We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hi stayed 25th to 27th April 2014 very nice and quite few days with the wife lovely room and very clean towels and bedding changed daily yes that's daily no noise from adjoining rooms and the staff were very polite and helpful . I would stay here again and recommend to others ..outside .. 2 mins walk to the promenade and approx 20 mins to town well worth the money

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

All previous positive reviews are well deserved and well founded. Rooms are excellent,well equipped, good size and very clean. Staff are readily available at all times and are very helpful and polite. The breakfast is superb, plenty of choice, good quality and plentiful. Five minute walk to top of cliffs overlooking Poole Bay (part of which can be seen from restaurant). Hotel is a little distance from town centre but a regular bus service covers this adequately. All round - excellent at a good price. Indoor and outdoor pool and fitness centre on site but didn't use these.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pw70a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Overall nice hotel, friendly helpful staff, very clean.... Fantastic breakfast... Great leisure facilities, double rm tad on the small side, pillows were lumps of deflated sponge... My advice take your pillow from home if you don't want to wake up with sore neck lol....

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies seem bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazzraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here for 1 night in a triple room with friends and it was just right for what we needed - a clean comfortable room near to the town that didn't charge the earth. We received a wonderful welcome from Adam on reception and our room was plain and simple. Not overly inspiring decor but the beds were comfy and the shower was hot.

Room Tip: Yo can just about see the sea from Room 215!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniH0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Riviera. The staff were attentive and polite at all times. The room was clean and a good size,while it is not a luxury establishment and some maintenance would be advisable to the room, this would not stop us from booking again, as the price reflects the experience.The facilities looked pleasing: it was a shame we did not have time to use them. Breakfast was included and this was excellent, with enough choice and variety for everyone. The location was the main reason we booked and it did not disappoint as only 5 mins to the beach and what we thought was the lovelier part.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room as we had a front and could hear the other guests arriving and leaving
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My Daughter had her wedding service at the Riviera and it was a beautiful day. The wedding party were all allocated rooms on the same floor so we were able to be in closed contact for the two days we spent there. Family rooms were very spacious and very warm.

The wedding ceremony was very well organised and went without a hitch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sajstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was looking for a few days away by the sea in a hotel which was cheap and clean. I was not disappointed. The hotel is nothing to look at from the outside. The interior, in a lot of places, is old and worn. Most of the fixtures and fittings need to be replaced as they are worn and most of the seats in the bar and restaurant were stained or had rips in them. However saying that, it still felt clean. The reception staff were very nice and polite. In fact, all the staff were polite and professional. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always happy to help. The pool is fine, although again, the pool area looks dated and needs refurbishment.
The breakfast was very good and there was plenty to choose from, both hot and cold. We stayed in a family room consisting of a double bed (which was very hard and made a lot of noise when we turned, hardly any sleep was had) and a single bed. There was an on suite bathroom which was very clean and looked clean, too. The room was a good enough size for the few days and the TV had enough channels. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels supplied. Two downsides to our room was the light blue carpet looked worn and not in great shape, but again it felt clean.The other issue with our room (room 127) was a loud buzzing noise the first night. We called down to reception and they said it was the fan in the men's toilet. They did turn it off for us straight away and every night there after when we went to bed. We had an evening meal in the hotel which was very nice. The menu consisted of four choices of starter, main, and pudding. If you did not have all three and just went for a main meal it would not fill a sparrow. Sadly, not a great children's menu. The usual junk food of burgers, chips etc. They did a child's portion of one of the adult meals. Of course not the one we wanted. Why they could not do a child's portion for the other three, I don't know. However, now knowing how small the main meal is, your child would be fine with that (my child does not have a big appetite and she would have been able for it).
I saw this hotel advertised, 3 nights B&B for a family of three for £147. When I went to book it ,it had gone up to £204. If I had paid £147, I would say it was a great deal and well worth it. £204 price was pretty much on the mark, would not want to pay anymore. Its rated 3 stars, and I would agree with that rating, but not at the high end of 3 stars.

Room Tip: Avoid room 127. Kitchen vents outside window, toilet fan buzzing in the room at night until turned o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fabslondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
227 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,108 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £29 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing