We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Celebrity
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Orchid Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Green House(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Piccadilly(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Mayfair Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Burley Court Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miramar(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,315)
Filter reviews
1,315 results
Traveller rating
479
482
205
79
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
482
205
79
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssherlock holmesdavid bowiequirky hotelhotel inspectorcar parkrefurbished roomself servicefried breadexcellent value for moneybuffet stylesqueaky floorboardsbit datedincluding breakfastwould stay againcooked breakfasttown centrecomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,169 - 1,174 of 1,315 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My boyfriend and I were en route to Worth Matravers for a wedding and booked a 2 night stay here over the weekend.We arrived and were greeted at the front desk by friendly staff,who presented us with a voucher for 20% off drinks at the bar,our guaranteed parking spot and the key to our room,which was all ready for us(no waiting for it 'to be ready').
Although the hotel isn't glam from the outside nor in the corridors,our room, (253)was spotlessly clean.spacious and well appointed.The bed was large and comfy,plenty of lighting,wardrobes,cupboards,mirrors,flat screen tv,hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilites-.The bathroom was also scrupulously clean and a good size,with a lovely shower,plenty of hot water and towels.Everything was as it was promised-apart from sea views from the windows...although,to be honest,one wants to be more or less out and about-perhaps by the sea and not gazing for hours from the hotel window...and you are only a short walk from the sea,restaurants,bars etc so this hotel is perfectly situated.
The staff(front desk,bar,restaurant and chamber maids) were all really friendly and hardworking.The bar staff was working late at night and then were serving us at breakfast,smiling and attentive.There was plenty of choice for what to eat at breakfast-and although there weren't waffles or pancakes(how many places have that!),you could eat as much as you would like of everything on offer.
The overall experience was excellent value for money and quite enjoyable...if you want a clean,spacious room,in a convenient,safe location,with a lively yet relaxed atmosphere and a good breakfast in the morning to set you up for the day-Celebrity is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Where to start! Room was very basic and decor was tatty around the edges. We were in room 103 and it felt like an oven, they even provided a powerful fan to try and keep it cool but to no avail. Beds really unconfortable, so left feeling less than relaxed. Had an ancient TV and digibox, which took a while to master but staff happy to help. Hotel generally lacked any atmosphere, bar area looked nice but not even any background music to break the ice. Hotel Celebrity get me out here.... End on a positive note - breakfast was pretty good vfm.

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the west side of the building.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Difficult review to respond to.....our bedrooms aren't airconditioned - but at budget 3 star prices whose are.....if it is hot outside open a window. Our beds were all...and I do mean all...replaced with new beds early this year...so these clients had a new bed to sleep in. The mattresses on these beds are slightly firmer than many domestic beds that have 'aged' somewhat but I sleep on the same mattress. We are half way through replacing all tv's with new 32" flatscreens and it is a fair comment that until we finish (end August) the remaining older tvs with freeview box aren't the easiest to master with a dual use remote. We have tv's in our bars and lounges not background music...some like this idea some don't. We continue to provide a lower priced 3 star budget accommodation to people on a budget who find great value for money beats a high price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Went to Torquay for 5 days and decided to take a look at Bournemouth on the way home as we had not been before . We booked in at the Hotel Celebrity formerly called Quality Hotel for 2 nights , 10th & 11th July . No wonder they changed the name ! When you arrive at reception , directly in front of you is what I believe to be a function suite , which on taking a closer look , is very nice , so we were looking forward to our stay if the same standards were afforded to the other rooms . We duly went to our allocated room , and did an about turn , got a refund and left within 5 minutes after getting a refund . We have recently been touring and stayed in quite a few hotels and this is the worst ! The room was shabby , and needed decorating . The bed was falling apart and had seen better days . The carpet had stains all over it and it stank of an overwhelming aroma of shake and vac to try and mask the smell . Then to the bathroom , fittings hanging off the wall and black mould growing everywhere , and the toilet hadn't seen a loo brush for decades . The guy on the desk was very proud of the fact that there was a 24 hour bar , shame that pride didn't extend to the rooms . We went outside , sat in the car , and booked another hotel 200 yards down the road which was a veritable palace in comparison . Cheap but certainly not cheerful . STAY AWAY !!!! Would like to give this hotel a minus rating but unfortunately trip advisers rating scale doesn't allow you to submit report unless you give at least 1 !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trevn16middleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

The reviewer has really gone to town on dumping on our hotel. Much of what was said is very ott and not accurate. What is accurate is that we have a policy that if a guest on arrival doesn't like, (for whatever reason), our hotel we provide a full immediate refund. Which is what happened in this case. When someone goes ott you really have to take the review with a pinch of salt particularly as in this case it is so out of tune with what others have written.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Ok - so its cheap - I understand that - I had room 252 - one of the upgraded rooms with my partner ( gay couple) just felt like we were being stared at and dismissed by the foreign staff - not gay friendly at all - we felt like second class clients - beneath them - not recommended for gay couples at all

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

This review was very frustrating. It is a criminal offence to discrimate on the basis stated. The reviewer didn't raise this issue with any manager, (including one of two gay managers who have worked at the hotel for years), or myself. So we have no idea who they were and who the member of staff was. We don't discrimate on any basis. As well as gay senior staff we also have every Friday/Saturday a drag/dinner/cabaret show widely advertised both in and outside the hotel, (Rubyz) and have had several same sex couple wedding celebrations. This is the first time concerns of this nature have been raised - very frustrating that the reviewer chose not to contact us with full details so we could investigate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We booked this hotel for a short break in Bournemouth following a week in Jersey. After seeing the photos on the web we thought that this would be good value for money, however on our arrival we were very disappointed.

Although we accept that not all rooms have been refurbished, the one that we were offered fell well below the standard that we expect from a hotel that is rated at 3 stars by at least three websites. The room appeared to be clean however the decor was very dated and the overall feel was shabby and run down.

We felt quite mislead by the hotel's website and the careful selection of photos showing only rooms that have been refurbished. Ultimately we chose not to stay and travel home instead. In fairness we were given a full refund and the staff we dealt with were very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Must ask for a refurbished room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gooner_and_Fudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Our own website is a pretty simple affair consisting of little more than one page. There is an agency who sets up their marketing with what appears to be genuine hotel website - but there is no connection between the hotels they set up these websites for and this agency so we have no control over what they show. We are a budget 3 star hotel with a mix of upgraded and dated rooms, but all are clean, our prices reflect what we offer. We are usually very busy as, in general, we have clients who, for the money, are happy with what they receive. When, as in this case, someone arrives at hotel and isn't happy, as in this case, we immediately refund their money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews