We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
538 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not the kind I'd usually choose. It's dated in style and aimed more at holidaying families. I picked it for convenience because I was visiting a friend who lives on the same road.
However, for it's type, this hotel is very good. The service was excellent; we were greeted warmly by a management trainee who clearly took pride in his work and gave us all the information we could need, as well as upgrading us to a sea-view room. The bar, breakfast and check-out staff were similarly friendly and efficient.
We didn't use the leisure facilities but I imagine if you were staying with children the pools would be a massive bonus.
The beach and all its activities are a few minutes walk.
The room itself was fine. A bit old fashioned looking but spotlessly clean. The balconies are ugly and close together but there is no disputing the beauty of the sea view! My bed squeaked horribly but was comfy enough. The hotel was a bit on the warm side but it was August so maybe there's nothing to be done about that.
Breakfast was perfectly acceptable, buffet style but with a choice of cooked to order items as well.
Our two night stay cost £270 with breakfast which is a lot of money but reasonable for Bournemouth in the summer it seems. Out of season, this hotel is probably excellent value for money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sorellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Sorellina,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased to see that over all you had an enjoyable time with us. I will pass your comments to the Management team
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back at the Riviera in the near future.

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    421
    159
    50
    32
See reviews for
361
461
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our fourth visit to the Riviera hotel and it was as reliable as ever. With a handy, accessible room and only a short walk away from the beach, it made our holiday very enjoyable. One of my only criticisms would be the "Hawaiian night" in the restaurant which promised a prize for the best dressed and a tropical theme, but provided neither. However, the staff are always very friendly and the two pools kept us busy. Overall, it's a reasonably priced place for the family to enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are separate from the main hotel which make them quieter and the top floor one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenfinch73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Barbara C,

Thank you for your kind comments. Its great to see that you had another great break with us - I am not sure what happened on the themed night . I will pas your comments to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This was a very pleasant visit and I was surprised just how much you got for your money.

Excellent customer service, two minutes' walk to a blue flag beach and a decent breakfast.

Included in the stay you also get access to their pool facilities which include an outdoor pool, indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. This was a lovely addition to out stay especially when it turned a bit rainy (and they even provide free towels to use at the pool!).

The room was spotless and the bathroom squeaky clean. The bed was also really comfortable.

It was nice to see that there are still hotels where you don't have to pay an arm and a leg to feel a little spoilt.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Alec_Waldeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Alec_Waldeck,

Thank you for your great comments. I shall pass it on to the rest of the team who will be happy to see that we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Here is a hotel where hoteliers in UK could take example from.
Welcoming,friendly and nice optimistic staff is what you will encounter there.
I've upgrade our bedroom to a seaview one paying for ,but they offered me an ugrade for free next time i come in sign of loyalty...
Ahhh and iwas lucky enough to see a bluemoon with clear skies right from my balcony..beautiful!!!!!
Close to the beach
Only point the kids pool could be painted and cleaned more often and
the breakfast could have more options...
Thanks for a good service specially the guys in the Reception really nice and professional.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear C M,

Thank you for your lovely comments. I shall let the team know and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Once again Thank you and see you all soon

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellant location for beaches,walks and shops. However on our arrival the balcony was stil strewn with fag ends and a filthy ash tray and on examination the rest of the balconies were the same and the flat roof that adjoined it. Also the room smelt distinctly of cigarette smoke.
We complained to the management who said they would address it. However though they cleaned the ash tray nobody cleaned the 'fag ends' up. When we asked again and asked if this was the normal that we had to accept dirty 'fag ends' they said oh no they would address it. However, by the time we left we gave up so the next occupant would have the same welcome! The shower was dismal and the bath that we had to stand in we're totally unsafe and shook. Also the situation with blocking your car in was quite disturbing if one should have an emergency!. All in all a very disappointing stay and could not recommend.
D & D

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Denise J,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass your comments to the Management.

Kind regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

A well run hotel with a competent, efficient and smiling staff led from the front by a good manager, who we noticed keeping a close eye on customers' needs. Room was small but spotless and breakfast was great. Convenient location. Parking a bit tight at a very busy time, but we actually had no problems. More traditional than modern with mixed clientele who all seemed happy to be there. Very good value for money. Nice friendly buzz about the place. Would return happily.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Der Jackie W,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are all thrilled that you had a great time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back !

Once again thank you and see you soon

Kind regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Nice hotel & apartments great value, stayed in the apartments that had lots of space with breakfast in the hotel which was basic but ok, indoor and outdoor pools were great for the kids.

Best bits; first class staff, location and apartment size
Poor bits; areas need updating beds too small and hard

Will be coming back next year.

Cheers

Room Tip: Stay in apartments as more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lwylie1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Lwylie1255,

Thank you for your kind comments. The apartments are great , big and very spacious. We are slowly refurbishing them all so hopefully next year you will see the improvement.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera

Kind Regards
SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Property: Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing