We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Celebrity
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,333)
Filter reviews
1,333 results
Traveller rating
486
488
207
79
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
488
207
79
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssherlock holmesdavid bowiequirky hotelhotel inspectorcar parkrefurbished roomself servicefried breadexcellent value for moneybuffet stylesqueaky floorboardsbit datedincluding breakfastwould stay againcooked breakfasttown centrecomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
954 - 959 of 1,333 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This proved to be a fabulous place to stay, very quirky hotel with all the celebrity pictures around the hall, landing and each bedroom dedicated to someone different (ours was Tina Turner - wish it had been Patrick Swayze or Richard Gere!!). Hotel rooms are extremely clean, bathroom in our room lovely and clean, looked like part of a recent refurb - each floor going through a refurbishment programme, but that doesn't take anything away from it - rooms lovely and warm, compared to another review I'm going to make about our change of hotel on the last night (due to Celebrity being booked up with a coach party, otherwise I would have had no hesitation in staying there for our final night in Bournemouth!). Besides the bedrooms being so good, breakfast each morning was excellent, piping hot food (with hot plates, which to me is a bonus!), amply refreshed at regular intervals with more hot supplies when needed. Nothing too much trouble for the hotel staff. The bar area was excellent on a night time and stayed open as long as visitors wanted it to, (we, along with other friends we'd made during the course of our stay, had one or two late nights!!) thanks to Tim, he was star!! And bonus 20% off bar bill if you are staying there. Know Tim finished on Thursday, but hopefully whoever replaces him will be just as accommodating. No noise from the road, even though we was on the front. Not sure what else I can say other than, would recommend to anyone, good prices to stay, excellent food and not far from the centre of Bournemouth - will we be back? We most definitely will without a doubt :-)

Room Tip: Room 253 is Tina Turner!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Julie H,
Thank you for your lovely comment, a fabulous review for a fabulous place!
We are very happy you loved our quirky decor and found the hotel to your liking. Your room, dedicated to Tina Turner was already lovely, clean and warm and it will be soon even more fabulous as it is now being refurbished and will reopen this Friday with its new look!
Our own web site is now live and guests who book direct with the hotel can phone us and choose which themed room they prefer. Full details and list of celebrities will be available on the web site by the end of October!
Thank you again for your fantastic review, the bit we all prefer is the title itself, we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. We were greeted and booked in very nicely. All the staff really helpful and friendly. Cleanliness and food excellent. Large carpark with an overspill at the back. Loads of interesting things to see especially photographs of movie stars everywhere as well as artifacts belonging to Tony Hancock whose father owned the hotel at one time. Also there is a Sherlock Holmes exhibition in the dining room to say nothing of the ghost of a little girl. The only down side was the creaking floorboards with inconsiderate guests keeping us awake most of the night, thin walls in the bedroom so that we could hear next doors TV until 2.20 in the morning, then to cap it all a delivery lorry arrived in the carpark at 3.45. The bathroom was a bit tired but they are about to refurbish all the rooms. Don't be put off its a lovely hotel run by a really nice family. Very comfortable and in a good location. If you get a top floor room at the back, you have cracked it.

Room Tip: As stated, get a top floor room at the back.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear HappyLichfield,
Thank you for yet another great review, it is really appreciated!
We are all very happy to know you found the Hotel clean, friendly and with "loads of interesting things to see"....we have recently turned our once bare corridors into a bright and interesting gallery of celebrities and dedicated a larger display to the first Celebrity to inhabit the Hotel: Tony Hancock!
Apologies about the delivery lorry, we have contacted our supplier and arranged a more suitable time.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Recently had a private party here
A great night was had by all.All the staff very friendly and helpful
A special thanks to Roberto who organised the night.Nothing too much trouble
Will definitely use again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank elzorro8025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you VERY much, elzorro8025 for your lovely review.
It's always a pleasure helping our guests in making their celebrations worth remembering and I'm glad you had a "Great night"!!!
With our new special party offer, you get the 15% of the bar takings on the night back to you, up to the value of the room hire paid....most of our guests get ALL the money back and have their party for free!!!!!
We all hope to see you again and that life treats you well and give you lots and lots of reasons to celebrate!!!
Best wishes,
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Having read the varying reviews of other guests I would like to give my opinions.
The staff at this hotel were without exception brilliant. They went out of their way to help.
Our needs are different from the normal guest as my wife needs a wheelchair to get around, this means we can't just book online. The girl on reception listened to our needs and her detailed knowledge of the hotel meant that we were put in a room that was very suitable. We were also allocated a reserved accessible parking space to help with unloading the wheelchair.
The car park could do with being larger as all of the spaces were full every night, but there is on street parking. Access to the hotel is level from the car park, we had a room on the first floor which meant we had to use the lift for my wife's wheelchair. Everything apart from the bedrooms is on the ground floor and is accessible for a wheelchair.
We dined twice in the hotel restaurant and I have to say the meals were excellent.
Booking directly with the hotel has other advantages as you are eligible for a discount on food and drink.
The hotel is about 200 yards from the funicular lift on east cliff, this takes you down to the prom where you can walk for miles. Bournemouth's shopping centre is walkable from the hotel, but there are some hills so beware if you are pushing a wheelchair.

Room Tip: The hotel is a venue for weddings, parties etc. This means some noise at weekends so ask for a room away from it. The girls on the reception volunteered this information to us and we didn't hear a thing.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29-1-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear 29-1-13,
Thank you very much for your review!
I'm glad you found our staff brilliant, had an excellent dinner and you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
The hotel has two of the best accessible accommodation in town, designed to meet the needs of wheelchair users, and everytime we receive a booking for this particular rooms we reserve a car space, otherwise parking facilities are on first come, first served basis...but still free of charge.
As you mentioned all the Hotel facilities are accessible, so you are free to enjoy our bars, lounges and restaurant without restrictions!
We are a popular party venue on Saturday evenings, as the great majority of the Hotels in Bournemouth, we try our very best to make sure this does not interfere with our guests and it's thanks to the revenue generated from these parties that we manage to offer to all our guests comfortable, clean accommodation to VERY competitive prices!
Thank you again for your kind comments and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The working Staff are excellent, but a lot of the bedrooms are in need of refurbishment [we tried 3 different bedrooms on our stay of 4 nights! the first 2 were terrible] The breakfasts are good, with a fair selection to choose from.
The evening meals are good value @ £16.95 for 3 courses, but very, very, basic,and I had reason to return 2 evening meals, for being well overcooked and hard! The Decor in the
Dining Room and the Lounge Bar Areas is very nice ,and the Hotel is generally kept very clean.
The exterior of the hotel is in need of a little TLC,and first impressions it looks a little tacky.
[pinky red and cream? perhaps the red had faded?] Would I recommend it to a friend -- NO!!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room that has been done up, and book direct with the Hotel,otherwise the room you get will be rubbish !! But I wouldn't recommend staying at the Hotel anyway !!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Stu47L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

The gentleman who wrote this review sent me an email that started 'I had a hellish 8 hour journey to get to the hotel' as if in some way we were to blame for this journey. He kept asking to move room complaining about each room this and that didn't work but we found nothing wrong when we checked after he had moved to another room. He said in the email that he ate with a group of people who enjoyed their meal but he didn't enjoy his but didn't mention it because he didn't want to cause issues for the others he was eating with. (In this review he conflictingly said he sent food back twice - which he didn't). I would ask clients to read this review with a pinch of salt and notice just how far away it is from the other reviews we receive. It is frustrating when we went out of our way time and again to meet his requirements and the thanks we get is a review that is inaccurate and unreasonable in the extreme. Still that's life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews