We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of Bournemouth Beach

Bournemouth Beach
Ranked #1 of 70 things to do in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Nice sands, lively atmosphere and great place to hang out. Lots of stores, shops and restaurants around. The only downside here is that it gets too crowded.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank blackchrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,174
    1,699
    294
    75
    46
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“hard work pays off”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The local authority has worded bloody hard to make and maintain the beach and seafront here. Plenty of clean sand, toilets and food outlets all along the front. Dog free and non smoking beaches too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank what_horizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Lovely long walk right along beach”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I had a very good day in Bournemouth and an extremely hot day had been arranged for me! I walked right along the beach and the sand looked beautifully clean and well maintained as was the park nearest the pier.

I just had a couple of reservations, however. The promenade was extremely busy with walkers but I cannot understand why the council permit the use of cycles. They were constantly weaving in and out of pedstrians, some going at some speed, and surely there must be the occassional collision.

Secondly, whilst walking west, away from the beach, I saw a couple of dogs running around and when I looked up, I saw a sign next to a groyne indicating that dogs were banned. However, in walking further along, I realised that this related to only part of the beach and that the area the dogs were on was fine. Now it may fine for dog owners to go along with their bags, hopefully clearing up everything but what about, how can I say, 'liquids' which people can then sit among. I do have in mind once seeing a dog peeing up against a mans jacket on a deckchair on a beach. Personally I was staggered that dogs, whether on leads or not, are allowed anywhere near a beach. When I went to Australia a couple of years ago, there were signs even banning smokers from beaches.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank binonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Britains best beach.”
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

The best thing I can say is that in the height of summer you could mistake this place for a resort abroad. The beach is kept so clean (even if tourists do leave loads of mess it gets cleared by morning) and you have great facilities, great views, great sand and great sea. Nothing else in the UK comes close.

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Sussex
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Golden sands, nice pier & good bars/restaurants”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

As beaches go this is one of the better ones along the south coast. There is plenty of space, its very clean & there is a number of bars & restaurants to meet all tastes from the old fashioned cafes to more formal dining and cocktail bars. certainly worth a look.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank GandTRuralSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bournemouth Beach also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Bournemouth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing