We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not accommodating” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russell Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Russell Court Hotel
Ranked #133 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not accommodating”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were supposed to have stayed overnight due to a family member living in Bournemouth being very ill. We were devastated when my cousin died the night before. I phoned to cancel that night but was told that their policy was no refund. I explained that we didn't want a refund but to use the rooms when the funeral took place.

The manager phoned me the following morning to tell me that there are no refunds and that when I knew when the funeral was taking place to phone them and they would give me a discount.

Due to the extenuating circumstances I thought they would be more accommodating but obviously not.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHBournemouth, Manager at Russell Court Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we value all our guests' opinions and appreciate the time you have taken to let us know of your disappointment. We take pride in providing the best possible service. We understand that you booked a non refundable and non ammendable room type and hence we were unable to make any ammendment or cancellations, however we did promise you to offer discounted price for your future visit because at the time of conversation you were not sure of dates.

Once again, thank you for your feedback

Arun Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    142
    103
    86
    216
See reviews for
79
219
53
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Had a great weekend. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. Food was well presented, would have liked more vegetables with main course. Fresh fruit would be good too with breakfast. Excellent value for a two star hotel

Room Tip: !st floor rooms better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHBournemouth, Manager at Russell Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We thank you for taking time and reviewing Russell Court Hotel on Trip advisor. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, particularly that you find rooms comfortable and staff very nice. We have taken on board your suggestion. We look forward to be of service to you in near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Arun Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

For a 2* hotel it is excellent, it is better than some 3* hotels I have stayed in , should be up graded. Food was well presented and hot. Staff were very happy and pleasant and gave a good service.Rooms and bathroom were kept spotless with clean towels every day. Have been coming for 6years and it has only got better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The restaurant staff were extremely helpful and cheerful, nothing too much trouble.
Breakfast was ok but very skimpy portions. Main meals basic and I have a feeling they were bought in ready to serve, in other words heated up on the premises. Rooms clean if you didn`t move furniture! Bathrooms very clean as they have obviously just been refurbed.
On the whole ok, just. The general manager is the rudest person I have ever come across in the hotel industry. One of our party was troubled with noise from a neighbouring room for the three nights we were there but even though the manager knew that the long term resident ( Social Services client ) caused problems he did nothing about it.
Unfortunately one has to pay up front and so we were unable to with hold any money. With good management this could be a super hotel . Perfect for the beach, shops and the BICC.

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor rooms, as this is where the noisy resident is.If light sleeper ask for a back room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

As a 2* star hotel this hotel offers excellent value. The housekeeping is excellent with clean towels every day. The restaurant staff couldn't have been more helpful. A good choice of cereals, yoghurts and juices for breakfast as well as a choice of cooked English breakfasts. Evening meals were varied and well presented. We had a room, divided into two, with a double and single bed. A shower with bath attachment and water was always piping hot. It is a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main road could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbelle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is our third visit ( once last Sept and now this March again ).every time we have been with a group and enjoyed our time. The staff are really efficient, well trained, polite and proffessional. The food is good and on all occasions the kitchen staff were catering for a large number to be served at same time without a problem. All public areas are clean and modern and reception staff are helpful, although no designated Porter you could ask for help if required. The bedrooms that have been refurbished are great but some rooms still need to be updated. Car park facilities are very good. We shall return.

Room Tip: If have difficulty with mobility ask for First floor and not too far from lift and ask for refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodluckgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Very enjoyable stay, very good value for money, friendly helpful and attentive staff. Well situated for all amenities including beach, pier and town centre.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.6 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#53 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marsham Court Hotel
Marsham Court Hotel
#21 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#58 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#60 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Court Hotel

Property: Russell Court Hotel
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Russell Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing