We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT STAY”
Review of Elstead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elstead Hotel
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT STAY”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a two night stay and we were delighted with our stay.
Food was excellant and staff were very attentive and helpful-nothing was too much bother for them.Room was clean and comfortable.Bathroom was small but very clean.
We would definately stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Gcnw
Thank you for a great review. We note that you are hoping to return so please phone the hotel direct to get the best rooms and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    223
    76
    16
    9
See reviews for
144
175
59
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

To help anyone travelling to Bournemouth i wish to say this hotel is a bit overrated here on Trip Advisor, so just don't expect too much. In fact The Elstead is a medium / ok place and needs many improvements here and there, and needs to keep up with current times and some renovation. First off the interiors, the furniture and the blankets, heavily on "my poor grandma's" style, then the Gym area and the Breakfast food, which is ok but very medium. You might also encounter problems with the shower or the heater, as it happened to us. What really saves this place is the staff, which is really nice and helpful. The area is generally peaceful and well connected to center with buses.

Room Tip: Make sure the shower works and the heater is off in summer !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreggaryPekkary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear greggarypekkary
Thank you for your comments. we are pleased to say that we are now in the process of changing from blankets to duvets after comments on Tripadvisor.
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Elstead Hotel Review

We stayed as a family of two adults and two young kids (aged 5 and 7) for one week during August 2013.

We have been visiting Bournemouth regularly for the past three years as it is a great place to take the kids, with plenty of lovely beaches if the weather is good and plenty of attractions for day trips and excursions. We took a chance on this hotel largely as it was one of the few recommended to BBC staff as my wife is an employee there. Looks like the Beeb know a thing or two about where to stay as we found this hotel to be a notch above other hotels (all 3 star) that we have stayed in.

We loved the fact that the Elstead has its own fitness centre and swimming pool. We used it everyday as the kids loved having an end of the day splash around. The staff were all really couretous, polite and friendly - it really makes a difference when the hotel personnel actually seem like they give a damn. We've stayed in places where they clearly don't. But here, at the Elstead, they were brill.

The room had three beds. Two singles and one double. There was ample space around the beds with plenty of storage. It was very clean and well kept. The bathroom was spotless. One problem occured when the shower would not turn off. The hotel manager arrived within minutes and fixed it promptly. The old fashioned rotating ceiling fan was definitely useful as the nights got quite warm when we stayed there. The exterior of the window was very dirty and could have been cleaned I guess, but then the view was just another side of a building so I wasn't really bothered, just a small detail. Noise - there was none, the rooms were great to relax and unwind. The mini fridge was a neat addition and allowed us to buy snacks and drinks and have a place to store them, especially for hungry kids.

Food was excellent. The morning breakfast buffet had a more than ample choice of hot and cold food. With two kids that got tired and hungry easily, we found that we ended up using the hotel restaurant most nights. It's not too expensive (£15-£20 for 2 or 3 course meal, £10 for the kids menu) and the food was ace. There is also the option of the cheaper 'bar food' and there is room service too.

The location of the hotel itself I think does necessitate the use of a car but I don't think it is too far a walk to the beaches or town centre. Regardless, there is plenty of parking. Only on one night was the car park full due to an influx of conference visitors. The main road allows parking free for two hours which kicks in at 8am until 6pm.

Overall, I really liked staying at the Elstead. Away from the hubub of more town and beach-centric hotels, this place notches up the comfort and value factor by quite a margin.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seymour Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Seymour
Thank you for taking time to write a great review. We are grateful for you taking the trouble and your comments have been passed to all those concerned. We hope you will be able to return to the Elstead again.
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed with my disabled Mother for 5 nights from the 12th to the 17th August 2013. The disabled room was the best ever-very wide door to wheel the wheelchair in easily. There was a lovely large disabled shower with a seat. The beds were very comfortable and we slept like logs. The food was excellent. The staff in the hotel, the staff in the dining room and the manager were all pleasant and couldn't do enough for you to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. There is no evening entertainment but the hotel is a good place to get away for a quiet, relaxing break. The hotel is well situated to get to the beach, shops and the new forest. The pool and gym are a good size. Very clean hotel.

Room Tip: Executive room very good size and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Julie
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review on Tripadvisor. We get many good comments about our easy access rooms so is very popular for guests with mobility difficulties. We hope to see you back soon.
Regards Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just spent four nights at the Elstead (August 2013) and everything was convenient and friendly. Switched us a the first night to accommodate my friend's poor mobility and thereafter moved us in to a disabled room which was spacious and light and roomy. Breakfast great choice and restaurant staff helpful. Had dinner a couple of nights too and this was good food and good value. Drinks expensive - but going rate I guess.
Lovely pool - decent size for a hotel pool. Did 50 lengths each morning before breakfast. Towels provided and all very clean and efficient. Nice to be away from the crowds on this quiet and pleasant street but within easy striking distance of the beach and all the action!
Would go again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being on the front overlooking the street/carpark - it's quiet and the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Amanda
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that we awere able to change your room to suit your needs. We are all impressed that you managed 50 lengths before breakfast. Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel and the staff do it credit. It does, however, need bringing into the 21st century. They really need to update the furniture and decor, throw away the blankets and splash out on decent mattresses, pillows and duvets. The waiting staff cannot do enough to please but they also need to throw away the hot plate. A hotel of this size should be able to provide cooked to order breakfasts. They should also provide a better selection of fresh fruit, the only fresh fruit available was melon, the oranges and grapefruit were both tinned. The leisure complex is very good as we're the staff in there. Again a lovely place with so much potential.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 659pippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Pippin
Thank you for your review and for your constructive comments. I have noted your negative points which we intend to act upon and hope you will return again.
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Spent 2 nights in this hotel, found it had a very relaxing atmosphere. I had booked a double room for myself and my teenaged daughter, and on arrival the receptionist offered to check if there were any twin bedded rooms available - we had booked last minute - which we appreciated. As it happened the hotel was full so no swaps were available, clearly a popular hotel.
The room (303) was clean and bright with tasteful, if slightly dated, decor and a shiny clean ensuite bathroom. Situated in a fairly quiet road, there was no noise at night time - we heard nothing from neighbouring rooms other than the occasional door opening/shutting. Our only negative comment was that the mattress on the bed was uncomfortable...you could feel the springs through the bedding, and we would have preferred duvets to the blankets, sheets and bedspread which Elstead Hotel uses. We mentioned this on checking out and our comments were noted.
There was plenty of choice for the self-service breakfast, it was also relaxed and unhurried. Elstead Hotel was also well located for walks to either the beach or the town centre.
We enjoyed using the pool facilities during the evening, though the pool was smaller than it looks on the website, we were fortunate to have it to ourselves for some of the time! It could have done with being a bit warmer, we swam in the evening and the pool felt cold. We didn't use the gym equipment as the area was busy and looked a bit too cramped.
All in all it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Lee
Thank you for your great comments on this site and for your detailed response. I noted your constructive comments regarding the bed and so I checked it myself. I was very horrified to discover how uncomfortable it was. I immediately arranged for a new bed to be delivered so thank you for letting us know and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstead Hotel

Property: Elstead Hotel
Address: 12-14 Knyveton Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elstead Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing