We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has all you need”
Review of Elstead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elstead Hotel
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Has all you need”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We liked the location of the hotel in a quiet neighborhood. We weren`t too keen on hanging around the pier and the party-crowds in the city center, so It suited us just fine to be in a quiet neighborhood with the beach within a short walk. The hotel has a well equipped gym, a swimming pool and bar with tables outside to enjoy the sun. The breakfast was good and very well organized with good service. The only negative is that the decor is stuck in the nineties. So If you don't mind that you will have a nice stay! (we got a room meant for users of a wheelchair. On the plus side It was spacious and with electrical beds to adjust the position, on the negative side it was not very romantic with two separate beds and a chair in the shower - felt a bit like staying at a nursing home. Maybe it would be best to inform us beforehand about this). Oh - and one last thing: they did not lend out towels for the beach so we had to go shopping. That could have been a nice gesture..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Linda
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I note that you were provided with a twin room which is what was requested on your booking, so if you return, please request a double room if that is what you prefer and we will always oblige. The room you were given is also designed for easy access so I am sorry that we did not first inform you as we normally would.
Regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    225
    77
    16
    9
See reviews for
144
176
59
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights ,thoroughly enjoyed it. Quite,comfortable room, for the 4 of us. Staff absolutely brilliant,friendly, helpful and pleased to see you! Food is absolutely first rate. Only downside is that it is slightly arduous walk to the beach,however the positives outweigh this easily. Would I stay here again? Absolutely,we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesESykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mr Sykes
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Elstead Hotel. Your kind comments have been passed to the team here and we look forward to you returning soon. Kind regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent hotel on a quiet street. Location a little further out of town than anticipated. Room was spacious although we had an extra bed put up in the middle of our room for our 11 year old. Excellent food, well presented and good value for money. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Ample parking. All in all an excellent hotel and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kejamesShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Kejames
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Elstead. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and if you book direct with the hotel we shall endeavour to give you one of our larger rooms which will comfortably fit your 11- year old child. Thank you again with kind regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Booked 2 rooms, 1 family &1 twin, for 5 for a week and was not disappointed overall. Both rooms were a decent size bright airy and well furnished. The family room overlooked an adjacent property and could have done with net curtains at the windows to give a little privacy. Also the large windows opened wide and were not fitted with safety catches - could be a real safety hazard with toddlers. The sink in the bathroom was cracked and the showers in both rooms (2nd floor) were dreadful - took 3x longer to shower due to very poor water pressure. Twin room was fine apart again from the shower.
Ate in the bar and the restaurant 1 evening each. Bar food OK restaurant much better (but obviously pricier). Breakfast well cooked well presented and plentiful. All the hotel staff were friendly and efficient especially Heather Noyce on reception. Good pool and gym, bright clean hotel, nice and quiet at night and good location for town & beach. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Poor showers in rooms on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Mo G
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing a review. I have noted all of your comments which are very constructive. The cracked sink is unforgiveable and we are immediately investigating that to ensure it is replaced straight away. Thank you also for your compliments regarding our Reception Manager, Heather who has been informed. I am so glad that you are considering returning to The Elstead Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights here while at a conference in Bournemouth. From the moment I arrived to the time I left the staff were friendly, chatty and helpful. My room was a single, but plenty big enough. The pool and gym is small but never over busy, and the sauna and steam room are good.The breakfast was excellent, with a buffet and cooked to order, plenty of juices and tea and coffee.
The hotel is old, but this adds to the charm, it is clean and well run, and I will definitely stay again next year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger5cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Roger5cambs
Thank you for a great review. We recognise the needs of our corporate guests to feel home from home and I hope we have managed to do that for you. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. When booking next time, please contact the hotel direct and ask for a larger room and we try to oblige. Kind regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked at short notice with lots of special needs and the staff were very helpful and friendly on the phone sorting us out - great to speak to real people not agencies who don't know the place. There was no fuss about the children being messy and disorganised and when things were not right they were fixed immediately. Everything was very clean and the pool, steam room and jacuzzi were spotless. The breakfasts were delicious. . It was very near the station which was just right for us and is about half way between Bournemouth and Boscombe (very near a great park in Boscombe Chine and mini golf which we like) so although not in the centre of town, it was close enough to eg launderette, great pizza restaurant and the university area which we liked. We felt very lucky to have found the place

Room Tip: We stayed in a room specially adapted for disabled people and the little touches were really appreci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beowulf1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Beowulf1961
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing a review on Tripadvisor and in particular your fantastic comments. I note you were pleased with our adapted room for guests with special needs which is one of only a handful in Bournemouth. We have two such bedrooms so please phone us early if staying again as they get booked up quickly, especially during the summer. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our Team and these will be passed on to them. Kind regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just spent 2 weeks at this lovely friendly hotel. My daughter and I had a superior twin room which was spacious and had a fridge and ceiling fan - just the thing to cope with the hot weather. From the management down the staff are all very helpful and always there to help if needed. Meals were well presented and if you don't want dinner in the restaurant you can have Bar Meals in the conservatory. We enjoyed the pool and Jacuzzi (didn't use the gym.......too old and too hot!) We have been going now for a number of years and it is obvious that a lot of the guests return. It does need a wee bit of TLC but is spotless and the décor is of no consequence. There is parking at the hotel and also on the quiet street. We hope to be back DV 2015.........roll on.

Room Tip: Try for an executive front room - they are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Mary R, Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review and we are so peased that you have been returning to The Elstead for a number of years. Your kind comments have been passed on to the Team here and we certainly look forawrd to welcoming you back in 2015. Kind regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,360 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstead Hotel

Property: Elstead Hotel
Address: 12-14 Knyveton Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elstead Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing