We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Visited for a weekend, Friday to Sunday. Well located for access to the west beaches but a long walk for little one into Bournemouth. With good weather however it isn't a chore.

The hotel is popular and all rooms are en-suite. Our room had a balcony and sea view. The room was a fair size and had flat screen TV, kettle and hair dryer. The en-suite was serviceable but a little dated in decor. The bed was comfy but only a small double.

The room did have a few drawbacks which although did not affect us directly could cause problems for others. These were:

The door to the room when opened gave full view of the bed to anyone in the corridor.

The balcony was obviously located next to others but you had full view into the other rooms as the was no modesty screen ( it would block the sea views).

The shower over bath was erratic with scalding water being delivered even when the hot tap nearly off. It would then switch to cold or very cold.

The staff on the main we're very helpful and chatty but not intrusive. The waiting and bar staff had the knack if remembering you which gave a welcoming atmosphere.

The General Manager (Jonathan) was always around and very attentive and approachable.

All in all, a well run hotel with what you would expect for a 3 star venue in Bournemouth. . It's outside of a national chain which is rare these days for a larger venue and this adds to its character.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

The management and staff made our first Christmas together fabulous.

From the moment we arrived everything was first class service.

Justin in the restaurant exceptional. Franki the House Keeper excellent and all staff always willing to go the extra mile.

The apartment was great and food beautiful. Drinks were good value and leisure facilities small but perfect.

We will be going back and if we weren't committed to being with family this coming Christmas we would have booked straight back up.

Nick and Mark

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank gt834162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have visited The Riviera several times, but this is the first time we went for the New Year package. The hotel was excellent as usual and our family (two adults and two young children) had a great three night New Year break.
We stayed in one of the self catering apartments, this was the first time we have stayed there and it really was superb. A large bedroom and large living room with a well fitted kitchen and well appointed bathroom. Even though we were in the self catering apartment we stayed on the New Year package which involved dinner for three nights in the excellent restaurant as well as breakfast and a lunch buffet. New Year's Eve also included a piper and a magician. Each night of the break included musical entertainment and one night included a fun casino which was excellent,
Many thanks to the extremely hard working staff, especially the manager (Jonathan) who found us the best apartment, Alex who facilitated my (very) late booking and Justin who ran the restaurant as smoothly as ever despite it being full every night.
Accommodation - excellent. Food - excellent. Overall Experience - excellent.
Thanks again for a great New Year's break

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

To put you in the picture I stayed at the Royal Bath Hotel the week prior to staying at the Riviera. The Royal Bath is 4 star and a landmark hotel in Bournemouth.
The Riviera is in Westbourne so not in the Town Centre and new to me.
See my review on the Royal Bath. Basically awful.
The Riviera gave the Royal Bath a lesson. A lesson in how to offer customer service, cleanliness, staff that are attentive, polite and very helpful.
The breakfast at the Riviera totally beat the Royal Bath. Fresh, not greasy and very tasty!
The pool was nicely warm, the hot tub and sauna worked and the hotel had room service. These points are made as the Royal Bath failed in providing these.
So if you are looking for a hotel in Bournemouth take some advice. Book at the Riviera.

Room Tip: Given family room although booked a double. Exceptional. Try to get an upgrade !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Clive G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we appreciate your kind words and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to The Riviera in 2014.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

After reading a few positive reviews about this hotel I thought I would just see for myself.
I wanted to have just a nice relaxing weekend away and thought this would be perfect as its away from the city centre.
Well, from the moment I got to reception to the time I checked out I was treated like a VIP.
The staff were all very helpful and extremely polite and were willing to just chat.
The room was very clean and tidy with more than enough room for 2 people to have somewhere to keep their belongings and to sleep.
The bed was also very comfy and unlike other hotels I have stayed in the bedding smelt fresh and clean.
The food throughout my stay was very very good and I would happily give that a 5* on all counts.
The bar/lounge area was well organised, clean and roomy.
There was a wedding reception going on on the Saturday night and all was very well organised and I even spoke to some of the guests the following day and they all said how great the evening was thanks to the more than helpful staff.
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone, whether your a singleton such as myself or a family of 4 you would not be disappointed.
My stay was from Friday 9th August to Sunday 11th and I couldn't find a single negative thing about my stay here.
The one thing I would like to point out would be the walk to the beach. Even though it only takes about 5 minutes the hills you have to walk up and down are very steep and I helped a guy push his elderly mother in her wheel chair up the hill, so for that reason I would say this would be better suited for those without any mobility problems.
I am defiantly going to book myself in there again next year and Im just hoping that nothings changed.
A big well done and thank you to all the staff at this superb hotel.
5***** & A+

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee821974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Lee W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on you visit to The Riviera Hotel, we value your opinion and are really happy that you experienced our wonderful service. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Riviera in 2014.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We got a really good priced deal for a Sunday night which included breakfast, room with a balcony and a sea view. The room was an okay size but not big enough for anything larger than a standard double bed which is a bit of a squeeze when your used to a super king! The mattress was very comfy and the room had all you needed. Be aware though the walls are thin and you can hear your neighbours! We were aware that the hotel was fairly empty yet we were surrounded by the few guests they had which was a shame noise wise.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, reception explained everything to us when we checked in and service in the restaurant was very good. The dinner was good and reasonably priced with the set menu. At breakfast we were well looked after, the poached eggs were perfect and the toast appeared to be griddled which gave it a nice flavour. The bacon and sausage were a little greasy, presentation of the beans not great ( we were the last in so they had been there a while ) and no mushrooms.
The communal areas of the hotel including restaurant furnishings have all been updated recently, outside areas looked a little dated in comparison including the sauna but it worked okay.
Overall we couldn't have got better value for money in this sort of location and would definitely come back to this hotel another time

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We booked a winter 2 night, mid-week stay as part of a special deal for bed, breakfast & evening meal at a very good price.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were met by the reception staff who were very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. Payment was made upfront and we were given a code for free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel & a parking ticket to display on the dashboard of our car which was parked in the bays at the front of the hotel. There is additional parking at the rear. We also booked our sitting times for the evening meals at this time – but there is no pressure to do so.

The hotel only has one lift, but waiting time to use it was minimal. Our room was on the 2nd floor, and was located through the twisting corridors. The room itself was quite small, but adequate for a short stay. The balcony had a sea view – which was a bonus! The bed was a standard “Double” and was very comfy. The wardrobe had plenty of hangars, tea & coffee were provided & a flat screen TV topped off the main living space.

Fresh fluffy towels were provided in the bathroom along with small sample bottles of shampoo, shower gel & soap; the heated towel rail was very well received. The bath, basin, toilet & shower curtain were all well cleaned. Toilet roll was plentiful.

The evening meal in the restaurant was very good. Three courses, with four choices for each course all individually cooked and very well presented – very tasty. Breakfast was a buffet affair with a choice of cereals, yogurts, pastries, tea, coffee, juices and of course the cooked breakfast – all very filling. The serving staff were all very polite & attentive.

Our stay also included use of the leisure facilities. In the basement is a small (but just big enough to swim lengths) swimming pool, Jacuzzi & sauna. Reception will hand out towels to use free of charge, when finished leave them in the wash bins by the pool. The changing facilities are a little restricted, we found that it was a good idea to walk down in t-shirt, shorts & flip flops to save fussing around. There are lockers by the pool, have a £1 coin (returnable) ready. There is no lifeguard present, but the area is monitored by CCTV.

The hotel was relatively quiet (time of the year) but there were two coach parties of older guests staying for the week. They tended to be out on trips for most of the day, eat dinner early before being entertained by a singer or taking part in a quiz in the bar/lounge. We were lucky enough to find a “Jazz Club” taking place on the Wednesday night (quite regular) in the separate function suite which was free entry to hotel guests. Drinks prices throughout the hotel were reasonable.

The location of the hotel was ideal for us. It is in a quiet residential/bed & breakfast area on top of the cliffs away from the shops & town. It is only a short walk down to the beach & the chines, but of course up a steep hill on the way back! A walk to the pier is just right to blow away the cobwebs and will take about 30 - 40 minutes for a leisurely stroll.

Would we go back? Yes without a doubt, this was our 3rd stay. It was quiet, but that is its charm. At 50 years of age, we were the youngest guests by a long way on this occasion but on our previous stays (especially the “Twixmas” breaks) the cliental is right across the board.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltonduffssky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £43 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing