We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
West Cliff Inn(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Westcliff Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tower House Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Ullswater Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Montague Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Croham Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveller rating
657
533
215
62
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
533
215
62
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalum chineindoor poolself cateringtable tennisgames roomland trainbalcony and sea viewdog friendly hotelfamily roomisle of wightdance floorleisure facilitiesbournemouth pierthe main hotelsingle bedevening entertainmentsea front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,199 - 1,204 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed at the Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, for two nights back in June, as a midweek break, but in typical June fashion, the rain only let off for a few hours. The hotel was fine, smallish room, but fairly comfortable bed, clean and tidy. Bathroom with bath and mixer shower, and a nice balcony which we might have used if it wasn't for the weather!

Pool and Jacuzzi where both nicely heated, drank in the bar, but didn't try the restaurant.

Would recommend for a short stay or break, bit small for a longer holiday

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We had booked another hotel and changed our minds, and we were so pleased we did. We booked a hotel as we were going to a concert at the BIC. This hotel is a real gem, super friendly staff, centrally located for Bournemouth and Poole. Lovely room with sea view, We returned to the hotel having been out all day, we had breakfast in the morning and had'nt eaten all day. Following the concert we arrived back at the hotel at midnight and we were starving, We asked if we could have a sandwich and it was no trouble at all. and freshly prepared. We met a lady who asked whether we had enjoyed our stay and she mentioned that she was the owner! After many years ownership of the hotel she still wanted to know whether guests enjoyed their stay. Will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor rooms south facing
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We as a family (4 adults and 3 children, now 12,9 and 3) have been visting this hotel, most bank holidays for a number of years.

The hotel is an excellent all rounder and we have not found anywhere that compares. This hotel is immaculate. Whilst there are some areas that need updating, every year the hotel is undertaking in a modernisation programme of some part.
The atmosphere is brilliant and one of the main reasons we keep returning. We feel comfortable here with our children, and enjoy the lounge areas.

Nothing is too much trouble for any staff member,Jonathon is a fantastic manager, and Justin in the restaurant (who has turned it round) is a great host, and very accomodating!
The quality of food has definately improved. Breakfast has a great selction, It is a must to stay here for the evening meal, it is good quality and reflects great value when booked DBB.
We spend a lot of time in the swimming pools, and to be honest, there are not many hotels that can boast both facilities. This helps accomodate and amuse the kids even on rainy days.
The Riviera should be a 4 star, we rate it that much! Our kids call it "Their Hotel".
We love the location of the hotel, in a quiet area, (as we find central Bournemouth hotels are full of stags and hens) however it is only a short walk to the sea front where there is a park for the kids and a quieter area of beach, and there is the land train that takes you to Bournemouth, Boscombe etc.
Keep up the good work Jonathon, Justin and team!, We will be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We wanted to go to Bournemouth and looked on the internet for a hotel. Picked the Riviera because it had indoor and outdoor pools, and a sauna. What we did not realise is that it must be one of the best hotels in the area. Situated close to the beach, and by Alum Chine, it is a super place for walking. The centre of Bournemouth is a twenty minute walk along the beach or promenade.
The hotel is lovely. Rooms clean and well stocked. We chose half board and were very happy to have done so. The breakfast selection was vast and varied and it was possible to have a really good breakfast without necessarily taking the cooked food.The quality of the evening meals was exceptional and my vegetarian wife had no problems with choice.
What really made the difference were the friendly and helpful staff for whom nothing seemed too much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Delighted with our recent stay. Very friendly and helpful staff from the initial telephone enquiry.
This was a short break with my Mum of 85 and so I wanted it to be special.
We both agreed everything was spotlessly clean and the hotel well organised. The restaurant staff were charming and the evening meal delicious and of a high quality with lovely presentation.

They only have a few rooms with shower ensuite facilities which I would have preferred for Mum, most room have a bath and shower in the bath, so you need to book early. The walk to the Beach is steep but stunning views, and I had to get the car to bring Mum back! Very pleased we had the car, as the hotel is situated a little out.

We would be happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews