We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience, terrible service”
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant experience, terrible service”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We spent 32.50 on a night here which was a bargain and was surprised to see each room was a different celeb and me and my sister had tina turner. It was a lovely hotel the room was clean and tidy spacious for two and we even got the corner bath we requested, the theme of the hotel was brilliant especially for a wedding venue and the dining areas were really comforting and looked very well. If rated just on this experience would say 1000/10 however we found the reception staff to be quite rude, we didnt receive a friendly greeting when approaching them 2 or 3 times and had to call to them whilst they sat in front of us oblivious to the fact we were stood there, the night shift manager was constantly watching us as we met 2 friends outside and it seemed he was waiting for us to come back as when we would come back in he'd be waiting at the door for us staring at us, whenever we went outside for a ciggarette he would either come out also or stand by the inside door, we found this very unsettling and quite stressful as we felt we were being pestered by him as if we were doing something wrong. The breakfast staff were also not brilliant as there was no friendly greeting simply 'room number please, find a table with 2 seats' not expecting the world but friendly conversation or 'hello how are you' wouldve been nice. other than this the hotel itself was brilliant and will visit again just know for future not to expect much from staff

Room Tip: corner bath is a must, adds so much luxury to your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Toni S,
Thank you for your review!
Where I'm very happy to know you found our hotel lovely, your room clean and loved our Tina Turner room and corner bath, I'm extremely surprised by your comments about our staff!
We have an established reputation for being a very friendly place, we all work as a team to provide our guests with a relaxed, casual and friendly atmosphere. I appreciate that we can occasionally fail in our deliverance, yet, I must say I find very unlikely that all the staff you met were either quite rude, not brilliant or stressfully pestering! Our Reception girls and Restaurant Staff are always friendly and chatty, to be fair, we tend not to be over chatty before our guests had the chance to grab their first cup of coffee in the morning! Our Night Manager is always looking after the security of the Hotel and all our guests and I'm sorry to hear this was mistaken for intrusive behaviour.
I'm very happy to know you found the hotel brilliant and that you will visit us again.....we all look forward to welcoming you again with our usual smiles....even if you don't expect them.
Kindest (and smiley) regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    427
    180
    67
    61
See reviews for
201
523
81
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

An excellent two night stay at the Hotel Celebrity...Very nice room which was spotless,the bathroom was clean and modern,32 inch flat screen t.v and a lovely comfy bed. The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast very tasty.Cannot understand some of the negative reviews as we thought the hotel was great value for money and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 456steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you 456 steve for your glowing review, it is really appreciated!
We are all very happy to know you had an excellent stay with us!
Positive reviews like yours are a real boost for the very friendly, efficient and hard working staff....most of the time we get it right and we love our guests' appreciation....but, occasionally, we deserve the not-so-positive comments to keep us focused on our service and keep on improving our product.....nobody's perfect after all!!!
The most rewarding part is to know you would definitely stay with us again and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is the first time I had stayed in a 3 star hotel for a long time. It proved to be a good choice and good value for money, despite booking through a website that charged more than the hotel would have, had I booked direct.

The room we had was one of their smallest doubles but it was perfectly adequate. We liked the celebrity theme, as it added a bit of fun to our stay.

We were a little worried on our arrival, as some of the guests at a party in the hotel, were very loud and seemed to have had plenty to drink, relatively early in the evening. To our pleasant surprise, there was no noise from them later in the evening and we slept soundly.

We ate at the hotel in the evening and we felt the meal was very good value, pub-grub standard, especially as the set price included coffee or tea, and a glass of wine or pint of beer. The waitress was friendly and dealt with our request for the soup to be hotter, with politeness and efficiency. The pretty good breakfast would have been even better had there been a greater range of cereals (e.g. muesli), some non-pork alternatives to the sausages and bacon, and a bowl of fresh fruit

The beach, town centre shops and other attractions, are closeby and I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone on a tight budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you Ray B for your lovely review!
We are happy to know you had an enjoyable experience at Hotel Celebrity, liked our theme, slept soundly and we hope to welcoming you again, book direct with us for best rates and perhaps try our Superior Rooms for extra comfort and style!
Thank you very much for your lovely comment about Maria, she's always friendly and polite and she is a great addition to our lovely team!!!
Kindest Regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very quirky with lots of pictures and memorabilia of celebrities dotted about. Decent sized TV in rooms and good facilities. Staff were friendly and breakfast was lovely with a large selection of foods. Great value for money and would definitely visit again. Not far to walk from the centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veganese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Veganese,
Thank you very much for your review!
It's great to know you liked our quirky place with its celebrity theming and we all look forward to welcoming you again for another great stay!
Book direct by calling us on 01202 316316 or online on our official website "hotel-celebrity" for best rates and to get drinks discount!!!
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing venue staff all very polite, room was spotless. Bed was so comfy. Breakfast not quite hot enough for our liking but lovely all the same. Will be using this hotel again in the very near future. Highly recommended!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bladette1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you bladette1889 for your kind words,
they really mean a lot to all of us at Hotel Celebrity.
We are very happy to now you found our place to be spotless and friendly and we look forward to welcoming you again!
I'm sorry to hear your breakfast wasn't hot enough for you and I'm confident we will put it right for your next visit.
For your next visit, please book direct to get best rates, drinks discount and we will make sure you get the same room!!!
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great position. Near town and beach. Quirky hotel. Stayed in Tina Turner room. Large and with all necessary amenities. Clean. Breakfast great. Hotel was very quiet, with only one other couple using the restaurant with us in the evening.

Book direct with the hotel for discount on drinks and food. (Same rate or better than any comparison sites. Look out for offers - we stayed for £33 a night or 2 including breakfast.) Friendly staff - and lots of them. Hotel is being upgraded so ask for a room that has already been done. Communal areas dated, but clean.

Good size car park. A real bonus as parking in Bournemouth is expensive.

Interesting displays around the hotel, linked to Tony Hancock, history of the hotel, its ghost! and Sherlock Holmes.

Has wedding and other functions, mostly at weekends. Probably busier and noisier, but let the hotel know and they place you away from the noise. Recommended.
Room Tip: Ask for re-furbished room away from noise and lifts or stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. Possibly noisier at weekends - like most hotels in Bournemouth- (wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you RDC1951 for your lovely review!
We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and very happy to know you loved our theming, the Hotel history and our unique Sherlock Holmes and Tony Hancocks memorabilia.
We hope we will be looking after you again in the near future, please, give us a call or book on our official website and we can make sure you get the best rate and, do our very best to give you the same comfy, airy room!
Thank you again from all the friendly staff at Hotel Celebrity!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyde cheshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel the 2nd feb for one night on b/b,i must admit i was quite unsure on booking this hotel as i read a trip advisor remark, from a person who stayed there, and the owner wanting to take trip advisor to court.Well why did i bother, i had a great stay, hotel lovely and clean, toilets spotless, breakfast great.Onto the room i had 129 hip hop and rap, single room, nice and clean, double bed, on suite, 32 inch tv, tea and coffee, you don't get the large tv, and tea and coffee making in some 4 star hotels, or more than one pillow i had four.I alway's write reviews on trip advisor, and make sure i speak the truth,a credit to the owner or owners, and would have no hesitation on staying there again.Also very close to everything no more than a 5min walk.A big thank you again, well done keep the good work up. Brian(hyde cheshire)

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank bnt1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Brian,
THANK YOU very much for your glowing review, we are all very glad you decided to stay with us and even happier to know you had a Great stay and have no hesitation to come back!
We pride ourselves for offering great value, good food and spotless rooms and we always manage to do so without inflating our rates that are always very competitive!
We hope we will have the pleasure to have you again with us......book direct on our official website or give us a call on 01202 316 316 and we will make sure you will be given the same room, with a large bed...and yes, four pillows!!!
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Property: Hotel Celebrity
Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef and his brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing