We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Organisational Skills Rooms and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Organisational Skills Rooms and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights double room sea view excellent room and staff first class

1 Evening meal in the bar for 2 nights excellent value and substantial portions
2 Reception Staff very helpful
3 Brakfast very effective and efficient
4 Very clean hotel I would highly recommend it

Well done to all staff

Room Tip: Sea View excellent always ask although on my own I was given a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    414
    158
    50
    31
See reviews for
352
451
32
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have just come back from this hotel..staff brilliant,food lovely,room lovely..we were made very welcome ..ideal position for the beach ..5 min walk ..we would return to this hotel..negative...creaky floor boards in room 218..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BABYLONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in May. The staff are a credit to the hotel. Our room was spacious with a balcony. Very clean. Food was excellent- breakfast each morning and both bar food and restaurant.
Would definitly recommend and hope to return.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbaz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My Daughter and I had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was fabulous. The rooms very clean, our bathroom was spotless. Clean towels every day. Good location for the beach. Excellent value for money. Could not fault this hotel!

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony and got one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked this hotel for a short 3 night stay to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. Our decision to say here was based on the hotels location, as it is just a quick walk away from both Alum Chine and the beach.

While we have no complaints at all about the staff, as everyone was friendly and helpful, we did have a few issues with our stay. Honestly we wouldn't consider staying here again on our next visit to Bournemouth.

Our quality of sleep at this hotel was extremely poor. The bed in our room was rock hard, and each morning we both woke up having slept badly and with back pains. We're in our late 20's, so this is not normally a problem for us, ever. It was bad enough that we discussed leaving early and just going home, but elected to stay and tough it out as we had already paid for the room.

The room (124) was a decent size, and had a balcony that even as far back as we were overlooked a bit of the chine and the sea. But since the rooms on either side of us had connected balconies as well, every time someone shut their balcony door, it shook the headboard of our bed and woke us up. This happened every single night we stayed, as the families on either side went in and out quite frequently.

They do have entertainment some evenings(karaoke is what it sounded like), which was quite loud in our room. It did finish at a decent hour, but had I known this would be an issue I would have asked for a room as far away from the noise as possible.

The room itself was a bit shabby with bubbling and curling linoleum in the bathroom and very dated, 'motel' like furniture. Bedding was adequate, with flat, thin pillows.

The bath towels all reeked of vinegar. I'm all for eco friendly cleaning solutions, but since on check in our room smelled so strongly of bleach from the bathroom having been cleaned that we needed to air it out, one would expect the towels to at least smell freshly laundered.

I would note is that while it was cloudy and rained while we were staying, the 1st floor was incredibly humid and smelled strongly of chlorine during our stay. There is a pool located inside the premises, but we didn't expect this to affect the temperature of our rooms. We slept with the window open all the way every night to keep the room a cool temperature for sleeping, but I can not imagine how hot it could get in the middle of proper summer temperatures.

One other thing that struck me as quite odd was the practice of taking full payment for the room at check in, and also needing to turn in the key to the room when leaving the hotel premises. These may be standard practice, but they were not something I had encountered before.

Overall I imagine this is a great value hotel for families going on holiday together wanting to be super close to the beach, but not something I would recommend for couples or anyone wanting a slightly more relaxing, comfortable holiday.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper asking for a room farther away from the entertainment or with only one ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent breakfast, comfortable room. Staff were all helpful & friendly. Located in Alum Chine, halfway between Bournemouth Pier and Sandbanks and an easy walk to both. Indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, jacuzzi looked ok but I did not use them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived early , staff were very helpful and said we could check in but room would not be ready until 12.30 ish which was great as actual check in time was 2pm. When we did go to our room we where pleased to see we had a balcony with sea view . The room was fine a little dated but adequate . The bathroom was fine though the shower was not very powerful. Every where was very clean. The balcony's could do with replacing bit tired but I guess this would be a huge cost. We used the indoor pool as it was typical English weather and not warm enough for the outdoor pool which is not heated. The indoor pool is in the basement and smelt really musty a smell which seem to spread to the corridors of the hotel. Also the water looked a bit murky though there was a man there doing checks. My son really enjoyed the pool as did many other children but I do think they need to work on it to make it a real asset.

Room Tip: Are sea view room was on the top floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natking71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Property: Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing