We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient Hotel”
Review of Elstead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elstead Hotel
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient Hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights in room 214 on Top (2nd) Floor . There is a lift . Very spacious room ,pleasant and a lot of natural light . The beds were comfortable and the room very quiet . It was warm so the central heating was hardly needed . the bathroom was spacious and v clean with a bath and good shower in the bath ..
The only gripe was the tiny flat screen TV which was too small for such a spacious room . I asked if it could be changed for a larger set but the receptionist seemed to suggest that all the rooms were the same .no luck there . We had one meal in the evening . Rather salty for our taste . It was OK . no more and no less . The breakfast was altogether better with a good choice of fruit and the usual fried stuff (including fried bread ) YUM . No croissant or cakes .
All the staff were super and helpful . The leisure facilities were all on the cool side . Cool Sauna ,cool pool and cool Jacuzzi . There was a large array of keep fit and exercise machines .
The Hotel is well situated .10 mins walk from the seafront and 10 mins walk from the train station . Also good parking at the Hotel and in the street

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barmest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    225
    77
    16
    9
See reviews for
144
176
59
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hants
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just returned back from staying at the Elstead Hotel. We stayed two years ago and yet again we had a fabulous stay. The Hotel Room was perfect with everyhing that you would need during your stay and also spotlessly clean. The Food was wonderful and the Staff - well you just could not fault them. Very good team work who obviously all get on very well together making them a very happy Staff. Cannot wiait to visit the Elstead again..

Room Tip: We had a Standard Room which overlooked the front Part of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritahanna759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed for a weekend event. Friendly, well presented staff. Well appointed room. Great bar service. Wonderful dinner. Great breakfast choice, though not as hot as it could have been. 2 downsides; Terrible shower ( other guests with us agreed too) - no pressure and took 10 mins ( not joking) to warm up. Room door locks- had issues on both days we were there with the key cards ( as did others in our party). Other than that, a very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this at the last minute for a Saturday night away. It was one of the few hotels with rooms left so we weren't expecting great things, however I'm pleased to say this was a great find. Lovely hotel, nice bar, pool, very polite staff, clean and functional rooms. It was a little walk to the town centre, probably about 20 mins, but it was an enjoyable stroll. I would happily return. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSMgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband, three children, and I have stayed in this hotel several times now. We choose to come back each time as the staff are attentive and friendly, the breakfast choice is spot on for families with young children, as there is no waiting to be served - self service of hot and cold options is exactly what we need. We have an autistic child who has problems with waiting, and this is the only hotel that we feel comfortable in, where we feel relaxed at breakfast, knowing he won't become agitated by waiting.
The pool is perfect for children and adults alike. The gym area provides good machines and clean areas.
There are comments about dated décor, but this hotel is a good old fashioned one. It doesn't need flashy gimmicks, robotic staff, gold plated handles. It is an honest, down to earth, friendly run establishment, and that means more than shiny mirrors everywhere.
We have stayed in various rooms, and each has been comfortable, clean, and well stocked with tea and coffee supplies.
The bathrooms are always clean. The showers all have low pressure, but when you weigh up the age of the building (beautifully traditional), the cleanliness, the staff, the service, the food, and the location (lovely and quiet), it is only a small blip, and the actual bath is fine.
They offer room service, and we have taken advantage of having evening meals served in our room, on the days when our children have been exhausted, and we feel they would not be as well behaved in the dining room. It takes the pressure off us all, and means we can enjoy a good, home cooked meal, without worrying about other guests and their enjoyment.
I have noticed that the online booking can say there is no available rooms for your choice of date, but I ring up and there is the room we require and for the right date, so always double check if you don't get what you want online.

Room Tip: Executive family rooms are really good value, with a lot of space between beds, table and chairs, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tordeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmborough, Bath,
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is very much a mixed review. My husband and I went for a 4 night break. We left it a bit late so didn't worry too much as long as the hotel seemed reasonable.

It is pleasant enough. The location was ok. The room was satisfactory - adequate size, clean but the décor was dated. The bathroom was good but the shower was awful - not very powerful and with a choice between a hot dribble or cold. There were good coffee-making facilities and plenty of storage space. The bed was very firm and we found it a bit uncomfortable.

The food is quite good in this hotel with plenty of choice at breakfast. We had two evening meals there and they were good. There were lots of dining room staff who were very friendly and hard-working, nothing was too much trouble.

The communal rooms are quite pleasant with a conservatory and bar, also a lounge. We didn't use the swimming pool so can't comment but it looked to be a good size. The hotel was actually quite busy so is presumably fairly popular.

The negative sides to this hotel were the creaky floors which were unbelievable (you would never be able to do a runner!), the views from the window were mostly of the roofs of different parts of the hotel. Also, although the reception staff were generally ok, when we left my husband settled the food/drinks bill and was short-changed by £10. When he pointed it out the man said 'Oh here you are' but there was no apology. Also, I think it would have been nice if he had asked if we had enjoyed our stay - even a simple goodbye would have been better than nothing! It didn't leave you with a lasting good impression.

Not having been to Bournemouth for years, we quite enjoyed our visit, including Hengistbury Head and Sandbanks. Altogether our stay was ok. We weren't mega disappointed or anything but we probably wouldn't return to this hotel and would probably rather spend our money on something a bit better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Frank007
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and i appreciate the honest points, both good and bad. We have already looked at a number of the areas where we fell below standard and will strive to ensure lessons are learnt from our mistakes.
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have spent one week here. The location is good because of the quiet neighborhood, 5 min walk from train station and 5 min walk to the water front. To downtown about 10 minutes and busses nearby The entire hotel makes a clean and tidy impression topped by light rooms. Only the shower is not really a shower. No water pressure. I preferred to go to the fitness area in the basement. The pool and fitness room at all was ok. The sauna a bit too cool.

The breakfast is just ok. Ok means ok, but to be good it would be necessary that they hold their promise, written on the menue: no croissant, no tomato or cranberry juice. In my opinion for a hotel like that it´s not enough just to serve toast instead offering croissant, baguette or bread. I tried the food served in the bar once and I found it far behind the standard I expected.
The staff was friendly and helpful but could be a little better.

I can highly recommend the hotel if you can have exactly the same breakfast everyday without any surprise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st level then you like to have water pressure on the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear John W
Thank you for your comments which are extremely constructive and will assist in our continual efforts to improve services at the hotel. Straightaway we have implemented new guidelines to ensure all breakfast menu items are available and hope we will see you back at The Elstead Hotel.
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstead Hotel

Property: Elstead Hotel
Address: 12-14 Knyveton Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elstead Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing