We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lasting Impression”
Review of Elstead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elstead Hotel
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hindhead, Surrey, England
1 review
“Lasting Impression”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I joined a group of family members at this hotel for an occasion in mid November 2013 and not knowing anything of the Elstead Hotel, was unsure of what to expect.
I am delighted to report that this warm pleasant hotel met and far exceeded my expectations; and I am a fussy person to please.

Set in it's own grounds in a quiet tree lined road, my front facing room (111) experienced little traffic noise even with the window open all night.

If you are not mobility impaired, it's within pleasant walking distance of the beach, coastal cliffs, town centre, pier, and the railway station. The hotel is easily located, had sufficient free car parking & a bus stops nearby.

I booked a single but was freely upgraded to a double room with a good sized en-suite bathroom with clean fresh towels and expected toiletries. The main room radiator could be controlled individually and the room window opened widely. A comfortable new double bed, crisp white sheets & pillow cases, a warm, snuggly camel coloured blanket (additional pillows and blankets were available where needed) gave me a lovely sleep experience.

The well stocked hospitality tray had tea, coffee (full & decaf:) and good quality biscuits. Room service menu was available with a minimal additional service charge.

Free WiFi throughout the hotel - land line telphone from the room - an in-built iron/ ironing board and trouser press; hairdryer etc: The room 'housekeeping care' was impeccable and anything additional you wished for could be ordered via a quick and courteous phone call to reception.

I dined each evening at the hotel and the expreince was 'silver service'. Food arrived quickly, served by professional, well trained, friendly and observant staff. I got the impression that every member of staff throuhgout the hotel cared well for their guests.

The evening menu was broad, and hot meals served hot, on hot plates. Puds were scrumptious ( lashings of additional custard was willingly brought for my yummy apple crumble). A good wine list was on offer too. The bar menu was fairly extensive; as was the buffet breakfast - fruits, juices, cerials, cakes - and hot plates for the hot food, a good selection of entries and as many refills of pots of tea & coffee (and hot chocolate at breakfast) as required.

The Hotel has a reasonable sized swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym all included - open between 7am and 10pm, there's enough time for guests to suit themselves. A slight disappointment for me was that the steam room was temporarily out of action: but every other facility was in good order and nothing was crowded.

All in all I had an excellent stay and have been well looked after by skilled staff who care for their hotel and for their guests.

If you are looking for 4 star care at a 3 star price, this is 'the' hotel in which to base yourself for all occasions; for the coast, for the New Forest, for shopping in small market towns, for a quite romantic break or for business. From my experience, this hotel will serve you well and you can look forward to good wholsesome fresh food, careful cleanilness and friendly courteous staff who will make your stay a worth while experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    227
    81
    17
    9
See reviews for
148
178
60
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We have just arrived home from a two night stay at the Elstead Hotel and we had a brilliant time. The staff are all very friendly, food was excellent and we had a lovely bedroom. As we were at the side of the hotel we did not have a very good view but this did not spoil our stay. We did find the small dining room was a bit cool but the Manager plugged in a fire which soon warmed the room up. The hotel is in an ideal location as we were able to walk to the beach and into town quite easily and left the car at the hotel. We would certainly stay here again and hope to bring friends with us next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I have stayed at the Elstead twice on business and will be booking again as the hotel is a short walk from station and office I was visiting and all well within the expenses budget really good value
The rooms are comfortable and although I have booked a single room I have been upgraded to a more spacious double.
The staff are very friendly the food is good value and as a single lady eating alone I did not feel uncomfortable in the dinning room and breakfast was good quality with quick service.
The pool and sauna are just what is needed at the end of a busy day

Room Tip: liked the corner room as 2 doors to room felt very secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaxley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I booked a last minute short break down to Bournemouth and decided on the Elstead Hotel, a 3-star seaside hotel, good location, easy to walk to the beach, coast, cliffs, town centre, pier, buses stopped nearby and a short walk to the railway station as well. All very good.

The room is a small double, but booked as a Solo so I knew this before I arrived, the bathroom was a good size, clean and fresh towels and had toiletries as well, the room had tea, coffee, kettle and biscuits, all very good and I used the iron as well, so had all the usual additions, the hairdryer was a built in one, if you wanted one with a decent strength, I would take your own.

Breakfast was great, hot plate, hot food, and good choice and very good selection, I ate well and fuelled me for the day ahead, very good. and great pot of coffee too. The Hotel has a swimming pool, sauna, steam and gym all included and was a great surprise and good pool too, I uses this each day and it was not crowded, all in all a good stay and if travelling south, a great place to base yourself for the coast, and new forest and walking too.

Room Tip: Park your car at the hotel and either walk, bus or train from there, it can get busy on the rounds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozza-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights in room 214 on Top (2nd) Floor . There is a lift . Very spacious room ,pleasant and a lot of natural light . The beds were comfortable and the room very quiet . It was warm so the central heating was hardly needed . the bathroom was spacious and v clean with a bath and good shower in the bath ..
The only gripe was the tiny flat screen TV which was too small for such a spacious room . I asked if it could be changed for a larger set but the receptionist seemed to suggest that all the rooms were the same .no luck there . We had one meal in the evening . Rather salty for our taste . It was OK . no more and no less . The breakfast was altogether better with a good choice of fruit and the usual fried stuff (including fried bread ) YUM . No croissant or cakes .
All the staff were super and helpful . The leisure facilities were all on the cool side . Cool Sauna ,cool pool and cool Jacuzzi . There was a large array of keep fit and exercise machines .
The Hotel is well situated .10 mins walk from the seafront and 10 mins walk from the train station . Also good parking at the Hotel and in the street

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barmest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hants
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just returned back from staying at the Elstead Hotel. We stayed two years ago and yet again we had a fabulous stay. The Hotel Room was perfect with everyhing that you would need during your stay and also spotlessly clean. The Food was wonderful and the Staff - well you just could not fault them. Very good team work who obviously all get on very well together making them a very happy Staff. Cannot wiait to visit the Elstead again..

Room Tip: We had a Standard Room which overlooked the front Part of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritahanna759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed for a weekend event. Friendly, well presented staff. Well appointed room. Great bar service. Wonderful dinner. Great breakfast choice, though not as hot as it could have been. 2 downsides; Terrible shower ( other guests with us agreed too) - no pressure and took 10 mins ( not joking) to warm up. Room door locks- had issues on both days we were there with the key cards ( as did others in our party). Other than that, a very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,506 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstead Hotel

Property: Elstead Hotel
Address: 12-14 Knyveton Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Elstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elstead Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing