We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Celebrity
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Orchid Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Green House(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Piccadilly(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Mayfair Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Burley Court Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miramar(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,316)
Filter reviews
1,316 results
Traveller rating
479
482
206
79
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
482
206
79
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssherlock holmesdavid bowiequirky hotelhotel inspectorcar parkrefurbished roomself servicefried breadexcellent value for moneybuffet stylesqueaky floorboardsbit datedincluding breakfastwould stay againcooked breakfasttown centrecomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
946 - 951 of 1,316 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked this hotel based on our last stay a couple years ago. Once again, it does not disappoint. The staff this time however, didn't seem as friendly as last time. However, our room was great and they must have improved the wifi as this time we had no issues connecting! On our last stay we learned it was haunted and now, I can tell you from personal experience, it IS! Both nights, our TV woke me up in the middle of the night with the on/off light flashing very brightly! It was AWESOME!!! I was so hoping for that, that it made my stay even better! We will visit again as this hotel has a lot of history and is very centrally located to walk to the beach, town, really anywhere in Bournemouth you want to go. Thanks Celebrity for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfoster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear jfoster4,
Thank you for your comments and for coming back to us!
I'm glad to know that, as a return visit, you were not disappointed and noticed the improvements with the wifi among others and it's great to know you will come back for your next stay in Bournemouth!
I'm sorry to hear you found the staff less friendly than last time, we are generally a genuine, friendly, helpful, happy bunch....and the great majority of the staff is the same as last year, thank you for your comment though, it is a great reminder that, however good things are, there is always room for improvement.
Thank you again from everybody at Hotel Celebrity.....included Nell, the Hotel Ghost
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel Celebrity in August. The room we were given was huge . The 3 beds were all very comfortable and the room was spotless. As we were on the top floor we had no problem with creaking floorboards as other people have reported, however the people in the room below us may disagree! The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Breakfast was good and we had dinner in the restaurant one night which was very nice. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grierson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you Grierson123 for your lovely review!
It's great to know you had an "Excellent stay" and we all hope to welcome you again in the near future for another one. We are constantly improving our rooms and we are in the process of changing and fixing all floorboards.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. Cannot comment on evening meal as we didn't try the restaurant. The birdcage bar was pleasant and we enjoyed a drink in there on one occasion.
The public rooms on the ground floor are well presented and it was nice to have several rooms to choose from if you wanted a change to your bedroom. I understand that the bedrooms are being renovated and when completed the hotel will be of a very high standard. The room we stayed in was clean and had the biggest bed my husband and I have ever seen. The room was tired and the ensuite had a slight musty smell. Nothing too unpleasant and certainly not worth complaining about.
It was a little noisy on the Saturday evening as a function was taking place. All was quiet by midnight so it did not keep us awake and we were directly above the function room.
The hotel was value for money and handy for the University and the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menorcabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear menorcabound,
Thank you very much for your feed-back.
It's great to know you found to Hotel to be good value and that you had a great 5 star sleep in our lovely, comfy, huge bed! Our rooms are very clean, as are the public areas and this is recognised by all our guests, I am aware that the room you stayed in was in need of a refurb and, as we don't believe in quick 60 minute make overs, we have put the room off for more than a week and it will be ready in the next few days! The bedroom will be dedicated to Tina Turner and will join the list of Celebrities that already inhabits the Hotel!
I'm glad to hear that even being directly abore the function room the music from the party did not disturb you and had a great sleep. We are a popular party venue over the week-ends (weddings, birthdays, charity nights) and we do our very best to make sure this does not disrupt our guests.
Thank you again,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed in room 256 overlooked the car park. Pictures attached. A very clean and nice room, well decorated and furnished. The room had a a folder with information for the guests. The bathroom had a good power shower and heated towel rail with a plentiful supply of hair and shower and hand wash in pump action bottles. This room is at the end of a wing and although near to the road there was little noise and did not interfer with sleep. There was a party going on one night but we didn't notice any noise which was pleasantly suprising. Breakfast between 7:00-9.30 weekdays and 8-10 at weekends and bank hols. Breakfast were nicely cooked and very enjoyable in a bright room. We ate in the Sherlock Holmes Restaurant one night; a two course meal for £13.95. A 3-course meal is £16.95. A complementary glass of wine or beer was provided. Food was very good. A feature of the hotel is that the walls have lots of pictures of Celebrities. Ours room was the Johnny Cash room. Hotel staff were very friendly, nothing too much trouble. The hotel literature states that about half the rooms have been refurbishd and is ongoing. Nice to see that pets are welcome. There is a free taxi phone at the entrance. Local map at reception where you can also get a hairdryer, iron and ironing board if required. The hairdryer I used was very good like professionals use. We took a train from the station and this cost about £4. There is a bus stop at the end of the road with a good bus service. A petrol station also at the end of the road which sells newspapers although you can also get these from reception. Had a great stay. We also got a 10% voucher for drinks for the duration of our stay. All in all I would stay here again. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: See the above which says it all.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nighthawk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear nighthawk60,
Thank you very much for your lovely, detailed review.
I'm glad to know you had a very enjoyable stay. Cleanliness, comfort, good value are our priorities and your feed-back seems to underline all the aspects we invest our resources on!
Our housekeeping staff take pride in what they do, together with our chefs, front of house and restaurant team and your appreciation is ever so important to all of us!
Thank you for your lovely pictures and we all look forward to welcoming you again!
It's great to know you enjoyed our Johnny Cash room, if you fancy a change for your next stay, just let us know, there's plenty more stars to choose from (David Bowie, Bruce Springsteen, Cher, Tina Turner, Elvis Presley, Frank Sinatra, Dolly Parton.....) and so many more to come very shortly!!!
Book direct and get to chose your Celebrity and enjoy a 20% discount card off all drinks for the duration of your stay!
Thank you again,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very welcoming hotel, pleasant and helpful staff. Nice size double room overlooking the garden which was extremely clean. Great location as near to pier, shops and restaurants. Thoroughly enjoyed our cooked breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessy045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you 1972jay for you kind review!
We are glad you had a great stay and we all look forward to welcoming you again for another lovely experience at Hotel Celebrity.
Kind regards,
Roberto Snbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews