We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, you get what you pay for!”
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We recently booked our wedding reception at the hotel, and a week before the event we were informed there was to be a 21st birthday/Halloween party held in the other function room. At first we felt disappointed and disenchanted that these two events could be held at the same venue. But upon raising these concerns with the manger and owner, our concerns were talked over and we left feeling content that all would be fine. On the night of the event, sure enough every thing went smoothly , the staff were great behind the bar and roberto was very professional, friendly and made quite an impression on some of our friends. The music was stopped at 1230 . There was squeeky floor boards , yes! But the hotel also has history , and to be fair this did not bother us! The room we stayed in was good and we were happy with it! And when we came out in the morning the cleaners were out in the morning and we were met with fresh fragences! Breakfast was good , but for friends to join us for breakfast it was a little expensive. All in all the hotel was ideal for what we required!! You get what you pay for .

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinnydepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,188 - 1,194 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed 1 night as we were passing through. A very pleasant hotel to stay in. The staff are friendly, always smiling when you speak to them. The rooms are clean and tidy and have sufficient space for all your needs. The breakfast was blimming marvelous, with a choice of both Full English or continental. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My boyfriend and myself were visiting Bournemouth for a little break. The first couple of days stayed at the Premier Inn. Decided to stay another night so booked into the Celebrity Hotel. Believe me, there was nothing Celebrity about it. We checked into room 255. It was freezing cold and very small, my boyfiend put the kettle on while the tv was on, and it blew the electrics, so we had no sockets working. We reported this to reception, the owner said he'd have a look. We went out without having a shower and getting ready which totally spoilt the night. Upon our return we were told the electrics couldn't be repaired so we were put in a family room. Two single beds pushed together,when we booked on the comp, this is what we requested we didn't want. We also seen bed bug marks on the sheets. The tv didn't work so the lady on reception had to come up and mess with it until she got it working. We arrived at the hotel 2.10pm, we were told to wait until 3pm. upon departing the hotel they were on the telephone at 11.04pm. The whole hotel was shabby and grubby. I certainly will not be returning to the 'celebbrity Hotel'.....in fact I seriously think they should change the name.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank angelface77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

we booked a double room here at the last minute for a very good price including breakfast. we were greeted warmly and our room was perfect-no faults at all.a bit small and bit of a walk to the room,but you get what you pay for.breakfast was lovely..sausages,eggs,mushrooms,toast etc..blimming lovely :) not too far from the beach,some people have said its only 5 mins to the main strip..but i'd say its more like 15 (and i aint a slow joe) we would definately stay here again! :D

Room Tip: say your pregnant and need a room close to the entrance.. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2006simara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I spent quite a while looking at various B&B's and hotels in Bournemouth and Christchurch. Most of the B&B's were coming in at around £60 per night based on 2 people sharing a double room from Thursday to Saturday, and a lot of these were a little chintzy looking.

Eventually, I stumbled across Hotel Celebrity; it seemed quite fresh, clean and modern from the photos (though I didn't put too much trust in them being truly representive!). 2 nights came in at a little over £100 through a third party website (the price was 50% higher using their own website!).

The hotel was easy to find - a convenient central location about a 4-5 minute walk from the main 'strip' - far enough away so that there were no problems with noise from the centre. It was also just a 4-5 minute walk from the beach - superb!

Free parking was provided for residents in a modest car park (which did fill up whilst I was there at the very end of the summer season).

First impressions on entering the lobby were that it looked tidy and clean, perhaps in need of a little attention in places (several false roof panels were missing above the reception desk although it seemed that there were works on going). Beyond the reception area was a large lounge room (named the 'Sherlock Holmes Lounge'!) behind a beautiful set of art deco wooden doors and furnished with antique style bureaus, tables and bookcases, and leather sofas. The receptionist was courteous and helpful; she checked me into my room; told me about the meal times and geve me the free Wi-Fi info. She advised that I should have Wi-Fi coverage in my 2nd floor room.

The corridors were a tiny bit dated looking but the room, when I entered it, was a pleasant surprise; reflective of the photos on their website: quite modern, clean, not too busy, decorated in creams, browns and bamboo greens. My room wasn't very large, but ample for me. Double bed, large flat screen TV, usual furniture and two tall back chairs with still sufficient room to change.

The bathroom was, again, clean, quite modern and uncluttered, decorated in creamy textured tiles. There was no bath, only a shower cubicle (no problem for me). Fresh white towels and bathmat provided.

My only niggles with the room were that there was no Wi-Fi - I could see the access point but couldn't connect, although was able to connect in the reception - perhaps a problem with their range extenders? Also: the view from my room - a brick wall! It wasn't a problem for me but I'd advise anyone booking to stipulate accordingly if they don't want the same view that I enjoyed!

Breakfast was superb; served in a large, bright dining hall with contemporary furnishing and two large flat screen TV's on one wall with breakfast TV/news showing. The breakfast selection was excellent: buffet style with all the usual full English constituents, as well as a good continental selection, fruit, hot drinks and plenty of fruit juices.

There was a lovely evening dining hall adjacent to the breakfast hall; furnished in a similar, classic style to the ‘Sherlock Holmes Lounge', though I didn't try an evening meal in the hotel (the menu looked quite reasonable though - a nice classic selection with 3 courses costing between £20 - £30).

There was also a 'jazzy' looking, large bar, decorated in a kind of Hollywood diner/pop art style, with heavy emphasis on the 'Celebrity' theme. Again; I didn't spend any time in the bar, so can't comment on service, etc.

Overall: a great stay, very comfortable, lovely breakfast and great location. I'd definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abacus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed at the hotel for a couple nights was a bit concerned about some of the reviews but the hotel was fine clean and tidy close to both the beach and the town and the staff were very friendly .Breakfast was help yourselves which was cereals and full English and fresh juices tea and coffee ,nice relaxing bar in the hotel, a couple of outside patio areas if you wished to sit outside which we did because the weather was gorgeous and a nice comfy lounge we did not use the restaurant but it was reasonably priced and was waitress service all in all a nice place to stay for a short break and close to all the amenities of Bournemouth

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gib186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel 3 nites in Sept 2011 and were surprised by the closeness of the beach and downtown Bournemouth. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel has a great history behind it and they took the time to put out pamphlets and displays describing the history.

The room was good for the price and the staff was superb! They went out of their way to help us whenever we had questions. The only thing we can "complain" about is that the internet access, while great in the bar area, was not accessible anywhere else. For us, it was a matter of wanting to Skype with family and not having the privacy to do so. Also, as with any hotel in England, parking is an issue if you leave early in the day and come back later in the evening. However, the staff did help us out on that occasion by letting us double-park and calling us when a space came open. This hotel is also known for it's great meals and people come from other places just for the restaurant, hence part of the parking problem? We can vouch for the meals, they were VERY good! None of these issues would keep us from going back, in fact, if we return to Bournemouth, we would definitely stay there again! Thanks to the staff at the Celebrity, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfoster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £27 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef and his brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing