning. We sat in the bar area all moring and had coffee and then sandwiches and the staff was very accommodating to our large group of 15 people or so with assorted children running around. The kids loved the indoor pool and if the weather had been better they could have used the lovely outdoor pool, too. The location of the Riviera is superb with a short stroll down the hill to Alum Chine and the beach. That was beautiful. All in all, I would recommend the Rviera as a base for a holiday in the Bournemouth area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nell417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and I am glad you all enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been passed on the team.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Gould
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Buyer beware, online the hotel Riviera photos look ok it boasts an indoor and out door pool, so at £151.00/night you would expect something reasonable. Well here goes... the small indoor pool is in an under-light basement area with poor ventilation no day light, it smelt so strong of chlorine we had to leave. The out door pool was very basic bit like Butlins in the 60's with no changing facilities. Our room looked like it had been decorated from the cheapest discount bin at B&Q I'm probably doing B&Q a disservice. The TV was minuscule and the room very small the mattress was also very uncomfortable. It was more swing a mouse rather than a cat. The staff however were pleasant and the breakfast OK but at the advertised £151.00 a night they must be laughing all the way to the bank!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanster707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. It’s disappointing to see that we did not meet your expectation on this occasion. However, the review title may be misleading to other readers. Being an older style hotel, our rooms do vary in size but generally are able to accommodate the number of guests residing. The hotel bedrooms are undergoing a soft furnishing refurb incl curtains, throws, cushions, valences to complement the rest of the room incl the 19” tv, which may not be as large as we have at home but more than ample in a hotel room, with limited viewing. We are pleased though that you found the breakfast ok and staff pleasant, and hope that despite your reservations, we may be able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Jonathan Gould
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have stayed at the Riviera a few times, at different times of the year and for different reasons, e.g., family celebration, couples getaway, winter break. We stayed for 5 nights last week and had a great time.This hotel delivers friendly, approachable staff, comforting, satisfying food especially breakfast. Its public areas are light airy and clean, with great big sofas. It really does feel like home-from-home. Ideally situated in a quiet street, a 5 minute walk to the beach at Alum Chine. Car park at the front and around the back of the hotel. Sea views from the restaurant and bar, indoor and outdoor pool, pool table. Room cleaning staff did a great job. We rarely return to the same place twice, but we'll be going back to the Riviera!

Room Tip: Ask for room 231
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ta323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My daughter (22) and I had a 3 night stay at The Riviera which we really can't fault. The staff are all very helpful and welcoming and the hotel is in an excellent location.
We were on bed and breakfast tariff, which was excellent with lovely morning views of the sea.
Even the slightly cheesey entertainment was good fun, we boogied one evening away drinking a very reasonable bottle of sparkling rose.
We were lucky with the weather which added to our enjoyment, but luckily there's enough to do in Bournemouth if it rains.
We didn't use either pools - it wasn't quite warm enough for outdoor, and never found the time for indooor, but both looked fine and clean.
I'd definitely recommend a trip to Brownsea Island whilst down in the area, the chance to see red squirrels (which we did) is too good to miss.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great comments , I will pass this on to the rest if my team

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera

Yours sincerely,

Jonathan Gould
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My wife and I booked a late deal for four nights, Although arriving after check in time we had to wait for two hours for our room. The reception staff were very apologetic and we were offered drinks and a snack whilst we waited. Once it was ready we were delighted to have been given a sea view room with a balcony. The room had all the amenities we would require in using it as our base. It was clean and had plenty of room for us to relax. It was not modern but was more than adequate and well within our expectations for a 'seaside hotel'
The Bar and restaurant facilities were great, we only ate breakfast at the hotel, but wow what a breakfast, it had everything hot and cold and the waiting staff were very attentive, The conservatory area was a delight to have your breakfast with lovely view of the sea.
The Bar area was comfortable although the drinks tariff was a bit on the high side it was nice to sit and relax in the early evening either before or after going out for a meal.
We had a lovely stay and will certainly return to the Riviera!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotswoldsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback which I have passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera

Kind regards,

Jonathan Gould
MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,482 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,920 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Property: Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing