We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great: quiet 2 night stay in central Bournemouth”
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great: quiet 2 night stay in central Bournemouth”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I spent quite a while looking at various B&B's and hotels in Bournemouth and Christchurch. Most of the B&B's were coming in at around £60 per night based on 2 people sharing a double room from Thursday to Saturday, and a lot of these were a little chintzy looking.

Eventually, I stumbled across Hotel Celebrity; it seemed quite fresh, clean and modern from the photos (though I didn't put too much trust in them being truly representive!). 2 nights came in at a little over £100 through a third party website (the price was 50% higher using their own website!).

The hotel was easy to find - a convenient central location about a 4-5 minute walk from the main 'strip' - far enough away so that there were no problems with noise from the centre. It was also just a 4-5 minute walk from the beach - superb!

Free parking was provided for residents in a modest car park (which did fill up whilst I was there at the very end of the summer season).

First impressions on entering the lobby were that it looked tidy and clean, perhaps in need of a little attention in places (several false roof panels were missing above the reception desk although it seemed that there were works on going). Beyond the reception area was a large lounge room (named the 'Sherlock Holmes Lounge'!) behind a beautiful set of art deco wooden doors and furnished with antique style bureaus, tables and bookcases, and leather sofas. The receptionist was courteous and helpful; she checked me into my room; told me about the meal times and geve me the free Wi-Fi info. She advised that I should have Wi-Fi coverage in my 2nd floor room.

The corridors were a tiny bit dated looking but the room, when I entered it, was a pleasant surprise; reflective of the photos on their website: quite modern, clean, not too busy, decorated in creams, browns and bamboo greens. My room wasn't very large, but ample for me. Double bed, large flat screen TV, usual furniture and two tall back chairs with still sufficient room to change.

The bathroom was, again, clean, quite modern and uncluttered, decorated in creamy textured tiles. There was no bath, only a shower cubicle (no problem for me). Fresh white towels and bathmat provided.

My only niggles with the room were that there was no Wi-Fi - I could see the access point but couldn't connect, although was able to connect in the reception - perhaps a problem with their range extenders? Also: the view from my room - a brick wall! It wasn't a problem for me but I'd advise anyone booking to stipulate accordingly if they don't want the same view that I enjoyed!

Breakfast was superb; served in a large, bright dining hall with contemporary furnishing and two large flat screen TV's on one wall with breakfast TV/news showing. The breakfast selection was excellent: buffet style with all the usual full English constituents, as well as a good continental selection, fruit, hot drinks and plenty of fruit juices.

There was a lovely evening dining hall adjacent to the breakfast hall; furnished in a similar, classic style to the ‘Sherlock Holmes Lounge', though I didn't try an evening meal in the hotel (the menu looked quite reasonable though - a nice classic selection with 3 courses costing between £20 - £30).

There was also a 'jazzy' looking, large bar, decorated in a kind of Hollywood diner/pop art style, with heavy emphasis on the 'Celebrity' theme. Again; I didn't spend any time in the bar, so can't comment on service, etc.

Overall: a great stay, very comfortable, lovely breakfast and great location. I'd definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abacus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    437
    184
    68
    63
See reviews for
204
537
81
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed at the hotel for a couple nights was a bit concerned about some of the reviews but the hotel was fine clean and tidy close to both the beach and the town and the staff were very friendly .Breakfast was help yourselves which was cereals and full English and fresh juices tea and coffee ,nice relaxing bar in the hotel, a couple of outside patio areas if you wished to sit outside which we did because the weather was gorgeous and a nice comfy lounge we did not use the restaurant but it was reasonably priced and was waitress service all in all a nice place to stay for a short break and close to all the amenities of Bournemouth

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gib186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, KY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel 3 nites in Sept 2011 and were surprised by the closeness of the beach and downtown Bournemouth. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel has a great history behind it and they took the time to put out pamphlets and displays describing the history.

The room was good for the price and the staff was superb! They went out of their way to help us whenever we had questions. The only thing we can "complain" about is that the internet access, while great in the bar area, was not accessible anywhere else. For us, it was a matter of wanting to Skype with family and not having the privacy to do so. Also, as with any hotel in England, parking is an issue if you leave early in the day and come back later in the evening. However, the staff did help us out on that occasion by letting us double-park and calling us when a space came open. This hotel is also known for it's great meals and people come from other places just for the restaurant, hence part of the parking problem? We can vouch for the meals, they were VERY good! None of these issues would keep us from going back, in fact, if we return to Bournemouth, we would definitely stay there again! Thanks to the staff at the Celebrity, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Thank god I only stayed for one night. Staff were ok and served me an early brekfast, but the fun stopped there. The general decor was shabby and dated with dim lighting. The room was dirty, mattress was lumpy, shower was cold, carpet frayed and dirty and I couldn't even drink the tap water in my room. It like staying in a third world country. My job requires me to stay away often and this is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in at nearly twice the price of a travelodge.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 124
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 00sayburnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night in Sep. We checked in and the member of staff was very friendly and efficient. Our room was nice, spacious with good furniture and was clean. Bathroom was clean and had all you would expect.The bar area was comfortable and service in here was good, drinks reasonably priced for a hotel. We ate dinner in the restaurant and this was of a good standard and well priced. The breakfast was varied and of good quality the only gripe we had here was that the cooked breakfast wasnt very hot. All in all a very good hotel and one in which we would stay at again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAEMEL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Bearing in mind that this place was formerly known as Quality Hotel, I was a little apprehensive that there will be no quality to be found.
as it turned out, the hotel was acceptable - OK, tired, weary and dated decor even after the new management tried to update as budget friendly as possible - but acceptable.
A good location, a good breakfast spread, updated bathroom, a comfortable bed and a clean room.
for £50.00, it was acceptable and would not mind staying there again.

Andrew and Kay

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayoandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Absolutely loved this hotel. Nothing too much trouble for friendly staff. Room was lovely, with nice corner-bath as well as a shower. Bed was really comfortable, and huge amount of storage space. Restaurant was first class. Great menu. Meal was well presented, delicious,and the waitress was just lovely. OK, there were things I'd improve on. A newer flat-screen tv in the bedroom would have been nice but it wasn't the end of the world. The wifi leaves a bit to be desired. Even in the public areas the signal was lost a couple of times, and it hardly worked at all in our room. But again, not the end of the world. Would definitely recommend - have done already in fact.

Room Tip: Room 251 was near ours. Ours was really nice but that one looked wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieT612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Property: Hotel Celebrity
Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef and his brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing