We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top flat!”
Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Dining Room and Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Lounge
Dining Room and Kitchen
Bedroom View
Bathroom View
Shared Garden Area
View from Alum Chine to Pier
Bournemouth Air Show
Brownsea Island
Corfe Castle
Old Harry Rocks
Dancing Ledge, Purbecks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Bournemouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peter G
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top flat!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in the top floor patio flat at No. 36 for 2 weeks at the beginning of August. The flat is immaculate and extremely spacious. The kitchen and bathroom are both brand new. The owners, Katie and Bernie, have thought to include everything you could possibly need for a home-from-home break - so when they said you need bring nothing but clothes and food - they meant it! We paid a small extra fee for the use of their towels and linen and could not fault the quality or cleanliness.

I would not hesitate to recommend any of Katie and Bernie's properties (some members of our party stayed in the top floor flat at No. 38 - and although not quite as spacious and modern was equally well-eqipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall space and position of flat in relation to Westbourne.
Liked least: The walk back up from the beach through Alum Chine at the end of a lazy day!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Hi, Thank you for your comments, much appreciated. We hope to see you and your family again. Best wishes, Bernie & Katie Fountain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LShipman7...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect accommodation, perfect location.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My family and I stayed for a week at Westlands Holiday Flats, and we were very pleased with the accommodation. Katie and Bernie are splendid hosts; nothing is too much trouble and they are always on hand for anything needed (from bus times to local events/attractions). I cannot praise Westlands highly enough. The flats are spacious with contemporary design whilst retaining their Victorian charm. The garden is large with plenty of space to sit and relax. The area of Westbourne is quiet and charming, with the local shops about a 10 minute stroll away. The beach is a good 15 minute walk but that doesn't matter as the route takes you through Alum Chine; a woodland walkway which is delightful. I have already booked for next year - something I do not usually do - as I was so impressed by the area, the accommodation and the wonderful hosts!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Hi, thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again next year! Best wishes, Bernie & Katie Fountain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Aug 2013
Hello thank you for your kind comments, they are very much appreciated. The new bathroom with shower and second loo in the first floor flat look great, we look forward to seeing you again in a couple of weeks. Best wishes Bernie and Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Snowraven...
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“I wish this place was my permanent address :-)”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I traveled with my neighbour,my 2 children (12 and 15) and her 2 children, (13 and 15),Bernie and Kate were two absolute stars who made us feel welcome from the moment we disturbed their sleep and Bernie had to rescue us around 2 o'clock in the morning(Yes we got lost due to the idiot driving namely me not reading the instruction manual on how to use my GPS properly). Otherwise the place is easy...ish to find for anyone with a better sense of direction than me and my co driver...:-) My first comments as we entered the apartment was "Damn,this is better than my place back in Oslo",the apartment is big,well equipped and felt like home from home. It's located very close to the beach (A scenic 10 to 15 minute walk) and not far from the local shops.The city centre is about a 7 minute drive away(Depending on traffic). I have nothing but positive things to say about this apartment and the service we received from The Fountains.I highly recommend this place to any would-be travelers to Bournemouth,it was very reasonably priced compared to other apartments in the area and will definitely use Bernie and Kate's services again.Thanks to the pair of you and hopefully see you again one day

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That we only booked for 7 days
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Hi, thank you so much for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you all again if you return to Bournemouth. Best wishes Bernie & Katie Fountain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S
Oldenburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect accommodation in a perfect surrounding”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a fortnight of holidays in the lovely garden flat.

The flat is only fifteen minutes on foot away from the idyllic Alum Chine beach - and even the way to the beach through the Chine is more than beautiful.

We were stunned by the perfect condition of the entire flat and garden and felt more than home there. Everything you need for a perfect holiday can be found in the flat. The landlords were fantastic and always available if / when needed. The flat was cleaned regularly and thoroughly during our stay.

We really enjoyed our stay and looking forward to - hopefully - returning in 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not easy to say - we had a perfect stay
Liked least: -------
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2013
Hello, thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again next year!

Best wishes from Bernie and Katie Fountain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Light and spacious accommodation and great location for access to beach!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2012
Hello, thank you for your kind review, our first tripadvisor review I think!
We are putting a new kitchen in now with a window overlooking the garden so that should be quite an improvement for next year.
Thank you again, we hope to see you again,
Kind regards
Bernie & Katie Fountain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$529
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing