We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short anniversary stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellant location for beaches,walks and shops. However on our arrival the balcony was stil strewn with fag ends and a filthy ash tray and on examination the rest of the balconies were the same and the flat roof that adjoined it. Also the room smelt distinctly of cigarette smoke.
We complained to the management who said they would address it. However though they cleaned the ash tray nobody cleaned the 'fag ends' up. When we asked again and asked if this was the normal that we had to accept dirty 'fag ends' they said oh no they would address it. However, by the time we left we gave up so the next occupant would have the same welcome! The shower was dismal and the bath that we had to stand in we're totally unsafe and shook. Also the situation with blocking your car in was quite disturbing if one should have an emergency!. All in all a very disappointing stay and could not recommend.
D & D

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Denise J,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass your comments to the Management.

Kind regards

SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

A well run hotel with a competent, efficient and smiling staff led from the front by a good manager, who we noticed keeping a close eye on customers' needs. Room was small but spotless and breakfast was great. Convenient location. Parking a bit tight at a very busy time, but we actually had no problems. More traditional than modern with mixed clientele who all seemed happy to be there. Very good value for money. Nice friendly buzz about the place. Would return happily.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Der Jackie W,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are all thrilled that you had a great time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back !

Once again thank you and see you soon

Kind regards

SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Nice hotel & apartments great value, stayed in the apartments that had lots of space with breakfast in the hotel which was basic but ok, indoor and outdoor pools were great for the kids.

Best bits; first class staff, location and apartment size
Poor bits; areas need updating beds too small and hard

Will be coming back next year.

Cheers

Room Tip: Stay in apartments as more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lwylie1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Lwylie1255,

Thank you for your kind comments. The apartments are great , big and very spacious. We are slowly refurbishing them all so hopefully next year you will see the improvement.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera

Kind Regards
SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is our second time at the hotel, we tried a couple of other hotels the last two years but returned to Riviera! The staff were all very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They remembered my son's name including his likes and where we liked to sit for breakfast. You are made to feel at home as soon as you arrive. There are lots of families and my son made friends straight away and in fact we are arranging to come back next year with one family. The indoor swimming pool was well used both in the morning and evening! The beach is very close by that is if you can get the kids out of the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Lucy C,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We look forward top welcoming you back at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Since it was our second stay in a month, we got an upgrade to a sea-view room and a bottle of fizz on ice. The balcony was great in the sunny weather and the room was about 50% larger than the standard room we had on our first visit. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms clean, comfortable beds and buffet breakfast just excellent. The indoor pool was a little small but the outdoor pool was great, with tables and relaxer-chairs dotted around the large pool-side patios. Walk down to the beach in 5 minutes and 10 minutes back up the hill to the hotel. Well trained staff, well managed.

Room Tip: Sea-view room with balcony is worth the extra if the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_Jane_enroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Dave_Jane_enroute,


Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Came here for the wedding of close family. Chose to stay for 3 nights (Fri, Sat & Sun). I cannot fault the hotel or staff at all. If you want a wedding package I can say that they did a marvellous job of organising it. The ceremony and meal was for 50 people and we were easily accommodated. The food at the wedding breakfast was superb, as was the evening buffet. The service was brilliant and always with a smile. The evening doo was held in the main bar area and this was enjoyed by all. The DJ did a great job with no muttering and talking throughout. The rest of our short stay passed too quickly. Our room (number 230) was spacious and very comfortable.The staff are very attentive. Special mention for Alex who seemed to work 24hours. What a lovely guy. The breakfasts had an array of cereals, fruit, bacon, sausage, eggs etc - the full works. We ate off the bar menu one evening and had the fish & chips - you've got to try them - gorgeous. All-in-all we had a brilliant time. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Think it should have another star on its rating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cruisebuddy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear cruisebuddy2002,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so happy to see that you have had a wonderful time with us. I will pass your comments to the rest of the team , I am sure Alex will be very happy to see that all is hard work is paying off.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera soon

Kind Regards

SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here for two nights in July we felt compelled to write a review.
I can honestly say that this hotel has the friendliest staff that I have ever encountered in a uk hotel .
However ....
We arrived in Friday and were show to our room which was clean (or so we thought ) and adequate , we had chosen not to pay £25 per person per room for a sea view room.
We spent the day out and came back to swim and use the jacuzzi , and so were disappointed to find out that it was out of order (the spa facilities were one of the main booking criteria) :-(
We dined out and came back to our room to retire , unfortunately on pulling back the bed sheets we were greeted by a pair of someone else's worn pyjamas !!
To be fair the management rectified the situation immediately with the manager herself changing our bedding at 1130 at night and providing a fan , for the room that was hot ,
If the pyjamas hadn't of been there though we would never have known !
The following night we were woken by fighting in the street outside by a wedding party that had held their wedding breakfast in the hotel , again , the same female manager sorted the situation ! Not the hotels fault , but when guests are asking directions to buy booze , and the wedding party was drinking their own alcohol in the car parks and outside hotel areas , do wonder if more restrictions need to be put in place !
Although we were apologised to for the dirty bed linen etc , i do feel that some goodwill gesture could of been extended , and were somewhat surprised to be charged £3 for a pot of tea as our final checking out bill !! The young suited reception manager and the female night manager were fab , but come on , sort out your teething issues !!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suecoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Director of Sales at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear suecoyle

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to see that out of 5 stars you have scored us a 4 and that you were impressed by our team. We are all very helpful and try our best to make our guest feel at home.
Regarding your first point ; I can reassure you that the Housekeeping Manager is investigating the issue. With regards to the wedding guests the Duty Manager controlled the situation as best she could, however this can be out of our control.
I hope that you will give the Riviera another chance, if you did wish to return then please contact me personally and I will take in consideration your above points.

Kind Regards

Silva Bala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,044 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,097 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £39 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing