We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low cost room - terrible decor”
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I booked late and there were not many hotels left with rooms available. Staff were fine. Breakfast was ok for the price charged. My room however was old and very worn out. This hotel is in urgent need of refurbishment. it looks as though some of the rooms have been upgraded - just not the one I was in. I wont be staying again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanF444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear IanF444,
Thank you for your review!
I'm ever so sorry to learn you didn't have an enjoyable experience with us.
Some of our rooms have been refurbished to very high standards as all the public area on the ground floor, most of our rooms are very comfortable and of good standards and FEW of our rooms are in need of an update. Our budget rooms are our last let and, as you mentioned in your review, you booked late and we only have these rooms available at the time of your booking and their decor is reflected in their low cost. We appreciate they were not to your liking and we are sorry we didn't have any standard room or any refurbished room at the time of your enquiry!
We still hope you will give us a second chance as I can assure you we have lovely, comfortable rooms that still provide a good value for money experience!
Please, book direct with us on 01202 316316 and we will do our very best to change your opinion of us.
Kindest Regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were here for a couple of nights. We had room 101- luckily it wasn't the room of my worst fears, as I was a little concerned by some of the reviews on here.The theming is a bit of fun, not to everyone's taste. Our room (Mike Myers) only had a couple of posters so it wasn't over the top. The room was clean. The bedroom was quite modern in decoration but the bathroom was a bit dated and the shower wasn't a power shower. Staff were friendly Breakfast was nice and plentiful. The hotel was good value, as other places seemed expensive in comparison. There was parking at the front and back. Hotel seemed to attract stag and hen parties and there was a little bit of noise so if you are a light sleeper request a quiet room. Location is great as less than a 10 minute walk to the beach. Best rates seem to be direct with the hotel, as those displayed outside were less than we paid. Thanks Hotel Celebrity for a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Beachymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Beachymel,
Thank you for your lovely review!
We are glad to know you had a comfortable, enjoyable stay and we are happy to know you appreciated the fact that, even being just one road back from the seafront and just a 10 minutes stroll from all the amenities, we are still very reasonable priced!!!
Thank you for your comments on the Staff, it is very appreciated!!!
You are right....BEST RATES when booked direct with us on 01202 316316!!!
We all hope to welcome you again soon!
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the beginning of the month. The satnav in the car directed us to the rear parking area, room for about 6 cars and a view of the hotel that did not inspire confidence - my wife wanted to cancel the booking there and then as the hotel definately needed a lick of paint.
On finding the front of the hotel the outside appearance was slightly better but still in need of TLC. I had asked about disabled parking and there was a bay near the door coned off with our name on it, a nice touch. Reception staff were nice and friendly, booked us in quickly and directed us to our room on the second floor - good job there was a lift.
The room itself was reasonably decorated with a walk in shower in the bathroom, beds were comfortable and bedding was clean but talking to another resident they said they had to request a room change late at night as the bed was lumpy so it seems pot luck as to how comfortable the room was.
We had a meal in the hotel on the second night, as we had booked in advance it came with a free drink included; handy as bar prices were not exactly cheap and beer quality was suspect, possibly due to lack of turnover.
If you are booking at short notice it is worth checking the hotel website for prices before going through a booking site, if they have vacancies the direct room rate is a lot cheaper!

Room Tip: Get a room on the rear of the hotel as quite often they have private functions in the bar on the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waynemrrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you Waynermrrs for your feedback!
I'm sorry that certain SAT NAVs direct our guests to the back entrance which, I agree with you, is in need of a some TLC, we have just finished painting the front of the Hotel!
I'm glad you appreciated the reserved parking space that we guarantee to all the blue badge holders who inform us prior to their arrival and that your room was comfortable and clean.
Thank you again for your feedback.
We all hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Best Wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Booked this hotel as its a good location and price for Bournemouth. As a lot or other reviews, it's not that nice looking from the street however, once inside its fine. The service was good and friendly, the room was clean and big enough for our needs. We only booked one night but decided to stay for a second giving us more time to explore the area. Breakfast was fine but arrive early as the buffet area is quite small and people take ages to choose their food. The bar is open 24 hours a day so this was also good for us when we came back quite late for a night cap. The only down side is the noise from parties but once you close the double glazed windows it fine. I would really reccomend you stay here as its a fun place. I will be back and would not stay anywhere else in Bournemouth. Thank you Celebrity and the team for a great stay.

Room Tip: The Dolly Parton room (255) is right at the end of a corridorr so its nice an quiet. No one walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Buddy S,
thank you very much for your lovely review!
We are delighted to know you hads an enjoyable stay and you appreciated the fun side of our theme! Thank you very much for your kind words about our friendly staff and the cleanliness of our place! It was a real pleasure having you with us for an extra day and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
For your next visit, please book direct with us on 01202 316316 and we will make sure you are given a 20% discount for all drinks, our best rate and the same room you liked so much....unless you need a change from Dolly Parton! :-) :-)
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is very odd - the location is good and that's about the only good thing about it.

The down stairs of the hotel has been decorated to a good standard if that's your taste. The room we had must have not been decorated for years. The carpets were stained, the television was a small box on a very tiny little stand and the decor was very outdated. The quality of the room was just shocking compared to the downstairs. Not all of the hotel rooms I'm assuming are of this standard but I suggest they upgrade every room the same.

This hotel could be very nice if they put the same effort and money into the rooms as they have the downstairs.

Good location - very basic - needs upgrading.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lu1234Mck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Sarah J,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very sorry you didn't have an enjoyable experience with us and that you find your room to be dated. Some of our rooms are in need of refurbishment, nevertheless they are all VERY clean, so I'm really sorry to learn you rated us poorly on our cleanliness, if you had any issues with regards to the cleanliness of the room, please get in touch with me, as this is our priority and all rooms are thoroughly cleaned and inspected.
All our TVs (with the exception of two single rooms) have new 32" flat screen tvs, I'm sorry yours had a temporary TV as the original TV (on brackets) was broken the day before you arrived.
We hope you could give us a second chance, when next in the area. If you wish to visit us again, please call us on 01202 316316 and we will make sure you are given a room with a more contemporary decor, more suitable to your requirements.
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I'm quite easy to please but I personally do not understand the excellent reviews on this hotel.

On arrival I found the hotel resembling a basic looking holiday lodge but once inside the hotel is pleasant with pictures of celebrity's with a friendly reception. Me & my family stayed in the Madonna room number 123 which I found very basic - old style bathroom With dirty stained blue carpet but it was fine for a one nights stay!

If you like your sleep I wouldn't recommend this room as it's just one floor up right above the hotels bar so we found it very noisy with drinkers in the garden shouting that we had to complain to reception , I am very surprised that the hotel would allocate this room to families with small Children but hey ho.

Breakfast in the morning is basic and not the nicest but there is a adequate choice with a fry up , cereals with a choice of juices and hot beverages!

I would recommend this hotel
Purely for its location as it's only a ten minute walk into the town centre and not far from the seafront but myself personally I would not stay here again especially for the price of £85 which I found quite high for not the greatest experiences!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Emajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we were given the tommy cooper room which pleased my husband. we had one night at the hotel and have no complaints. slept well, facilities very clean. breakfast was adequate and staff helpful. bit pricey for one nights stay but not disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £36 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef and his brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing