We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

After reading a few positive reviews about this hotel I thought I would just see for myself.
I wanted to have just a nice relaxing weekend away and thought this would be perfect as its away from the city centre.
Well, from the moment I got to reception to the time I checked out I was treated like a VIP.
The staff were all very helpful and extremely polite and were willing to just chat.
The room was very clean and tidy with more than enough room for 2 people to have somewhere to keep their belongings and to sleep.
The bed was also very comfy and unlike other hotels I have stayed in the bedding smelt fresh and clean.
The food throughout my stay was very very good and I would happily give that a 5* on all counts.
The bar/lounge area was well organised, clean and roomy.
There was a wedding reception going on on the Saturday night and all was very well organised and I even spoke to some of the guests the following day and they all said how great the evening was thanks to the more than helpful staff.
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone, whether your a singleton such as myself or a family of 4 you would not be disappointed.
My stay was from Friday 9th August to Sunday 11th and I couldn't find a single negative thing about my stay here.
The one thing I would like to point out would be the walk to the beach. Even though it only takes about 5 minutes the hills you have to walk up and down are very steep and I helped a guy push his elderly mother in her wheel chair up the hill, so for that reason I would say this would be better suited for those without any mobility problems.
I am defiantly going to book myself in there again next year and Im just hoping that nothings changed.
A big well done and thank you to all the staff at this superb hotel.
5***** & A+

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee821974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Lee W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on you visit to The Riviera Hotel, we value your opinion and are really happy that you experienced our wonderful service. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Riviera in 2014.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    441
    166
    52
    34
See reviews for
389
482
39
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worthing
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We got a really good priced deal for a Sunday night which included breakfast, room with a balcony and a sea view. The room was an okay size but not big enough for anything larger than a standard double bed which is a bit of a squeeze when your used to a super king! The mattress was very comfy and the room had all you needed. Be aware though the walls are thin and you can hear your neighbours! We were aware that the hotel was fairly empty yet we were surrounded by the few guests they had which was a shame noise wise.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, reception explained everything to us when we checked in and service in the restaurant was very good. The dinner was good and reasonably priced with the set menu. At breakfast we were well looked after, the poached eggs were perfect and the toast appeared to be griddled which gave it a nice flavour. The bacon and sausage were a little greasy, presentation of the beans not great ( we were the last in so they had been there a while ) and no mushrooms.
The communal areas of the hotel including restaurant furnishings have all been updated recently, outside areas looked a little dated in comparison including the sauna but it worked okay.
Overall we couldn't have got better value for money in this sort of location and would definitely come back to this hotel another time

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We booked a winter 2 night, mid-week stay as part of a special deal for bed, breakfast & evening meal at a very good price.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were met by the reception staff who were very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. Payment was made upfront and we were given a code for free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel & a parking ticket to display on the dashboard of our car which was parked in the bays at the front of the hotel. There is additional parking at the rear. We also booked our sitting times for the evening meals at this time – but there is no pressure to do so.

The hotel only has one lift, but waiting time to use it was minimal. Our room was on the 2nd floor, and was located through the twisting corridors. The room itself was quite small, but adequate for a short stay. The balcony had a sea view – which was a bonus! The bed was a standard “Double” and was very comfy. The wardrobe had plenty of hangars, tea & coffee were provided & a flat screen TV topped off the main living space.

Fresh fluffy towels were provided in the bathroom along with small sample bottles of shampoo, shower gel & soap; the heated towel rail was very well received. The bath, basin, toilet & shower curtain were all well cleaned. Toilet roll was plentiful.

The evening meal in the restaurant was very good. Three courses, with four choices for each course all individually cooked and very well presented – very tasty. Breakfast was a buffet affair with a choice of cereals, yogurts, pastries, tea, coffee, juices and of course the cooked breakfast – all very filling. The serving staff were all very polite & attentive.

Our stay also included use of the leisure facilities. In the basement is a small (but just big enough to swim lengths) swimming pool, Jacuzzi & sauna. Reception will hand out towels to use free of charge, when finished leave them in the wash bins by the pool. The changing facilities are a little restricted, we found that it was a good idea to walk down in t-shirt, shorts & flip flops to save fussing around. There are lockers by the pool, have a £1 coin (returnable) ready. There is no lifeguard present, but the area is monitored by CCTV.

The hotel was relatively quiet (time of the year) but there were two coach parties of older guests staying for the week. They tended to be out on trips for most of the day, eat dinner early before being entertained by a singer or taking part in a quiz in the bar/lounge. We were lucky enough to find a “Jazz Club” taking place on the Wednesday night (quite regular) in the separate function suite which was free entry to hotel guests. Drinks prices throughout the hotel were reasonable.

The location of the hotel was ideal for us. It is in a quiet residential/bed & breakfast area on top of the cliffs away from the shops & town. It is only a short walk down to the beach & the chines, but of course up a steep hill on the way back! A walk to the pier is just right to blow away the cobwebs and will take about 30 - 40 minutes for a leisurely stroll.

Would we go back? Yes without a doubt, this was our 3rd stay. It was quiet, but that is its charm. At 50 years of age, we were the youngest guests by a long way on this occasion but on our previous stays (especially the “Twixmas” breaks) the cliental is right across the board.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waltonduffssky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here in September 2013 for 4 nights midweek. On arrival, was upgraded to a better room when the receptionist saw us with baby buggy, as the original room apparently had lots of steps to get to. New room had balcony and a (distant) view of the sea which was a pleasant bonus. Hotel is in a really good location for walks along the lovely beach, etc. Baby boy enjoyed the indoor pool. What really makes this hotel though are the helpful / friendly staff - been a long time since I've been somewhere where the hotel team is so attentive / willing to help. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I live in Bournemouth but for reasons I will not go into I had to book somewhere to stay locally for 3 nights. The look of the place is rather old-fashioned but the atmosphere is very homely, the staff are pleasant and the rooms are decent to very good. There is an indoor swimming pool in the basement and a jacuzzi. I only had supper there once and the food was fine. I would say excellent because the vegetables were the best I think I have ever had in a restaurant and the pudding was fantastic but the steak I had was ok by quality but seemed to have been steamed and then deep fried as it was all soft on the inside and a uniform golden brown on the outside! It didn't really matter because I wasn't there for the food and anyway there are plenty of restaurants nearby.

I definitely would go again and in fact sent surplus family there for 4 nights the other week.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view go for the second floor as the sea view is more restricted on the first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristchurchCorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just returned today from another excellent stay at The Riviera. Lovely room onthe first floor, sea view and balcony and could not have wished for better weather.

Mr Gould and his staff are always welcoming and friendly and couldnt do enough for you and I did enjoy him being our wine waiter a couple of times.

Food was once again excellent, particularly enjoyed the Mackerel starter and the Duck main. Thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment in the bar last night (Wednesday).

We will be returning next year and look forward to seeing the familiar faces.

Room Tip: Get a sea view and balcony room, worth it for a little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have recently returned from a two night stay in one of the superior holiday apartments at the Rivera hotel, and we were really impressed. We booked an apartment as we needed the space and privacy as we have two dogs. The apartments have their own entrance on the next road along from the hotel. This was ideal as we don't like staying in hotels where you have to walk the dogs through a reception area. The apartment was spacious and clean and had everything we needed. We didn't really use the kitchen but it was very well equipped. The apartment was very warm and tastefully decorated with a huge flatscreen TV and DVD player. Our only criticism was that the double bed was not of a great quality but we walked so much we slept well :-) We will definitely be back and stay longer next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyNail09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Property: Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing