We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at a friendly hotel near the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great stay at a friendly hotel near the beach”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Since it was our second stay in a month, we got an upgrade to a sea-view room and a bottle of fizz on ice. The balcony was great in the sunny weather and the room was about 50% larger than the standard room we had on our first visit. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms clean, comfortable beds and buffet breakfast just excellent. The indoor pool was a little small but the outdoor pool was great, with tables and relaxer-chairs dotted around the large pool-side patios. Walk down to the beach in 5 minutes and 10 minutes back up the hill to the hotel. Well trained staff, well managed.

Room Tip: Sea-view room with balcony is worth the extra if the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_Jane_enroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Dave_Jane_enroute,


Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

JG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    435
    161
    51
    33
See reviews for
374
474
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milnrow, Lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Came here for the wedding of close family. Chose to stay for 3 nights (Fri, Sat & Sun). I cannot fault the hotel or staff at all. If you want a wedding package I can say that they did a marvellous job of organising it. The ceremony and meal was for 50 people and we were easily accommodated. The food at the wedding breakfast was superb, as was the evening buffet. The service was brilliant and always with a smile. The evening doo was held in the main bar area and this was enjoyed by all. The DJ did a great job with no muttering and talking throughout. The rest of our short stay passed too quickly. Our room (number 230) was spacious and very comfortable.The staff are very attentive. Special mention for Alex who seemed to work 24hours. What a lovely guy. The breakfasts had an array of cereals, fruit, bacon, sausage, eggs etc - the full works. We ate off the bar menu one evening and had the fish & chips - you've got to try them - gorgeous. All-in-all we had a brilliant time. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Think it should have another star on its rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cruisebuddy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear cruisebuddy2002,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so happy to see that you have had a wonderful time with us. I will pass your comments to the rest of the team , I am sure Alex will be very happy to see that all is hard work is paying off.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera soon

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here for two nights in July we felt compelled to write a review.
I can honestly say that this hotel has the friendliest staff that I have ever encountered in a uk hotel .
However ....
We arrived in Friday and were show to our room which was clean (or so we thought ) and adequate , we had chosen not to pay £25 per person per room for a sea view room.
We spent the day out and came back to swim and use the jacuzzi , and so were disappointed to find out that it was out of order (the spa facilities were one of the main booking criteria) :-(
We dined out and came back to our room to retire , unfortunately on pulling back the bed sheets we were greeted by a pair of someone else's worn pyjamas !!
To be fair the management rectified the situation immediately with the manager herself changing our bedding at 1130 at night and providing a fan , for the room that was hot ,
If the pyjamas hadn't of been there though we would never have known !
The following night we were woken by fighting in the street outside by a wedding party that had held their wedding breakfast in the hotel , again , the same female manager sorted the situation ! Not the hotels fault , but when guests are asking directions to buy booze , and the wedding party was drinking their own alcohol in the car parks and outside hotel areas , do wonder if more restrictions need to be put in place !
Although we were apologised to for the dirty bed linen etc , i do feel that some goodwill gesture could of been extended , and were somewhat surprised to be charged £3 for a pot of tea as our final checking out bill !! The young suited reception manager and the female night manager were fab , but come on , sort out your teething issues !!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suecoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Director of Sales at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear suecoyle

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to see that out of 5 stars you have scored us a 4 and that you were impressed by our team. We are all very helpful and try our best to make our guest feel at home.
Regarding your first point ; I can reassure you that the Housekeeping Manager is investigating the issue. With regards to the wedding guests the Duty Manager controlled the situation as best she could, however this can be out of our control.
I hope that you will give the Riviera another chance, if you did wish to return then please contact me personally and I will take in consideration your above points.

Kind Regards

Silva Bala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is the third time we have been to Riviera and the accommodation has improve due to a revamp of the rooms. The week we went it was very hot in the rooms due to the temperature being in the high 20's but they did provide fans and they knew it was difficult for some guest and staff. The staff were very courteous and helpful which does not do justice to a 3 star rating and very helpful with the parking since there was a wedding on our first day. Breakfast was a full English but they did offer some alternatives if required. On the whole we have a very good stay and we will be going back at a later date. The outdoor pool was great for kids and there is an indoor pool for when the weather is not so good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view if possible on the south east side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Robert L,

Thank you for your comments. Great to see that you had a great stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We celebrated our wedding there on 19th July with many of our family and friends staying over for a long weekend.
Every single detail was perfect ! The staff were amazing, the food was served quickly, was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious, the chefs there are great, the evening buffet was equally scrummy, great music in the evening. Having the evening do in the main bar was great for everyone and the other hotel guests enjoyed joining in the festivities.
Silva the events manager is wonderful, Jonathan the GM was a great master of ceremonies, Alex and Charlotte do a great job on reception especially with our numerous complex bookings.
All the staff were great, too many to mention all by name.
All our guests were delighted by the attentiveness and genuine warmth shown by the staff.
5 stars aren't enough for this level of service.
We will be back as often as we can and needless to say our anniversaries will be spent at the Riviera, big thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pat o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Director of Sales at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Mrs Pat O

THANK You so much for your beautiful comments. It was a pleasure looking after you on your big day and thank you for letting us be part of your's and Andy's Big Day. I shall make sure that all the team sees the lovely comments - It was a pleasure and a joy to have met you both and we all look forward to seeing you soon in October for your Birthday Party !!

Kind regards
SIlva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

great hotel with very friendly and attentive staff great food and service.
I have stayed here several times including a newyear package.This hotel is within walking distance of the beach and aleisurely stroll along the prom will get you to Bournemouth in about 20 mins.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear nwjw

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I shall pass it on to the rest of the team.

Have a great summer and we hope to welcome you soon.

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Riviera, it was our 1st time at this hotel and they did a great job looking after us. In all there were 15 of us age ranging from 2 - 60 on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis.
The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help, the food was fantastic with a great range at breakfast and a good but limited evening menu although what they lack in menu selections they certainly make up for in quality of food.
We would definitely use this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becciCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear becci Coventry,

Thank you for your fantastic comments !! I shall pass your comments to the rest of the team who will be happy to see that all the hard work is paying off. Once again Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back !

Kind Regards
SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Property: Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing