We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have stayed here many times now and it just gets better and better. The staff are so friendly and always smiling. The breakfast is great and the rooms are comfortable. Add to that the interesting themes and many pictures which are always a talking point and a reason to explore the hotel. Cant wait to get back to my home from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but if you have a favorite celebrity ask if they the room its great fun lol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floosey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear floosey62,
THANK YOU very much for your lovely review!
It is always a pleasure welcoming you again to Hotel Celebrity and we are very happy to know you loved our decor and all the changes that took place in the last few months!
Smiling, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and great breakfast are always good reasons to come back to us and we are happy to know we keep up the good work and don't disappoint you.
To keep having fun, book direct and chose your celebrity, so many to chose from, it could be Tom Cruise, Kylie Minogue, Johnny Depp, Rihanna and many,many more! Check our official website for full list of Celebrity Rooms!
We all look forward to your next visit home from home!
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    419
    178
    66
    59
See reviews for
199
510
80
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Pulled up at the place and we all looked concerned. Luckily once settled we realised it was a good find. Nice friendly staff. Rooms were adequate and the best bit. It was only 5mins from town. Good reasonable find

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you James M for your review!
We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay and we hope to welcome you again when you are next in Bournemouth.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel is certainly celebrity themed with pictures on every wall of celebrities, including all the bedrooms! The owners are certainly doing their best to make the hotel different, and even provide information on the history of the building which was once owned by Tony Hancocks parents. They also say they are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and the ground floor communal areas were very spacious and pleasant.

The twin bedroom we had was on the second floor and was in need of some refurbishment. Although very clean, the wallpaper was a bit tatty & the walls had lots of old screw holes, some roughly filled with polyfilla. The mattresses were not the best but having said that we did have 3 good nights sleep. The linen and towels were nice and the bathroom had been refurbished, being quite spacious with modern fittings, a good shower cubicle and powerful shower.

Breakfast was self service with fruit juices, tinned fruit, cereals, toast and a cooked selection which could have been hotter.

The hotel is located in a quiet road and within easy walking distance to the town and beach.

This is a no frills hotel which I would recommend but do check prices. We looked on the hotel website and there were no vacancies so booked with Booking.com and thought we had a good deal. On arrival the hotel was not full & was advertising walk in rates £10 per night cheaper than we paid, and in their own info, guarantee lower prices when booking direct with the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazydaysCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you HazydaysCoventry for your review, it is very appreciated!
It's great to know you found us quirky and enjoyed the celebrity themed decor that makes our Hotel unique and different from all the other two hundred hotels in Bournemouth.
We have now finished with the maintenance works needed for our Celebrity theme and will concentrate in upgrading our standard rooms, which can be really challenging when the Hotel is busy.
The website you checked when wanted to book direct with us was not the Hotel's official Website but a booking agency that sets up webpages that pretend to be the Hotel's own website. We have no connection whatsoever with this agency and we are doing what we can to get them closed. It is very frustrating to know they still mislead our future guests, we do hope it will all be over very soon. Booking direct with the Hotel is always the only way to get the cheapest deals and discount vouchers for all drinks. At the moment you can book direct only by calling us, but we will have the BOOK NOW option on our official website by the end of the year!
We hope to welcoming you again soon.
Many thanks from all the Staff at Hotel Celebrity!
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here for one night with my wife, but wish I could have stayed longer. We stayed in a room with lots of Michael Jackson pictures on the walls! The room was a good size with very comfortable beds. There was a 32" flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facillities. The room was clean and decorated to a very good standard. The bathroom was modern and functional. The celebrity theme continued along the hall ways with lots of pictures of well known actors, actresses and singers. The Hotel has a restaurant and a bar. The self service breakfast was a full English with a wide range of choices available. The Hotel has a lot of character and makes a comfortable and interesting stay. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear DaveSenior,
Many thanks for your kind comments, they really mean a lot to all the staff at Hotel Celebrity.
We are glad to know you had an enjoyable stay with us and liked our celebrity themed decor that makes our hotel unique and full of character.
Check out our official website to see all the Celebrity Rooms available, so if you fancy a change from Michael Jackson and prefer Tina Turner, Cher, Madonna, The Beatles, The Rolling Stones etc. etc. give us a call and it will be a real pleasure to accommodate your request.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had a weekend off work, and booked two nights at the Celebrity after getting an email from Booking.com. I was in the "JRR Tolkien Room", which had wonderful Lord of the Rings prints and a map of Middle Earth on the walls; my room was spotlessly clean, had a superbly comfortable bed along with tea/coffee facilities and an en suite with a bath AND a shower. Staff at the hotel were really friendly and helpful. The entire place is decorated in a "celebrity" theme, which makes this a great choice for film buffs and families alike. Breakfast was a help yourself buffet with a huge variety of choices, and was absolutely delicious; the only thing I would suggest would be to put out a second toaster, because it's a bit of a pain when you get stuck in a queue behind someone who's making enough toast to feed the entire population of Bournemouth! I had booked an evening meal on the night I arrived rather than eat out after a long day at work, but decided to book one for my second night as well; the food is all home made and completely wonderful - especially the profiteroles, so make sure you leave room for pudding! And what did I pay for my stay? Just over thirty pounds a night, which I think was absolutely fabulous value. Oh, and the hotel has free Wi-Fi as well - so if a hotel charging thirty quid a night can provide this, it proves that it's a matter of sheer greed for pricey London hotels to make their guests pay extra. I can't fault the Celebrity in any way, and I will definitely be going back there - as well as recommending it to my friends.

Room Tip: If you're travelling alone, see if the Tolkien Room is available - I loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackdahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much Balckdalhlia for your lovely review!
We are all so pleased to know you were very happy with your stay and found the Hotel to offer "fabulous value". It's great to know you had a "superbly comfortable bed", this means a lot to us....your room was refurbished after the comments of some of our guests who were disappointed with the quality of its bed and layout (see a fair review from Hanster707 on the 24th of June)
Your feed-back is ever so rewarding as it proves the hard work and constant improvements are appreciated and, for our business, it is vital to listen to what our guests want and suggest....and great when so many guests love the hotel, its unique style, staff, food and they make it their home away from home!
Thank you very much again for your glowing review....we all look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
PS: Our profiteroles are rrrrrrreally lovely...especially with extra chocolate sauce and ice cream on the side :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I usually stay at the Queens Hotel, however they were full this week (18th-22nd Nov), so I decided to try the Hotel Celebrity. I always rate hotels on what I paid, expected, and received. I paid £30 (single occupant) a night, expected a clean no-thrills room and received a room that was spotless, a comfortable bed and there was a working shower (that had pressure, a rarity in some Bournemouth hotels).

The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was lovely and the location is great for a stroll along the beach to the Pier or a short walk into town. Kudos to the management also for including bottled shower gel/hand wash and not handing out those daily sachets that most hotels around the area use.

Some personal recommendations to staff/management (hopefully you do not mind some good-hearted criticism):
* Ask customers if they'd like to pre-authorise a room service amount when checking in.
* When checking out, inform the customer how much their room service bill comes to. I had to ask about this and was not informed.
* I know you're not advertising yourself as a business hotel, but a computer chair would be useful.
* There was not a 'do not disturb' sign in the room (or I missed it). I'm guessing these are at reception, however it would be better to ensure all rooms have them.

Thank you, I'm sure I'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukeJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Luke JS,
A heartfelt thank you for your feed-back, kind and useful at the same time!
We are very pleased to know you had an enjoyable stay, found our hotel lovely, clean and comfortable and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon!
We welcome all constructive criticism and your comments have been passed on to our friendly reception staff who will make sure all guests are asked if they wish for their card to be pre-authorised. The "Do not disturb sign" should be in every room (sorry if it was missing in yours).
For your next visit, call us direct on 01202 316316 and Ewa and her team will be very happy to offer you the cheapest rate on the day and do their very best to allocate you in the same room...or perhaps you wish to pick the celebrity themed room you prefer?
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We arrived late on Monday 18th November 13 . We had to wait for at least 10 minutes to get booked in. The lady was not the friendliest as she was under pressure and told us our bill was going to be £102 for our 3 nights which was an improvement on booking .com who quoted us £153 , but still more than the 32.50 per night advertised at the front gate. We went to our room the Jim Carry room 104 ,don't take it or the room above it as every floor board in the bedroom and the bathroom squeaked loudly.
The room was tropical and required the windows to be opened if you wanted to get a night's sleep thus I'm returning home with a rotten cold.
My wife and I are on the heavy side so the bed is probably not their fault but it was like sleeping in a water bed as the mattress was so soft and every move could be felt.
The view from the window of 104 is of a derelict hotel and a container with old lengths of wood right outside the window.
On the plus side it is clean and the staff are very friendly
The food is good and the breakfast excellent.
The location is good and handy to town , parking is chaotic.
I have read around 20pages of reviews and know that I will be told I should contact the hotel to get the best rate that's fine lesson learnt , but I also repeatedly saw comments about upgrading to a refurbed room for £10 per night ,we were paying £18.50 per night more than the gate price but had a clean crappy room at a premium price I did try to negotiate when leaving but got brushed off.
You get what you paid for but we did not.
Ian Johnston

Room Tip: Contact hotel for best rate avoid room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonty32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Mr Johnston,
Thank you for your feed-back.
I'm very pleased to know you found the hotel clean, with very friendly staff, good food and excellent breakfast, thank you again for your kind comments.
I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good night sleep due to the "tropical" temperature or your room, our radiators are manually adjustable, our heating system is not constantly on so that rooms are not overheated, one degree less and you could have had the opposite problem and found your bedroom "arctic"?!
Your review is particularly appreciated as it gives me the chance to clarify a few issues that may lead to confusion. The price displayed at the front entrance refers to our budget rooms, that being smaller than our standard rooms, are our last let. This discounted price is offered only for these rooms, before they undergo a full refurbishment and change in layout and, by no means, makes your rate a "premium price". You had an amazing deal of £17 per person per night, included an all you can eat breakfast that you described excellent, free car park (sorry it was busy), free unlimited Wi Fi...calling it expensive is somehow unrealistic and unfair.
If you were allocated to a budget room for the price of £32.50 per night, as advertised at the front gate, you would have saved 75p per person per night...if this saving, in your opinion, would make your experience a better value for money....please, give us a call and we would be pleased to arrange that for you for your next stay, alternatively you can carry on taking advantage of our amazing deals for our standard rooms by calling direct and it would be a real pleasure to make sure you are given a room with a firmer mattress and a radiator to its minimum setting. Please, accept the most heartfelt apologies from me and our lovely receptionist who is very sorry to hear you didn't find her very friendly.
We all hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Property: Hotel Celebrity
Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef and his brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing