We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Elstead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elstead Hotel
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend and was very impressed at the hotel room, staff and the wonderful breakfast. The food in the restaurant was replaced and kept fresh. We stayed with a 4 year old who was looked after very well. The swimming pool was great and the gym equipment looked good too. The decor all looked fresh and welcoming. The bathroom was spotless and the room was very clean. We were very impressed with the items provided ie tea coffee, biscuits and we also appreciated having a fridge. The free wifi was a bonus as some hotels charge. The lift worked well but the voice prompt had gone haywire. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Paula. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I note you particularly enjoyed the breakfast which is great as it is such an important meal of the day and we believe in ensuring our guests are well fed before embarking on a day in Bournemouth which often involves much activity. We hope you will come back with your family soon. Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    223
    76
    16
    9
See reviews for
144
175
59
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Visited Bournemouth this weekend from 30th March 1st April. Stayed at the Elstead hotel.Very good value for the money room very comfortable. Pool and gym area very good. Breakfast exceptional ,good standard of choice, service very good. Would stay there again without a doubt

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Michael. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANNEL ISLANDS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We were lucky enough to get 4 days for the price of 3 and opted for the dinner, bed and breakfast option. It was amazing value. The hotel may be a bit dated but that didn't bother us at all. We had extremely good service from the moment we telephoned to make our booking to the time we checked out. The hotel is extremely clean with good outside car parking. The breakfast was superb with freshly cooked eggs, bacon, sausages constantly being added so nothing was dried up or tired looking. Cereals, juices etc were also on offer. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble - they all seemed to work as a team and it showed. We had dinner each evening and the food was very well presented and very appetising. As we were going to a show our last evening we thought we would have to miss the evening meal due to time clashes. Not so, a bar meal was immediately offered to us at an earlier time and that too was delicious. The manager knowing we were going to a show made sure the kitchen gave super quick service. Very well done to all. Wi-fi was available at the hotel which was great and no charge was made for this extra service. We will definitely return if we visit Bournemouth again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChannelIslandsSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Sue, thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor. I am so glad that you managed to get to the evening show on time and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We recently stayed at the Elstead for 2 nights. The lady on the reception was very pleasant and welcoming. We were given a room on the first floor just above the bar, facing onto the main road. The room was nice: spacious, bright and clean. There was a fairly large television on the wall. We had a fridge so that was useful. The bathroom was rather old fashioned with a slightly damp smell but was basically okay. The shower was not particularly powerful but we had no complaints about the temperature of the water. The only complaint with the room was the heated towel rail in the bathroom as it would not go off so it made the room very warm.

We were booked in for breakfast. What a disappointment and that is something of an understatement. On entering the dining room, it was tired, depressing and long overdue refurbishment. There was wallpaper hanging off the wall just behind where we were seated. There was a selection of cereal, fruit juice and fruit. None of it was refrigerated. There was a selection of cooked food. I did not fancy any of it. My brother opted for the cooked breakfast. I had only cereal and toast. Later that day, my brother was quite unwell with an upset stomach. Obviously we cannot prove that it came from the cooked breakfast but we both ate the same food other than the breakfast. The second morning we didn't even go into the dining room.

I cannot comment on the dinner or bar meals. Neither can we comment on the bar prices. There is a conservatory so people can sit and have coffee or a drink/meal from the bar. The hotel also has free wifi which is good.

I found the staff in the hotel to be far from friendly, including the manager. Most staff say hello or at the very least acknowledge you. That was not the case at the Elstead. The only person who spoke to us was the young lady on reception on the first day when we checked in.

We are both regulars to Bournemouth but will never be back at the Elstead. It is a shame as the hotel has the potential to be very nice but needs a little bit of money spent on it, especially the dining room. The food standard also needs to be improved. And finally, the staff should be sent on a Customer Service course as I think many of them have forgotten that they are serving the public and it is the customers who are paying their wages.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirleyk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have wished. I have examined your comments thoroughly and know we can provide better customer service than we clearly did on this occasion. I do remember talking to you during your stay and I must have misinterpretated your feelings as I recall receiving positive from you so I apologise for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Visited this hotel for a weekend Ladies festival... We did not sleep there so I cannot comment on the rooms, we stayed across the road in a superb little hotel... however I can comment on what we experienced..The hotel itself, is a little tired and basic in the common areas and in need of a refurb the dining room is very ordinary and the food was really only adequate apart from the breakfasts, which were excellent, the bar prices were on par with other hotels.
The brochure for this hotel, bore no resemblance whatsoever to the reality in one shot it shows Bournemouth pier I expect you could have seen it if you were shot half a mile up in the air ..the experience was not bad but not good either

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank power999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
We are sorry to hear you were not able to book accommodation at our hotel as we were full with the guests attending the Ladies Festival which you also attended. Its a pity you were not able to stay with us because I know all the guests had a fantastic time and i am sure you would also have enjoyed the experience. However I do understand your other comments and hope we will have the opportunity to see the improvements on your return next year. Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My partner and I just returned from a four day offer at the above with the last day free. We also took advantage of the special offer on the meals which we found excellent. I have travelled and stopped in some of the best Hotels in the Country and will say, without doubt, that this was the best stay we have ever had. It started badly with the electronic key not working in our alloted room but for this we were rewarded by an upgrade. The breakfast was probably the best and most generous I have ever experienced where you literally just help yourself. The room was clean, tidy warm and had everything you could possibly wish for. The facilities of Sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room and pool as well as complete gymnasium come with the package and were also excellent. Well done The Elstead we were completely satisfied and delighted with the way we were treated by all the friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear MalcolmDavis. Thank you for your kinds comments on Tripadvisor and we are pleased to have delivered good service to you and your partner. Apologies for the delay on arrival due to the key not working however delighted that we were able to resolve the situation quickly and to your advantage. We hope to see you again at The Elstead. Kind regards. Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Short Half term break. We usually stay in a higher grade hotel on the seafront but have recently found the pool area to have become somewhat run down so tried The Elstead instead. Paid £89 B&B for a superior family room. Arrived early but allowed to check in as the room was ready. I found the room and bathroom to be clean and functional. Not the most comfortable ofpillows and would like to see the dated sheets and blankets replaced with duvets. Pool area was OK - Spa was as cold as the pool which was well below the 29 degrees advertised but it was all functional and functioning as was the gym equipment and was greatly enjoyed by the children. Location to the seafront was no problem - just a few minutes walk for us and plenty of free parking. The decor did look tired and could in some cases be easily improved - please remove the endless sea scene art pieces in reproduction frames they give the feel of nothing having been done since the 1970's. Breakfast buffet was good and firendly staff. Overall you get what you pay for and in this hotel we felt this to be good value for money and worth a try - I would return

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you chose The Elstead in preference to your previous choice. As you found out, we are not on the seafront but a little shortcut takes you there after a short 10 minute walk. I agree the paintings in the restaurant now look dated and we are realising its time to change them to bring the restaurant into the 21st century. We are delighted that you will consider returning and look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstead Hotel

Property: Elstead Hotel
Address: 12-14 Knyveton Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elstead Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing