We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but basic”
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean but basic”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The rooms are very basic but they are clean. The housekeeper came in everyday and changed towels etc... The location is fantastic, it's practically on the beach and only a short walk into the town centre. The breakfast was good but I would of liked more fruit on offer. On the Friday & Saturday the hotel has party or themed nights which go on to the early hours of the morning and I could hear the music even though I was on the second floor which kept me up most of the night. As my stay was for work it was ok and value for money but I would not stay here for a break away.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coldfoot80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Great but basic clean rooms with some refurbished isn't an unfair description, but why not add that every room, (except 3 single rooms which have smaller flat screen tv's), have new 32" flat screen tv's in.

We do have functions at weekends which end at between midnight and 12.30 am so to say 'kept up most of the night' is a bit over the top. But we do ask particularly families to book direct with the hotel rather than via an agent so they can discuss their needs with us and we can make sure they are placed in a quiet part of the hotel. The worst is 'last minute' agency family bookings where we have very little latitude. We do place an IMPORTANT NOTICE in large type on agency sites noting we do have functions at weekends so families can phone us to make sure they are allocated a quiet room.

Trouble is it is so easy to book via an agency that people forget that if you phone direct you will get a better service as our reception staff will be able to identify exactly what your requirements are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    440
    186
    72
    64
See reviews for
205
541
84
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex London
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just arrived home from a stay at Hotel Celebrity with my husband and friends...we could not fault this hotel at all....the staff were happy, polite and friendly for the duration of our stay. They were very helpful with all of our enquiries, even in recommending local places of interest for us to visit. The room which we stayed in was spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable and the buffet breakfast in particular, was delicious!!.....Thank you Hotel Celebrity and all of your staff for making our stay enjoyable, we shall most definately recommend you and be staying with you again in the near future. Jenny and Terry from Essex

Room Tip: Room 252 was faultless in our opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Nice to read such a pleasant review that compliments us particularly on our staff. It is a fact of life that you pay what you get for and our reception and other staff are reasonably well paid, better than the chain hotels where the minimum wage figures so prominently in their pay grades.

Our aim is to provide clean rooms, good food, great staff experience all at a 3 star budget price so that we win from the 'repeat business' that such a visit experience generates. We are, as a result, pretty full much of the time. Key tip if you are a leisure visitor start with us on a Sunday. You miss the higher rates that apply at weekends, (Sunday is our cheapest night of the week), and can dine at leisure on our menu which is very good for the prices we charge. (My wife is Head Chef and this is very much a family business - she is a great cook and that is reflected in the quality of food we offer.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Booked a double room last minute even if reviews were not great, and OMG we were surprised!!!
We were greeted by a friendly and cheerful receptionist who checked us in even if we were early, she was very knowledgeable of the local amenities and checked us in giving all the info needed.
We took advantage of their dinner offer and had a 2-course meal for only £13.50 each and that includes your coffee AND a glass of wine, what a bargain!!!
The waiter who served us was very polite and helpful and the food was just delicious.
The bar is very modern and stylish, not a typical hotel's bar...my girlfriend fell in love with this room so we stayed there and didn't even go out.
Our double en-suite bedroom was clean and comfortable and our bed was top quality.
The breakfast was just perfect, hot and freshly cooked, buffet style, eat as much as you like!
I asked the friendly waitress if I could get a strong coffee and she came back after seconds with a pot in her hands!!!
We are really impressed with the standard of service and friendliness of staff.
Keep up the good work...we will see you again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Gosh, what a great review. We do have fantastic staff, that is the key to our family business. Some of our rooms await refurbishment but all are clean, (book direct and early so you can ask for and get one of the refurbished celebrity themed bedrooms), our food is good, (my wife is Head Chef and has created a good very well priced menu), the location is amongst the best, close to town, the seafront and the bus and railway station. Above all we aim to be a very well priced, (in the budget 3 star range), hotel where we don't sacrifice quality of delivery. Clients who book direct with us enjoy the benefit of discounts on food and drink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Really dont know how to sum this hotel up in one word but the closest word would be 'Dreadful' totally poor staff service and thr rooms!? where to start? it was dirty, staines all over the carpet, piping, dampness, wall paper was falling off, DOOR WOULDNT LOCK PROPERLY!, was very hot, lumpy bed, TV didnt work, Fan didnt work. (basically we didnt sleep)
The bar looked like a swingers/strippers club.
Very Very Tacky place.
And to top it all of they had posters of the 'HOTEL GHOSTS' they go into huge detail about some of the encounters some of the previous guests have had with their ghosts. Why would a hotel have this? its not the best selling point is it?
Overall we had the worst stay here so we got our money back and moved we couldnt bare to stay one more night in this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ashleigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
The real issue with this client is that they didn't like our 'ghost story'. The hotel is built over a house which was one of the first built in Bournemouth. There is a well documented history of the ghost of a young girl dating back to the 1880's - it has even featured in a TV documentary. The story is written up with copies for people to take away. Over 1200 clients have taken a copy since it first went on display some 15 months ago. For the record all our beds were replaced within the last 18 months with good quality beds. All tv's are 32" flat screen freeview tv's except 3 single bedrooms where the tv's are 19"-26" flat screen freeview tv's.

This rather ott review ends 'we got our money back'. We have a simple policy that if on check in a client doesn't like the hotel for any reason we will refund any payment made. Not many hotels do this - the last time my wife and I stayed in London we didn't like the hotel we had been booked into and were refused any refund even though we had not, at that time, even gone to the room. We can afford to do this as clients appreciate we are a budget 3 star hotel with great rates, we operate as a clean hotel with great food and great staff, some of the bedrooms are dated but some refurbished and so clients are well satisfied with their stay and the value for money they have received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london,uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My boyfriend and I were en route to Worth Matravers for a wedding and booked a 2 night stay here over the weekend.We arrived and were greeted at the front desk by friendly staff,who presented us with a voucher for 20% off drinks at the bar,our guaranteed parking spot and the key to our room,which was all ready for us(no waiting for it 'to be ready').
Although the hotel isn't glam from the outside nor in the corridors,our room, (253)was spotlessly clean.spacious and well appointed.The bed was large and comfy,plenty of lighting,wardrobes,cupboards,mirrors,flat screen tv,hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilites-.The bathroom was also scrupulously clean and a good size,with a lovely shower,plenty of hot water and towels.Everything was as it was promised-apart from sea views from the windows...although,to be honest,one wants to be more or less out and about-perhaps by the sea and not gazing for hours from the hotel window...and you are only a short walk from the sea,restaurants,bars etc so this hotel is perfectly situated.
The staff(front desk,bar,restaurant and chamber maids) were all really friendly and hardworking.The bar staff was working late at night and then were serving us at breakfast,smiling and attentive.There was plenty of choice for what to eat at breakfast-and although there weren't waffles or pancakes(how many places have that!),you could eat as much as you would like of everything on offer.
The overall experience was excellent value for money and quite enjoyable...if you want a clean,spacious room,in a convenient,safe location,with a lively yet relaxed atmosphere and a good breakfast in the morning to set you up for the day-Celebrity is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Where to start! Room was very basic and decor was tatty around the edges. We were in room 103 and it felt like an oven, they even provided a powerful fan to try and keep it cool but to no avail. Beds really unconfortable, so left feeling less than relaxed. Had an ancient TV and digibox, which took a while to master but staff happy to help. Hotel generally lacked any atmosphere, bar area looked nice but not even any background music to break the ice. Hotel Celebrity get me out here.... End on a positive note - breakfast was pretty good vfm.

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the west side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Difficult review to respond to.....our bedrooms aren't airconditioned - but at budget 3 star prices whose are.....if it is hot outside open a window. Our beds were all...and I do mean all...replaced with new beds early this year...so these clients had a new bed to sleep in. The mattresses on these beds are slightly firmer than many domestic beds that have 'aged' somewhat but I sleep on the same mattress. We are half way through replacing all tv's with new 32" flatscreens and it is a fair comment that until we finish (end August) the remaining older tvs with freeview box aren't the easiest to master with a dual use remote. We have tv's in our bars and lounges not background music...some like this idea some don't. We continue to provide a lower priced 3 star budget accommodation to people on a budget who find great value for money beats a high price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln / uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Went to Torquay for 5 days and decided to take a look at Bournemouth on the way home as we had not been before . We booked in at the Hotel Celebrity formerly called Quality Hotel for 2 nights , 10th & 11th July . No wonder they changed the name ! When you arrive at reception , directly in front of you is what I believe to be a function suite , which on taking a closer look , is very nice , so we were looking forward to our stay if the same standards were afforded to the other rooms . We duly went to our allocated room , and did an about turn , got a refund and left within 5 minutes after getting a refund . We have recently been touring and stayed in quite a few hotels and this is the worst ! The room was shabby , and needed decorating . The bed was falling apart and had seen better days . The carpet had stains all over it and it stank of an overwhelming aroma of shake and vac to try and mask the smell . Then to the bathroom , fittings hanging off the wall and black mould growing everywhere , and the toilet hadn't seen a loo brush for decades . The guy on the desk was very proud of the fact that there was a 24 hour bar , shame that pride didn't extend to the rooms . We went outside , sat in the car , and booked another hotel 200 yards down the road which was a veritable palace in comparison . Cheap but certainly not cheerful . STAY AWAY !!!! Would like to give this hotel a minus rating but unfortunately trip advisers rating scale doesn't allow you to submit report unless you give at least 1 !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trevn16middleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
The reviewer has really gone to town on dumping on our hotel. Much of what was said is very ott and not accurate. What is accurate is that we have a policy that if a guest on arrival doesn't like, (for whatever reason), our hotel we provide a full immediate refund. Which is what happened in this case. When someone goes ott you really have to take the review with a pinch of salt particularly as in this case it is so out of tune with what others have written.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Property: Hotel Celebrity
Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef and his brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing