We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOULD NEVER STAY AGAIN - AVOID THIS HOTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Russell Court Hotel
Ranked #121 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Russell Court hotel on Saturday 21st April and will not return! Check in was fine although we found it strange they require photo id and wanted a photocopy of this along with our bank card!
On arriving at our room we were DISGUSTED by the carpet it was covered in black stains, so many that my partner did not want me to stand on it bare foot (we are not snobbish in any way normally) the bathroom tiles were covered in filth, the tv did not work and the bed was very old and squeaked just sitting on it.
We know the hotel is only a 2 star and we did get a good deal but we would never stay again and would never recommend the hotel, I wish I had now taken pictures of the carpet in our room to post on here!
This hotel should not be open to business it needs a serious face lift judging by our room!
Oh and we did ask for the photocopies of my bank card and driving licence back when we checked out as I did not trust them to keep this information.
Have stayed in many hotels and this is by far the worst!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LOUISEC198723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were supposed to have stayed overnight due to a family member living in Bournemouth being very ill. We were devastated when my cousin died the night before. I phoned to cancel that night but was told that their policy was no refund. I explained that we didn't want a refund but to use the rooms when the funeral took place.

The manager phoned me the following morning to tell me that there are no refunds and that when I knew when the funeral was taking place to phone them and they would give me a discount.

Due to the extenuating circumstances I thought they would be more accommodating but obviously not.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank michael62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHBournemouth, Manager at Russell Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback, we value all our guests' opinions and appreciate the time you have taken to let us know of your disappointment. We take pride in providing the best possible service. We understand that you booked a non refundable and non ammendable room type and hence we were unable to make any ammendment or cancellations, however we did promise you to offer discounted price for your future visit because at the time of conversation you were not sure of dates.

Once again, thank you for your feedback

Arun Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Had a great weekend. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. Food was well presented, would have liked more vegetables with main course. Fresh fruit would be good too with breakfast. Excellent value for a two star hotel

Room Tip: !st floor rooms better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHBournemouth, Manager at Russell Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

We thank you for taking time and reviewing Russell Court Hotel on Trip advisor. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, particularly that you find rooms comfortable and staff very nice. We have taken on board your suggestion. We look forward to be of service to you in near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Arun Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

For a 2* hotel it is excellent, it is better than some 3* hotels I have stayed in , should be up graded. Food was well presented and hot. Staff were very happy and pleasant and gave a good service.Rooms and bathroom were kept spotless with clean towels every day. Have been coming for 6years and it has only got better.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The restaurant staff were extremely helpful and cheerful, nothing too much trouble.
Breakfast was ok but very skimpy portions. Main meals basic and I have a feeling they were bought in ready to serve, in other words heated up on the premises. Rooms clean if you didn`t move furniture! Bathrooms very clean as they have obviously just been refurbed.
On the whole ok, just. The general manager is the rudest person I have ever come across in the hotel industry. One of our party was troubled with noise from a neighbouring room for the three nights we were there but even though the manager knew that the long term resident ( Social Services client ) caused problems he did nothing about it.
Unfortunately one has to pay up front and so we were unable to with hold any money. With good management this could be a super hotel . Perfect for the beach, shops and the BICC.

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor rooms, as this is where the noisy resident is.If light sleeper ask for a back room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

As a 2* star hotel this hotel offers excellent value. The housekeeping is excellent with clean towels every day. The restaurant staff couldn't have been more helpful. A good choice of cereals, yoghurts and juices for breakfast as well as a choice of cooked English breakfasts. Evening meals were varied and well presented. We had a room, divided into two, with a double and single bed. A shower with bath attachment and water was always piping hot. It is a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main road could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbelle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is our third visit ( once last Sept and now this March again ).every time we have been with a group and enjoyed our time. The staff are really efficient, well trained, polite and proffessional. The food is good and on all occasions the kitchen staff were catering for a large number to be served at same time without a problem. All public areas are clean and modern and reception staff are helpful, although no designated Porter you could ask for help if required. The bedrooms that have been refurbished are great but some rooms still need to be updated. Car park facilities are very good. We shall return.

Room Tip: If have difficulty with mobility ask for First floor and not too far from lift and ask for refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodluckgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marsham Court Hotel
Marsham Court Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,000 reviews
0.8 mi away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#44 of 66 in Bournemouth
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,414 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Court Hotel

Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £21 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Russell Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing