We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually stay in another hotel, but lucky for me they were full”
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Usually stay in another hotel, but lucky for me they were full”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel is the nicest hotel that I have stayed in in Bournmouth, the rooms are very spacious and really clean. I was staying here for the close proximaty to Bournemouth International Airport, but it would make a nice holiday stay.
All of the staff were really friendly and the breakfast was great, on my next visit I will definately choose to stay here. The only negative was that parking was a problem as the parking bays were not marked out so I got boxed in and needed an early start.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Nice to be appreciated. For a really cost effective stay please book direct, we guarantee there is no agency site out there that offers a cheaper rate. Our 'direct booked' prices are exactly the same as booking.com and laterooms.com and by booking direct you receive a 10% discount on all food and drink purchased during your stay. Plus free glass of wine if you pre-book a 2 or 3 course dinner.

ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    441
    187
    73
    64
See reviews for
205
543
84
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here for 3nights, on arriving on the Monday we booked in at 2.30, we knew 3.00 was the stated time but the staff showed us to the bar and rushed to finish the room, we played pool ( free ) and had drinks. We were given our parking permit (car parking could have been a bit bigger but once parked we didn't move the car for the next 4 days). We went to our room (105) which was the family room, it was excellent, ok was a little dated but it was very clean, large amounts of clean White towels left on every bed as well as in the bathroom, tea and coffee supplies were left on the cupboard, hairdryer in the drawer, 2 bibles, menus, tv with free view though it did take us 24 hours to figure out how to get free view but reception explained how to use it and we were sorted from then. Yes the tv was a little old but it worked and that's all that matters when you have kids there. There was a double bed (very comfy and clean) double sofa bed and single bed, loads of wardrobes and cupboards and drawers. Yes there were creaky floors boards but it's an old building and didn't disturb us when in the room. The staff are very friendly and will do anything to make your stay pleasant. The breakfast room was modern and the food was great. You had fresh toast you toasted yourself, loads of jams, marmalade and marmite to choose, 4 different cereals, 4 different juices, fresh milk, tea, coffee and then the cooked breakfast. Everything was hot, bacon, sausage,fried bread,fried tomatoes, eggs, beans, the plates were hot and the cutlery was sparkling, the table cloths were spotless and plenty of space around every table to move, to flat screen tvs broadcasted the news every morning.we had the use of free wifi throughout the hotel. The evening restaurant was as good, very clean and spacious. All in all we could not fault this hotel, and will be returning again. Thank you for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Room 105, family room, plenty of space for 2 adults and 2 kids maybe 3, overlooked a car ark but had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Nice to be appreciated. The client obviously had one of our 'non-refurbished' rooms but it was clean and the rest of the hotel more than made up for it. By the by we have introduced a new scheme - book direct and receive 10% off all food and drink purchased at the hotel during your stay, (we save agent fees...you get cheaper drink and food...everyone wins). We guarantee there is no agency site that offers a cheaper price than booking direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We booked a couple of nights at the hotel as family were staying there, so we thought it would be nice to stay at same hotel, we looked on trip advisor and were concerned about reviews but When we arrived staff were friendly the rooms were clean, communal areas were newly refurbed, breakfast was fantastic and evening food was also. The only thing we could say bad was the
shower wasnt the best as it was a water saving system but u get used to it. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, ignore the bad reviews some people expect the world. Also good location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junior2376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Nice to be appreciated. The client obviously had one of our 'non-refurbished' rooms but it was clean and the rest of the hotel more than made up for it. By the by we have introduced a new scheme - book direct and receive 10% off all food and drink purchased at the hotel during your stay, (we save agent fees...you get cheaper drink and food...everyone wins). We guarantee there is no agency site that offers a cheaper price than booking direct.

The issue of the shower pressure arising agan.....it is a shame that the 'water saving' feature that the local water board asked us to use has reduced water pressure to the point where we expect we will have to go back to the old system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2011

we stayed here bank holiday weekend,very nice hotel,staff very fiendly,breakfast lovely,bedroom could do with decorating but very clean with white bed linen and white towels,we would defenitly recomend this hotel for the price

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Nice to be appreciated. The client obviously had one of our 'non-refurbished' rooms but it was clean and the rest of the hotel more than made up for it. By the by we have introduced a new scheme - book direct and receive 10% off all food and drink purchased at the hotel during your stay, (we save agent fees...you get cheaper drink and food...everyone wins). We guarantee there is no agency site that offers a cheaper price than booking direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Unfortunately was not impressed at all, the outside is not very welcoming, as we went into our room there was a smell and there was dirt by the radiators which had not been cleaned properly, however the staff were accomodating and provided us with another room, was hoping for a newly refurbished room, but unfortunately the family rooms have not been refurbished, would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy190762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
We agree that the room first provided was not cleaned properly and that we should have picked this up and corrected it before letting it to a client. We did provide another larger room for the client. We should have done better first time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights b&b, first impression was that the building outside and as you walked in the reception area looked quite shabby.The hotels position is excellent easy access to beach ,shops and restaurants
The staff were very pleasant and efficient.
Breakfast was well prepared and the dining area modern,comfortable nicely decorated with views to the rear gardens.
The double room we had although clean was in desperate need of refurbishment, the floor boards being particularly creaky.
Major disappointment being the bathroom, which was a trip back to the sixties, the shower head and riser rail was new, but the low water pressure for the shower resulted in little more than a trickle of water from the head.
We did not make any complaints as we felt you get what you pay for.
Capitalise on the Tony Hancock history!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillgezash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
At last a genuine negatative review - clearly the client had one of our non-refurbished rooms but accepted that as our rates reflect this they did receive value for money.

The concerns about the shower - the local water board asked hotels to fit new shower heads which take air in so reduce water flow. We have had complaints about the resultant pressure and it sadly looks like its a 'downer' for the environment as we will have to take them out again and put the conventional shower head back in except in those rooms where we have power showers.

The 'outside looks tatty' I didn't really get as we are 90% of the way through re-painting the outside of the hotel. Tony Hancock's father, (famous 1950s' tv comic), designed the building and he rather obviously didn't have a feel for architecture - it is flat roofed and not by any stretch a 'pretty building' . I suspect that is what the writer is on about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed for 1 night in a double room, the double bed was very small and room was very dated also very creaky floor boards. The shower was just a dribble. Very disappointing over priced hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Browz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Because we are having a spate of 'hate' trip adviser comments all originated from the same individual it is difficult to separate genuine poor comments from the 'hate campaign' comments. I note this individual has not writtent to Trip Adviser before and has no personal details on their background data. Was somewhat surprised that the individual ratings were 3 or 4 but the overall only 2. But this could be a genuine review from a client who had one of our 'non-refurbished' rooms. Though somewhat surprised about the 'shower' comments and the 'over-priced' comments. Last thing we are is over-priced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,373 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Property: Hotel Celebrity
Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef and his brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing