We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Russell Court Hotel
Ranked #123 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Bournemouth
1 review
“Great Hotel!!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

First time stayed at Russel Court Hotel and really couldn't fault anything.
The service was very good and friendly staff
Definitely Excellent value for money
Great location
Would stay again & Highly recommend
P.Glodowski

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bournemouth9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    151
    110
    89
    238
See reviews for
85
237
56
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It's pretty much standard for what you are paying for. The room we had was actually really lovely, plenty of space although the bathroom was a little cosy! The window does overlook other windows in the hotel which is a bit odd but it was quiet at the back.
We were told the lift is 'friendly'. It was actually funny that two of us had to squeeze in... definitely 'friendly'.
Although I know many hotels do it, I still think it's a rip off to make guests pay for parking when they're already paying for a room. £5 a night... Include it in the price! (or pay £1 in town for overnight parking)
Breakfast wasn't included but the Wetherspoons down the road does a top notch breakfast.

If you're looking for somewhere cheap in Bournemouth this is a good one (We've experienced quite a few in the town)....Even if this is a little more expensive than a Britannia hotel, go for Russell Court every time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesso5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel has a superb location, but has let itself down with some quality issues. My wife and I, accompanied by another couple, went to this hotel for a long weekend. The website shows you the best of what it could be, but not what it is (mind you they all seem to do this). The interior is very dated, back to the late 70's I think. There are some very tired aspects with certain area's that could do with a lot of updating. The hotel lift can only take two people, and if you have baggage, you will need to ride alone. We had a family room on the third floor, and tucked right down the end of a very windy, up and down corridor. But we were thankful in the end, as we did not have passing traffic walking past our room, as the floor seemed to creak with every step on the way. The carpet in the room was stained in a few places, and the matress appeared to be of a cheap version. But having said that, we both slept quite well. The shower in the bathroom struggled to produce any significant power, and would barely pass as one. There is a lot that could be done to improve the room as a whole, such as some fittings in the bathroom need attention, as well as sealant repairs. The kettle would not automatically switch off, so you had to keep an eye on it.

We decided to eat out on all occasions except for breakfast. If you want a full english (cooked)breakfast, you had to pay more (£2.50). But we decided to just have the continential option. This was the biggest single failing of this hotel. This breakfast consisted of, fruit juice, yoghurt, cereal, toast and either tea or coffee. There was so much missing, it was obvious that the owner is trying to keep his overheads down. There was no fresh fruit, not cold meat or cheese, no pastries.

The senior person in the restaurant is not a capable person in this position, as he is not aware when people need to be seated. We were standing at the door for five minutes whilst he scribbled away on the other side of the room. We called him over in the end. He never smiled or bid us 'Good Morning'. He didn't seem interested at all. But having said that, the rest of the staff in the restuarant were great.

Moving onto the hotels lounge/bar. The first night (Thursday) was fine, the Barman was polite and chatty, and a female entertainer for the tinsel and turkey group (which other guest could also attend) was very good. The Friday and Saturday night Barman was, or appeared to be fine at first, but when it got busy, as it did, it seemed his whole world fell apart. I thought he was going to walk out and have a nervous breakdown. It transpired that he ran out of glasses and nobody was helping him, which there wasn't. A couple of guest rounded them up and brought them to him. They did this the next evening as well. By the way, then male entertainment on the Friday & Saturday night was equally as good and very entertaining.

During our stay in this hotel, we met some lovely people from around the country (T&T groups), and in conjunction with them had a good weekend in the evenings.

It is obvious that the owner of this hotel is trying to do everything on the cheap, and not spend his money in making it a better hotel. The prime location within the town of Bournemouth of these premises is fantastic. I say invest in it, and your rewards will be greater.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tutts558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very good hotel for the price. Good room. Excellent and clean en-suite bathroom with modern fixtures and fittings. Nice staff. Decent breakfast. Above expectations considering cost. Very close to sea, and even had s sea view room. Near to the shops, bars etc. No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldstoneSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Looking for a cheap overnight hotel stay for early flight from Bournemouth .Found this hotel on Booking ,com, paid £25. It was adequate, clean room, staff not the friendliest, but OK. Good location for the center of town. Parked the car in hotel car park for £3, and it served its purpose. The room was basic, the tv freeview didnt work, but we went out anyway, and were up early. For the price it was fine, but I wouldnt have paid full price for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redlakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

First room offered was on 3rd floor. Room smelt awful, The net curtains were stiff and brown (nicotine)? Shower was extremely dirty (orange thick mold on tiles). Carpet covered in stains. The bedroom was the dirtiest room I have ever been offered. We did move to cleaner room on first floor. Although much better than the first it was still not great! Breakfast passable but evening meals very sad. The staff tried to be helpful but were poorly trained and struggled to understand even the basic English language. I don't know if manager or son were able to understand English any better as we didn't see much of them and when we did they didn't speak to anyone. Some staff had only been here a week and had no or little understanding what was expected. Electric failed on 2 floors one evening and had to be turned off throughout the building. (No exit lights to be seen from bar or function room). We would have moved hotel but we had traveled as a large group and would have found it difficult to accommodate everyone. I do not know how they managed to get 2* rating! NO I would definitely not recommend or stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't think there are any 'good rooms'. but 110 was the best I had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Havant, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Breakfast continental poor with cereal milk and toasts, no fruits, no croissants, no pastry, not any natural yoghurt (only yoghurt with fruits). The rooms are so dirty! We had first a double bedroom, room 302, was very cold , bad smell due to the mould that was all around the window. We ask to change the room and they have been nice to change it. The second room was warmer, no mould but still dirty. The sheets and the towels dirty. We slept very bad, a lot of noise coming from the street. We had problems even with some neighbours that after getting drunk started to scream and to knock at our door. When we made the check out we said about this to the manager he didn't apologise, he didn't say he was sorry he just mumble that he had a lot of persons complaining. I won't recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid front rooms, too much noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterCipri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Marsham Court Hotel
Marsham Court Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
950 reviews
0.6 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
475 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Court Hotel

Property: Russell Court Hotel
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Russell Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing