We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a place in Boscombe”
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #20 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Spotlessly clean , warm and homely. Carl the owner upgraded me to a small double as they were not busy . Much appreciated.
Not many places in Bournemouth serve breakfast at 7.00am , this was a bonus as I had a busy day ahead . Value for money for sure ...I will use again when next in Bournemouth Thank you Carl ..

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 7 , on the second/top floor. Shower room and toilet next door . Nice and quiet ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coursemarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We picked this b&b as we where staying to see a band at the O2 academy, perfect as the O2 was a couple minutes walk away and easy to find. Met the owner straight away and he was very kind and very helpful . We stayed in the attic room, number 10, very clean and lovely and warm since it was a cold day, the whole house is spotless throughout , we had communal bathrooms but there is a couple so never had to wait to be used, and very clean. Continental breakfast with as many varieties of cereal you could want , toast, fresh fruit salad , there is a option of cooked breakfast I believe if asked in advance. Lovely communal lounge and garden to use too. Overall we would recommend to anyone, the owner was very kind and helpful and the house is very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAndSammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We came down for the weekend during August bank holiday and had a brilliant stay. This little B&B is kept lovely and clean and the selection available for breakfast is massive!

There was a shower room upstairs and a toilet on the first floor incase this was busy which was good as it meant you never had to wait to use the loo.

the owner was very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. If we had any questions about the local area, he was happy to impart any knowledge he had, and even looked up a few details for us.

The B&B is in a good location, its about a 5-10 minute walk from Boscombe beach, which is about a mile and a half from Bournemouth. You can catch a land train from boscombe beach to bournemouth for about £5.

We can also recommend the italian that he recommends on his information sheet that he leaves in the rooms.

All in all it was a good trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I traveled alone and stayed at Bournemouth for one night. The Strand turned out to be a lovely place to stay: warm, clean, comfortable... the breakfast is huge, the people working there are all of them, lovely; and my single room, although small, was exactly what I needed and quite more. If I ever go back to Bournemouth I know for sure where I'm going to sleep

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheL0stDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

George and I have just spent 3 night's at this lovely little hotel Karl was very friendly and moved his car for us when we arrived and did point out where we could park if there was no space's in front of hotel,we didn't have that problem because we walked everywhere the breakfast was help yourself we have never seen so many cereals,porridge fresh fruit salad, plus whole fruit in bowl's all the jam's marmalade's honey etc on your breakfast table.When Karl heard you go into the breakfast room he immediately appeared to see how you were and put a jug of milk and a dish of butter's on your table he really did look after all of his guest's.We were in room 1a very spacious room a lovely big ensuite with a bath and shower our towel's were changed daily and all kept sparkling clean our complimentary drink's(tea&coffee,milk&sugar were topped up every day a very comfortable hotel we will definiately go back.Thank you very much Karl for making our stay a good one.

Room Tip: We didn't see any of the other room's at The Strand but can definiately say room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbo6063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Although not the intended choice for an extended business trip some 4*/5* hotels in London could learn something from the management of this small B & B hotel. There is excellent attention to detail resulting in a very pleasant guest experience. The room had matching furniture and plenty of drawer storage space as well as an adequate wardrobe. No bath but the power shower was excellent; good quality soaps/shampoo too. I also cannot remember the last time I had the use of bathroom scales in a 3* B & B hotel - if ever.
The Continental breakfast was an experience with a choice of no less than 25 branded cereals, 5 of which were gluten free. A very acceptable choice of teas and coffees included filter coffee as well. There was fresh fruit on offer as well as a truly 'fresh' fruit bowl which included chopped grapes, strawberries, blueberries etc etc again better than expected and far better than the fresh fruit choice I had on my last stay at a 4* hotel in London.
Despite my first concerns as to the location my stay was a thoroughly enjoyable one and I suspect could not have been bettered had I stayed at my initial 4* choice in the centre of Bournemouth.
I would add that my choice was indeed influenced by comments on trip advisor for which I was very grateful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This extremely clean & tidy hotel is situated in Boscombe, a mile outside the hustling centre of Bournemouth, and close to the sea and the necessary amenities. The accommodation is warm, homely and welcoming. All up-together; pleasant framed artwork line the walls including some Vettrianos.
We stayed in Room 7 on the second floor, at the top of the house. Hanging space in a new and clean freestanding wardrobe, lots of extra storage space cleverly fitted into a compact room, tastefully decorated to aid slumber and relaxation. The slimline tv had all the channels, and there was pristine clean sink with mirror over. The shared shower room was the cleanest shared bathroom we've ever used. Very comfortable bed. Window was easy to open, we were given keys to access our room and the building.
Breakfast was full and plentiful. Currently the owner offers a cold buffet included in the price and if you want a full English it will be prepared for you at a nominal amount for a quality big brekkie - better than any cafe we've ever eaten in, you just let Karl know the day/night before. Breakfast was served on the ground floor where you will also find a communal lounge with confy sofas, tv and books.
The weather was kind enough for us to sit in the tranquil garden setting, kick back and truly relax.
Parking is first come, first served - and it was easy to park.
We were skeptical because in recent years we have got used to the chain hotels like Holiday Inns / Bannatynes etc but Karl the owner and his team absolutely won us over with their generosity and warm hospitality. There was an intimate ambiance created which we really appreciated. Highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return! Can see why this place is fully booked for the coming weekends!
Booked due to being from out of the area & attending a wedding in Bournemouth. Married couple traveling on a Friday night and we paid approx £50.00 for our room and shared shower room via the 'last minute.com' web site.

Room Tip: Depends on how much you want to pay....if you're on a budget and there's 2 of you room 7 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataliastefanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#34 of 132 in Bournemouth
58 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bamboo Guesthouse
Bamboo Guesthouse
#16 of 132 in Bournemouth
241 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Living Room Bournemouth
The Living Room Bournemouth
#18 of 132 in Bournemouth
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lea Hurst Hotel
Lea Hurst Hotel
#22 of 132 in Bournemouth
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waves In
Waves In
#35 of 132 in Bournemouth
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
#42 of 132 in Bournemouth
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 19 Westby Road | Boscombe, Bournemouth BH5 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £26 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Strand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Hotel is Bournemouth's best kept secret for fresh, comfortable rooms at prices you'll love. Discover a smart hotel where you can relax in style and feel at home. Enjoy free high speed Wi-Fi everywhere, Freeview TV and tea and coffee making facilities in your room, all Sky HDTV channels in the lounge, and table tennis in the garden. Staying with us, you'll be just 500 metres from Boscombe beach, pier, surf reef and beachside restaurants. A pleasant 2km walk along the stunning seafront takes you into the bustling centre of Bournemouth with its many attractions including shops and department stores, nightclubs, restaurants and cafes, parks, an aquarium and aviary, crazy golf, and fairground rides on the seafront. Live music venue The O2 Academy Bournemouth is just footsteps from the hotel, or if you're looking for Premier League thrills, the AFC Bournemouth football ground is only 1 mile away. Our guests also enjoy boat and coach trips to popular nearby destinations such as The Isle of Wight, Brownsea Island and Corfe Castle, which can be booked separately. Bournemouth (Hurn) Airport is a 15 minute drive. For breakfast, indulge yourself with a generous freshly cooked "Full English". Plus help yourself to our plentiful buffet of fruit, cereals (a huge variety including gluten-free options), toast with premium jams and spreads, yogurt, fresh juices and hot drinks. We offer a variety of room types, from small single to en-suite king-size, to suit your requirements and budget. Look for our special offers on extended bookings, and business stays (Sunday - Thursday). We look forward to hearing from you, to ensure that your time in Bournemouth is a refreshing and rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing