We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for what I paid but not luxury”
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value for what I paid but not luxury”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I paid £35 for two with breakfast so I can't complain as I am use to higher standard but then I didn't want to pay more bring on business. The hotel needs updating and so do the rooms. The bathroom is 1980's and decor but the location is good and the rooms are spacious. The breakfast is adequate. Well recommended if you pay £35 but anything more there are better hotels around hear

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomiller1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you Jomiller1964 for your feed-back!
We appreciate that SOME of our bedrooms are in need of a refurbishment, and SOME of the en-suites are reminiscent of the 80's, but we do feel they still offer great value for money, being airy, spacious and spotlessly clean. All the public areas have been recently refurbished to high standards, so I'm not really sure what you mean when you state:"The hotel needs updating and so do the rooms". We are sorry you feel we offer good value only when the rooms are offered for a discounted rate and we hope you will give us another chance so we can change your opinion of us. Please, call us direct, if you wish to book again, and we will give you our very best rate and make sure you are given a nice room. As you are used to higher standards, you would definitely be very happy with our superior rooms that offer comfort and style for very reasonable prices.
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    439
    186
    68
    63
See reviews for
204
538
83
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The staff were very friendly, the room was spotless with a really comfortable bed. The evening meal was good value for money which if booked in advance you got a free drink and there was plenty of food for breakfast. However the whole experience was ruined by the noise from two adjoining rooms which went on till 5am. We will not be returning .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Celia M,
Thank you very much for your review.
I'm ever so sorry to learn your stay was spoilt by the noise from the rooms next door to yours.
It is very sad and frustrating to know that you have no intention of returning despite all the positives aspect of your stay. Out night porter informed me it was a challenging night due to a group of lads but we thought we managed to keep them all downstairs to avoid noise in the bedrooms, please, accept our apologies if this was not the case.
We still hope you could change your mind and give us another chance. Give us a call and we will make sure you will be given a nice room, in a quiet area of the Hotel.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights and will certainly go back again. The hotel is in an ideal location within easy walking distance of the town and beach. We had a very clean comfortable room,overlooking the garden,with a good sized bathroom with bath and shower. Breakfast was great,plenty of choice and we also had dinner in the evening on 3 occasions and the food was delicious and very reasonably priced. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we had a very relaxing stay. It is certainly good value for money and we are looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor and overlooked the garden and so it was quiet and we slept well. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear John H,
A big, big thank you for your fantastic feed-back, it is really appreciated!
We are very happy to know you had an enjoyable, relaxing stay and that your room was very clean and comfortable.
It's great to know you made the most of our dinner offer and found our food delicious...many thanks from our Chef and her staff!!!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.....give us a call and we will make sure you get the best rate and the same room....unless you want to try one of our newly refurbished bedroom!!!!!
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My elderly parents and I stayed at this hotel at the end of Oct 2013. Although the hotel looks unimpressive from outside it is lovely inside. The staff were friendly and helpful. My parents room was fantastic with an Elvis theme, although the lighting was poor for older eyes. My room was a single at a great price. It was small but comfortable. A headboard on the bed would have been good because it was hard to sit up on the bed to watch TV and my pillows fell off the bed most nights! The pillows were a bit hard so my advice is to take your own. The rooms were very clean! Breakfast was good with a reasonable choice. The evening meal was great with good choice on the menu. Brilliant location close to town nd beach - reasonably quiet. The parking was a pain as I had to drive my elderly parents to places then could not park when I got back! This would have been ok if it was just me as I would probably have walked everywhere and left the car in a space! Or perhaps if the hotel encouraged more able people to park in their rear car park this may have eased the situation!

Room Tip: Single room on first floor - small but quiet. Room 117 was brilliant! Very good for older or disable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Annie2627,
Thank you very much for your feed-back!
We are very glad your parents had a comfortable stay in our fantastic accessible room dedicated to Elvis and ideal for wheelchair users and people less able to stand....and if you are not an Elvis fan and still need accessible facilities, we have our Frank Sinatra room with same standards and comfort! I'm sorry to hear you had some issues with our free car park. Our car park is on first come first served basis but we do reserve parking spaces for blue badge holders when informed in advance, and if you move your car afterwards, come to see us at reception and we hold the space for when you come back. Please, for your next visit, let us know and it will be a pleasure to reserve a space for your parents! Thank you for your comment on the single room, it has been passed on to our maintenance department!
We all hope to welcome you again soon,
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex england
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just stayed one night at the Hotel celebrity and enjoyed it, the room was old fashioned and has not been renovated yet,it was spotlessly clean and had free Wifi.tea and coffee and free parking.The bed was lovely and comfortable and the room was really warm,the floorboards were the creakiest Ive ever heard,especially in the room above.The staff were lovely and very helpful.The breakfast was lovely with a good choice of food.We would definately stay here again but would book a renovated room next time with quieter floor boards.It is in a good location with a little walk to the beach.The hotel theme was great with amazing pictures and art deco style areas .

Room Tip: Request a renovated room as the rooms are old fashioned with very creaky floorboards
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bensnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
THANK YOU bensnan for your lovely review!
We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Some of our rooms are still waiting to be refurbished, but as you mentioned, they are spotlessly clean. For your next stay with us, give us a call and we will upgrade you to a lovely, refurbished, modern room for just a small extra sum. From £10 you can upgrade to a newly refurbished room and have a great value experience!
Many thanks again,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed in November 2013 for one night with friends. This hotel is very clean, the rooms are big, the beds are comfy. The staff were friendly. This hotel is very good value for money as some other places I've stayed at in Bournemouth were definitley not upto the same standard (for the same price, or more!). It's just a short walk to the beach and shops and parking is free!

I cannot fault this hotel and we will be returning next time we come to Bournemouth. Would reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDJ1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear RDJ1990,
Thank you for your lovely comments, they mean a lot to all of us at Hotel Celebrity!
We are very glad you had a very good value for money experience and you found the hotel to be clean, spacious, comfortable and friendly!
We all hope to welcome you again very soon, perhaps for a longer break.
Please, give us a call and book direct for best rates and discount voucher!
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We picked this hotel from other good reviews we read on trip advisor, and most people are correct, we wanted a good reasobable priced hotel for a couple of nights as we were taking our little boy to see the James bond car exhibition at Beaulieu and we had never been to Bounemouth.

When we first arrived the reception staff were lovely and very helpful, the room was not ready, but it was not a problem we just left the car and went for a walk about. The room we had was not a refurburbed one but was clean and plenty of space, the public space that had been refurbed was lovely and my little boy loved all the pictures on the walls.

The Sunday night we were there was the night of the bad storms so we decided to eat in the hotel, the food was lovely, my only criticism is that there was only one member of staff waiting on! It took quite a while to to be served and waited ages for the bill!

The breakfast the next morning was great and the staff in there were very helpful.

We enjoyed our stay and would return, it would be nice to stay in a new refurbished room, thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickyrobmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you very much Nickyrobmax for your lovely review, it really means a lot!
Our staff is very thankful for your kind appreciation of their helpfulness and so am I!
Glad to know you found your room to be spacious and clean and our dinner to be lovely, I'm sorry the service was on the slow side on the Sunday, Sundays were our quietest nights and we use to have only one waiter, things have changed now as we are getting busier, even if in low season, and our restaurant is getting ever so popular.
We all look forward to welcoming you again when next in Bournemouth; for your next visit, please, give us a call, it will be a real pleasure making sure you get the best rate for our lovely, refurbished rooms.
Thank YOU from all the staff!
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Property: Hotel Celebrity
Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef and his brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing