We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I usually stay at the Queens Hotel, however they were full this week (18th-22nd Nov), so I decided to try the Hotel Celebrity. I always rate hotels on what I paid, expected, and received. I paid £30 (single occupant) a night, expected a clean no-thrills room and received a room that was spotless, a comfortable bed and there was a working shower (that had pressure, a rarity in some Bournemouth hotels).

The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was lovely and the location is great for a stroll along the beach to the Pier or a short walk into town. Kudos to the management also for including bottled shower gel/hand wash and not handing out those daily sachets that most hotels around the area use.

Some personal recommendations to staff/management (hopefully you do not mind some good-hearted criticism):
* Ask customers if they'd like to pre-authorise a room service amount when checking in.
* When checking out, inform the customer how much their room service bill comes to. I had to ask about this and was not informed.
* I know you're not advertising yourself as a business hotel, but a computer chair would be useful.
* There was not a 'do not disturb' sign in the room (or I missed it). I'm guessing these are at reception, however it would be better to ensure all rooms have them.

Thank you, I'm sure I'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LukeJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Luke JS,
A heartfelt thank you for your feed-back, kind and useful at the same time!
We are very pleased to know you had an enjoyable stay, found our hotel lovely, clean and comfortable and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon!
We welcome all constructive criticism and your comments have been passed on to our friendly reception staff who will make sure all guests are asked if they wish for their card to be pre-authorised. The "Do not disturb sign" should be in every room (sorry if it was missing in yours).
For your next visit, call us direct on 01202 316316 and Ewa and her team will be very happy to offer you the cheapest rate on the day and do their very best to allocate you in the same room...or perhaps you wish to pick the celebrity themed room you prefer?
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

873 - 879 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We arrived late on Monday 18th November 13 . We had to wait for at least 10 minutes to get booked in. The lady was not the friendliest as she was under pressure and told us our bill was going to be £102 for our 3 nights which was an improvement on booking .com who quoted us £153 , but still more than the 32.50 per night advertised at the front gate. We went to our room the Jim Carry room 104 ,don't take it or the room above it as every floor board in the bedroom and the bathroom squeaked loudly.
The room was tropical and required the windows to be opened if you wanted to get a night's sleep thus I'm returning home with a rotten cold.
My wife and I are on the heavy side so the bed is probably not their fault but it was like sleeping in a water bed as the mattress was so soft and every move could be felt.
The view from the window of 104 is of a derelict hotel and a container with old lengths of wood right outside the window.
On the plus side it is clean and the staff are very friendly
The food is good and the breakfast excellent.
The location is good and handy to town , parking is chaotic.
I have read around 20pages of reviews and know that I will be told I should contact the hotel to get the best rate that's fine lesson learnt , but I also repeatedly saw comments about upgrading to a refurbed room for £10 per night ,we were paying £18.50 per night more than the gate price but had a clean crappy room at a premium price I did try to negotiate when leaving but got brushed off.
You get what you paid for but we did not.
Ian Johnston

Room Tip: Contact hotel for best rate avoid room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonty32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Mr Johnston,
Thank you for your feed-back.
I'm very pleased to know you found the hotel clean, with very friendly staff, good food and excellent breakfast, thank you again for your kind comments.
I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good night sleep due to the "tropical" temperature or your room, our radiators are manually adjustable, our heating system is not constantly on so that rooms are not overheated, one degree less and you could have had the opposite problem and found your bedroom "arctic"?!
Your review is particularly appreciated as it gives me the chance to clarify a few issues that may lead to confusion. The price displayed at the front entrance refers to our budget rooms, that being smaller than our standard rooms, are our last let. This discounted price is offered only for these rooms, before they undergo a full refurbishment and change in layout and, by no means, makes your rate a "premium price". You had an amazing deal of £17 per person per night, included an all you can eat breakfast that you described excellent, free car park (sorry it was busy), free unlimited Wi Fi...calling it expensive is somehow unrealistic and unfair.
If you were allocated to a budget room for the price of £32.50 per night, as advertised at the front gate, you would have saved 75p per person per night...if this saving, in your opinion, would make your experience a better value for money....please, give us a call and we would be pleased to arrange that for you for your next stay, alternatively you can carry on taking advantage of our amazing deals for our standard rooms by calling direct and it would be a real pleasure to make sure you are given a room with a firmer mattress and a radiator to its minimum setting. Please, accept the most heartfelt apologies from me and our lovely receptionist who is very sorry to hear you didn't find her very friendly.
We all hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

What an experience. Very quaint hotel. Each room is dedicated to a celebrity. Would recommend just based on that!

Evening meal was OK. Breakfast was uninspiring, though. Cereal selection was OK. The hot food wasn't!

Agreed, there isn't much parking but only a 5 minute walk to the beach and town centre.

Room Tip: Pick a celebrity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear JandB40,
Weird but wonderful...mmmm....I was a bit apprehensive before reading your review....but now that I have read it....THANK YOU very much!!! :-)
Our hotel is a family run business, friendly, unpretentious and very quirky, weird (and wonderful) could be another way to describe it :-) :-) ...we are definitely different from the rest of the hotels in Bournemouth, with our quaint and eclectic celebrity themed decor.....we are all very glad you enjoyed it as we do!
It's great to know you had a great stay, please, accept my apologies if the breakfast wasn't as hot as you like it, your comment has not been ignored and the message has been passed to the relevant staff!
We like your recommendation: Pick a celebrity! Book direct to pick one particular celebrity themed room, from Tina Turner to Cher, passing from Johnny Depp and Brad Pitt!!!
We hope to see you again soon!
Many thanks,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here from friday 8th- sunday 10th November 2013. The location was excellent 10 minute walk into town and the B.I.C as we were there to see Jessie J. From the moment we arrived the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. Our room was the Dolly Parton themed one- all very clean and decorated very well in our opinion, tv, shower, tea/coffee all very nice and all worked well. We stayed in and ate in the restaurant on the friday- which gave you a complimentary drink as well- the food was delicious and service/presentation was very good. We weren't pestered but were attended to very well during the meal. There were other bars/ rooms where you could take your meals and be as loud or quiet as you liked. Breakfast was varied and plentiful- fresh and hot (full english). Our overall experience was one of relaxation and comfort and the best hotel we have stayed in, in bournemouth that has met our expectations and requirenents. Mr and Mrs B.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pompey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs B,
Many thanks for your lovely comments they are a real boost to all the hard working team at Hotel Celebrity!
We are all very pleased to know you had a great stay and found the hotel to be the best in Bournemouth :-) :-) :-)
Great to know you enjoyed our celebrity decor, our comfortable Dolly Parton room, our delicious food, attentive service and we all hope to welcome you again in the near future!
For your next visit, please give us a call and book direct for best rate, drinks discount and....only by booking direct you can chose the celebrity theme of your room....we have 55 celebrities to chose from!
Thanks again!
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Another enjoyable stay, comfortable very clean room. We had a very nice evening meal in the restaurant and full english breakfast in the morning. Bed and breakfast for £30 what amazing value. Look forward to staying there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DavidandNicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear David and Nicky,
A big, big THANK YOU for your glowing review!
It's been a real pleasure having you again with us for "another enjoyable stay" and we are very glad to know you made the most of our special winter rates that offers, we agree, amazing value!
We all hope to see you again very soon!!!
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our first stay in the Hotel Celebrity, hopefully the first of many.
Welcoming staff, phone call to check that everything is O.K,
lovely breakfast, warm and comfortable, enjoyed the super themed decor.
Close to shops and sea
Only problem was availablity of parking on site, but we found a space outside for only £1 for 2 hours (free from 6p.m-9a.m)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P and S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you P and SW for your kind feed-back, it means a lot to all the Staff at Hotel Celebrity!
We are very glad to know you had a very enjoyable first stay with us and we too hope it's the first of many visits and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
For your next visit, book direct with the Hotel for best rates, drinks discount....and you get to chose the Celebrity room you prefer!!!
Check our official website for best rates, special offers and more!
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here in July, what a bargain , perfect location , fab breakfast , nothing bad to say, would def stay again, comfortable rooms, beds great, very clean, close to beach and town centre, a little gem

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you Trubie for your lovely comment, they are very appreciated!
It's great to know you had an enjoyable stay in our "Fab hotel" and we all hope to see you again soon!
For your next visit, call us direct for best rate, you will make sure you are given the same comfortable room!
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Celebrity)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £28 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef and his brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing