We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely week” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Celebrity 15th September to 20th. Reception was very good. Room on first floor as we had asked for. Room was very clean and plenty of space. Breakfast was good help yourself. Home from home. Would recommend it. Easy parking.

Room Tip: We had room 112 very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you JOHN C for your kind feed-back!
We are very glad you had a "lovely week" at Hotel Celebrity and you found, with us, a home from home!
We all hope to see you again soon......Book direct with the hotel so we can make sure you are given the same lovely room and we will reward you with a 20% off all drinks tha you can enjoy in our lovely bars!!!
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    412
    171
    65
    59
See reviews for
196
499
79
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights from September 18. Agree with many other reviewers that the staff were exceptionally friendly and the room very clean. Breakfast was ok but hotel needs to make it clear that other forms of cooked breakfast rather than fry ups are available on request like poached/boiled eggs etc. Discount voucher of 10% for bar drinks is a nice touch for an already fair price list for a hotel.

Unfortunately for the hotel its location is not the sleepy side street it appears on first arrival. We were at the front of the hotel and traffic noise and late night reveller noise were quite bad.

The small, inexpensive improvements: a hook on the back of the bathroom door - there is nowhere to hang any change of clothes; our room did not have either an outside handle or knob so the door had to be slammed slightly to close it so inevitably disturbing neighbouring guests. On returning to our room one late afternoon we were shocked to find that the picture previously on the wall had been replaced with 5 large photos of Dolly Parton! A strange thing to do in mid booking!

Overall the hotel offers reasonable value for money - that cannot be denied but with just a little more effort could be rated above average

Room Tip: If you are a big Dolly Parton fan room 255 is for you! Try to get a room at the back to obviate stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 517Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear 517Knight,
Thank you for your review and suggestions, they are ever so important to us!
I'm glad to know your room was very clean, like all our rooms, that the staff were exceptianally friendly and that you ended your comments by commenting on the undeniable value for money we offer!
I'm sorry to hear you were disturbed by the traffic noise, the area is generally very quiet.
Thank you for your suggestions, they have been passed on to our maintenance department and will be implemented!
Thank you again for your constructive comments,
Roberto Snbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, KY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked this hotel based on our last stay a couple years ago. Once again, it does not disappoint. The staff this time however, didn't seem as friendly as last time. However, our room was great and they must have improved the wifi as this time we had no issues connecting! On our last stay we learned it was haunted and now, I can tell you from personal experience, it IS! Both nights, our TV woke me up in the middle of the night with the on/off light flashing very brightly! It was AWESOME!!! I was so hoping for that, that it made my stay even better! We will visit again as this hotel has a lot of history and is very centrally located to walk to the beach, town, really anywhere in Bournemouth you want to go. Thanks Celebrity for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear jfoster4,
Thank you for your comments and for coming back to us!
I'm glad to know that, as a return visit, you were not disappointed and noticed the improvements with the wifi among others and it's great to know you will come back for your next stay in Bournemouth!
I'm sorry to hear you found the staff less friendly than last time, we are generally a genuine, friendly, helpful, happy bunch....and the great majority of the staff is the same as last year, thank you for your comment though, it is a great reminder that, however good things are, there is always room for improvement.
Thank you again from everybody at Hotel Celebrity.....included Nell, the Hotel Ghost
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel Celebrity in August. The room we were given was huge . The 3 beds were all very comfortable and the room was spotless. As we were on the top floor we had no problem with creaking floorboards as other people have reported, however the people in the room below us may disagree! The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Breakfast was good and we had dinner in the restaurant one night which was very nice. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grierson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you Grierson123 for your lovely review!
It's great to know you had an "Excellent stay" and we all hope to welcome you again in the near future for another one. We are constantly improving our rooms and we are in the process of changing and fixing all floorboards.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. Cannot comment on evening meal as we didn't try the restaurant. The birdcage bar was pleasant and we enjoyed a drink in there on one occasion.
The public rooms on the ground floor are well presented and it was nice to have several rooms to choose from if you wanted a change to your bedroom. I understand that the bedrooms are being renovated and when completed the hotel will be of a very high standard. The room we stayed in was clean and had the biggest bed my husband and I have ever seen. The room was tired and the ensuite had a slight musty smell. Nothing too unpleasant and certainly not worth complaining about.
It was a little noisy on the Saturday evening as a function was taking place. All was quiet by midnight so it did not keep us awake and we were directly above the function room.
The hotel was value for money and handy for the University and the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank menorcabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear menorcabound,
Thank you very much for your feed-back.
It's great to know you found to Hotel to be good value and that you had a great 5 star sleep in our lovely, comfy, huge bed! Our rooms are very clean, as are the public areas and this is recognised by all our guests, I am aware that the room you stayed in was in need of a refurb and, as we don't believe in quick 60 minute make overs, we have put the room off for more than a week and it will be ready in the next few days! The bedroom will be dedicated to Tina Turner and will join the list of Celebrities that already inhabits the Hotel!
I'm glad to hear that even being directly abore the function room the music from the party did not disturb you and had a great sleep. We are a popular party venue over the week-ends (weddings, birthdays, charity nights) and we do our very best to make sure this does not disrupt our guests.
Thank you again,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed in room 256 overlooked the car park. Pictures attached. A very clean and nice room, well decorated and furnished. The room had a a folder with information for the guests. The bathroom had a good power shower and heated towel rail with a plentiful supply of hair and shower and hand wash in pump action bottles. This room is at the end of a wing and although near to the road there was little noise and did not interfer with sleep. There was a party going on one night but we didn't notice any noise which was pleasantly suprising. Breakfast between 7:00-9.30 weekdays and 8-10 at weekends and bank hols. Breakfast were nicely cooked and very enjoyable in a bright room. We ate in the Sherlock Holmes Restaurant one night; a two course meal for £13.95. A 3-course meal is £16.95. A complementary glass of wine or beer was provided. Food was very good. A feature of the hotel is that the walls have lots of pictures of Celebrities. Ours room was the Johnny Cash room. Hotel staff were very friendly, nothing too much trouble. The hotel literature states that about half the rooms have been refurbishd and is ongoing. Nice to see that pets are welcome. There is a free taxi phone at the entrance. Local map at reception where you can also get a hairdryer, iron and ironing board if required. The hairdryer I used was very good like professionals use. We took a train from the station and this cost about £4. There is a bus stop at the end of the road with a good bus service. A petrol station also at the end of the road which sells newspapers although you can also get these from reception. Had a great stay. We also got a 10% voucher for drinks for the duration of our stay. All in all I would stay here again. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: See the above which says it all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nighthawk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear nighthawk60,
Thank you very much for your lovely, detailed review.
I'm glad to know you had a very enjoyable stay. Cleanliness, comfort, good value are our priorities and your feed-back seems to underline all the aspects we invest our resources on!
Our housekeeping staff take pride in what they do, together with our chefs, front of house and restaurant team and your appreciation is ever so important to all of us!
Thank you for your lovely pictures and we all look forward to welcoming you again!
It's great to know you enjoyed our Johnny Cash room, if you fancy a change for your next stay, just let us know, there's plenty more stars to choose from (David Bowie, Bruce Springsteen, Cher, Tina Turner, Elvis Presley, Frank Sinatra, Dolly Parton.....) and so many more to come very shortly!!!
Book direct and get to chose your Celebrity and enjoy a 20% discount card off all drinks for the duration of your stay!
Thank you again,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very welcoming hotel, pleasant and helpful staff. Nice size double room overlooking the garden which was extremely clean. Great location as near to pier, shops and restaurants. Thoroughly enjoyed our cooked breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1972jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you 1972jay for you kind review!
We are glad you had a great stay and we all look forward to welcoming you again for another lovely experience at Hotel Celebrity.
Kind regards,
Roberto Snbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Property: Hotel Celebrity
Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef (Owner’s wife) and her brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing