We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great experience”
Review of Elstead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elstead Hotel
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Fulwood
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value, great experience”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I paid just £35 for a one night stay, including a full breakfast, and got upgraded to a double room on arrival. Staff were very pleasant especially the woman at reception and the young lad behind the bar. Wi-Fi was free and worked all over the hotel, good working area in the large bar. Overall, a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Try to get a front view room as the rear view is nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryFulwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    227
    81
    17
    9
See reviews for
148
178
60
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice and clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.The weather turned wet and windy,so we spent an afternoon in the Nordic health suite.Plenty of fitness machinery and a lovely warm pool and jacuzzi.Food at reasonable prices and good breakfast.Easy walk to seafront and town centre.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Have just come back from a stay at this hotel receptionist very helpful. room was clean and lots of tea and coffee. Breakfast very good really nice food good quality. Arrived whilst a dinner dance evening was going on I was the only guest not in the event but I was looked after very well

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie_clarke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Debbie
Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and as we had a large number staying at the hotel who were also attending a dinner dance, I am pleased that we were able to give you that individual service which is so important when you are travelling on business.
Regards Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have been working in Bournemouth for the past 3 months and initially stayed in a variety of hotels in the area until I found the Elstead. The staff are fantastic and really go the extra mile. The hotel is clean, the food is excellent and the prices are extremely reasonable. The gym is well equipped and well maintained. I would certainly recommend the hotel to other potential guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesTW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear James
Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor and I am delighted that you are enjoying your stay at The Elstead. I see from your report that you are often away from home for long periods on business so we understand the need for that extra attention to try to make your stay feel like home from home. Thank you again. Regards Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a two night stay at Elstead Hotel. We were very impressed from the outset - we had dinner in the hotel on our first night and it was very good indeed - silver service with very efficient waiters. We then went into the hotel bar which had music and was very comfortable. The breakfast is also very good.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and the bathrooms are lovely - tea and coffee making facilities in the room with biscuits. A special mention to James who worked in the bar and looked after us so well and could not do enough for us and to Malcolm for all his help.

The only downside is that the hotel is approx a 20 minute walk to the centre of town - although you can always get a No 1a bus.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosehanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Rosehanna
Thank you for your kind response. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to the members of our team that you mentioned. Regards Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbw vale
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just returned from the elstead where we went to celebrate my 50th birthday. Lovely spotlessly clean hotel with gorgeous food and very attentive staff. Breakfast was served buffet style with a huge choice and everything cooked to perfection.The waitresses were very good at their job, and had obviously been well trained. On my birthday we had dinner at the hotel which was excellent with very good food and exceptional value at just 39.00 for two with a bottle of wine! unbelievable. Again the waiter on that evening was excellent and a real credit to the hotel, made everything really special. We only had a minor problem, which really wasn t the fault of the hotel, but on the second night we were woken at 2 15 in the morning by two very rowdy men who were staying in the room above us,they clearly had no consideration for other guests and continued to be very noisy for the next hour. however on reporting this to reception next morning we were offered a room in another part of the hotel, (WHICH WAS AMAZING) and the hotel receptionist was very sorry for what had happened, and said that she would speak to them as a matter of urgency. Please do not let this put you off however, as I am sure that this sort of thing doesn t happen that often and it would be a shame to mark this hotel down because of it. Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for room in newer part of hotel no sqeaky floorboards!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Catherine
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased that you found our dinner good value. Our special offer of Wine and Dine for Thirty Nine is very popular and includes dinner for two together with a bottle of wine. I do apologise for the noise from the unruly guests and glad that our reception team were on hand to solve the situation. We hope to see you back at The Elstead Hotel. Regards Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Elstead, the staff were friendly & helpful. The hotel clean & the room was superb. There was a mini refrigerator in the room which was handy & the tea/coffee biscuits were replenished daily. The only minor niggle was the pillows were extremely flat but I guess this is more of a personal preference. The breakfast was superb with plenty of fruit/cereals/cooked breakfast & toast on offer for you to help yourself. If you prefer a poached egg/kipper/porridge this could also be accommodated by request. We used the leisure facilities & the only disappointment was the jacuzzi which felt quite cool so we opted for the sauna & steam room instead. The hotel is approximately 10-15 min walk from the beach which we didn't mind as we really enjoyed the exercise & helped walk our breakfast off!. At the end of our visit I unfortunately left an expensive orthodontic aid behind, but the staff were wonderful when we called they found it & immediately posted it to me. Great place, good value for money. We would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Dawn
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review and your kind comments have been circulated around the team here at The Elstead. I am pleased that we were able to resolve the situation regarding the lost property and we hope to see you back soon. Regards Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,448 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
627 reviews
0.9 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstead Hotel

Property: Elstead Hotel
Address: 12-14 Knyveton Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Elstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elstead Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing