We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,398)
Filter reviews
1,398 results
Traveller rating
509
512
218
85
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
512
218
85
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sherlock holmes david bowie quirky hotel hotel inspector car park refurbished room fried bread self service would stay again buffet style bit dated cooked breakfast comfy bed town centre one night stay evening meal budget hotel
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,398 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Booked for 2 nights 2 rooms 1 being for my disabled elderly mother.
Staff could not be more helpful or friendlier.
Ate in the restaurant both nights. Food very good although the supplement on certain items was a little excessive.
Rooms were large, clean, beds large and very comfortable Bathroom was clean and very tidy, loads of towels etc
Def stay again
On the downside carpets on stairs need replacing as well worn Car park not very big but secure and safe.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank blondemoment17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thank you for your review of our hotel. Ken Robins, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Great location but old, dated and in need of modernisation. Some call it quirky, I'd prefer oddball! Rooms are "star themed" and 25 years ago it may have been OK but it's now run down. But, hey, you get what you pay for

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank FatBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Ken Robins, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

I took my mum for a few days to Bournemouth and delighted I picked hotel celebrity. I wasn't sure when we arrived as the outside deco doesn't do it justice . when you enter the hotel its quite different. We had a nice welcome check in was quick. A lot of interesting facts left out about the hotel, sherlock Holmes, Lawrence oliveir. I liked the Hollywood themed dinning area as well as the bar. And we all has our individual celebrity room which i thought was fun. Inside were large pic's of that celebrity. The food was really good. Only 2 negatives the lamb shank wasn't very nice.breakfast quite basic. No cheeses,hams or yougut's. Apart from this everything else was lovely. 1 extra bonus was getting the no 50 topless bus from around the corner which was only 8.00 return for me and free for my mum (freedom pass)!went across on the Ferry to Swanage spent the day the beach was beautiful, quite and we spent a lot of time in quirky little shops. People all nice and friendly.will definitely visit again. As well as staying at Hotel Celebrity.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank chipslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Chips, thank you for your review of our hotel. Next time please make sure you phone the hotel to book - all clients who phone the hotel to book are guaranteed 10% cheaper rate than the cheapest online rate at time of booking, 10% off food, (except 2 and 3 course offers), and 10% off drinks. Best wishes, Ken Robins, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Arrived early before checking time not a problem staff at the reception asked for the reg of the vechile to leave note on dash board hotel was clean and staff friendly service was good room was clean and bed comtable bathroom could do with up dating and a lick of paint only trouble we had other guests can be a bit considerate due to parking as they dont park in bays provided hotel is in a good location and only a short walking distance into bournemouth town and buses into poole at 3 pounds return about half hour bus journey away breakfast was fine would visit again

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ironboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Ironboy, thank you for your positive review of our hotel. Please remember to phone to book. We guarantee phone booking rates are 10% cheaper than the cheapest online rate available at time of booking plus discounts off drinks etc. Ken Robins, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel is so close to both the town and the beach that it is ideally situated.
We were greeted by some lovely staff on our first day and they didn't see to mind that we were a little boisterous and 'fun'. Both the staff and manager were very friendly and welcoming. We had the Ken Dodd room and it was spacious and lovely.
The bathroom was lovely and the shower was powerful. One of the walls did need a second coat of paint, but this didn't detract from the lovely room. The beds were all comfortable and the seating area was a really nice addition to socialise when back in the room.
I will definitely be going back to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank AnitaPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Anita, Many thanks for your great review of our hotel. Ken used to stay with us every year for many years prior to his sad demise. It is a great bedroom. Ken Robins,owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews