We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way!! ”
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #16 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent in every way!! ”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stay here for one night on 4th May 2014

Nice clean room and comfortable bed! Karl is very kind and helpful, who went the extra mile and provided us with exceptional services. His cooked breakfast is first class!

The place also has a lovely lounge and dinning area as well as a relaxing garden. We managed to place some table tennis in the garden which is a bonus of the stay.

We highly recommend the place!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
75
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night in a single room, booked via LateRooms.
Room was clean, not en suite but toilet next door and bathroom slightly further. Small sink in room for brushing teeth etc
Karl the owner is friendly and welcoming, breakfast is continental, wide selection of cereals, toast, pastries, fruit, juices etc.
Overall recommended, good value and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edjimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here as a single guest on 30th April 2014. The B and B is immaculately clean, very professionally run and the self serve continental breakfast was all you could possibly ask for. As well as all the usual cereals, toasts, teas and coffees there was even a bowl of freshly prepared fruit salad. The hotel was perfectly situated for local shops and five minutes walk from the beach. Karl the proprietor could not have been more helpful. Happy to recommend.

Room Tip: The one single room is very quiet at back of the house and bed was extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernhillangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

All round fantastic place to stay, Karl was the best host ever, nothing was to much trouble.
Rooms are cosy and clean, immaculate. We requested a full English which was great veggie option also available and was yummy, We could not rave about this enough really enjoyed our time here, the most comfortable nights sleep we have had in ages and for the price you pay it is great, Thanks Karl we will be back soon, have a great holiday yourself.

Room Tip: Room 1 so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The strand is located in Boscombe; a suburb of Bournemouth. Limited free parking is available outside the hotel, but the rest of the road has spaces. The pier and beach are only about a 5 min walk away. The hotel is more like a B+b but a good one. The owner was very friendly and let us check in early which was handy. The room was spacious and had a sink in the room plus tea+coffee. The bedroom was shared and across the hallway which was a little bit annoying, but was very clean and had a good shower. The breakfast was really high quality for a continental; fresh fruit salad, yogurt, toast and a huge selection of cereals. A really good deal for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellebtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester U.K
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Spotlessly clean , warm and homely. Carl the owner upgraded me to a small double as they were not busy . Much appreciated.
Not many places in Bournemouth serve breakfast at 7.00am , this was a bonus as I had a busy day ahead . Value for money for sure ...I will use again when next in Bournemouth Thank you Carl ..

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 7 , on the second/top floor. Shower room and toilet next door . Nice and quiet ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coursemarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We picked this b&b as we where staying to see a band at the O2 academy, perfect as the O2 was a couple minutes walk away and easy to find. Met the owner straight away and he was very kind and very helpful . We stayed in the attic room, number 10, very clean and lovely and warm since it was a cold day, the whole house is spotless throughout , we had communal bathrooms but there is a couple so never had to wait to be used, and very clean. Continental breakfast with as many varieties of cereal you could want , toast, fresh fruit salad , there is a option of cooked breakfast I believe if asked in advance. Lovely communal lounge and garden to use too. Overall we would recommend to anyone, the owner was very kind and helpful and the house is very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAndSammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,968 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#35 of 132 in Bournemouth
52 reviews
2.2 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#11 of 132 in Bournemouth
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ocean View Hotel
The Ocean View Hotel
#63 of 132 in Bournemouth
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 19 Westby Road | Boscombe, Bournemouth BH5 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Strand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Hotel is Bournemouth's best kept secret for fresh, comfortable rooms at prices you'll love. Discover a smart hotel where you can relax in style and feel at home. Enjoy free high speed Wi-Fi everywhere, Freeview TV and tea and coffee making facilities in your room, all Sky HDTV channels in the lounge, and table tennis in the garden. Staying with us, you'll be just 500 metres from Boscombe beach, pier, surf reef and beachside restaurants. A pleasant 2km walk along the stunning seafront takes you into the bustling centre of Bournemouth with its many attractions including shops and department stores, nightclubs, restaurants and cafes, parks, an aquarium and aviary, crazy golf, and fairground rides on the seafront. Live music venue The O2 Academy Bournemouth is just footsteps from the hotel, or if you're looking for Premier League thrills, the AFC Bournemouth football ground is only 1 mile away. Our guests also enjoy boat and coach trips to popular nearby destinations such as The Isle of Wight, Brownsea Island and Corfe Castle, which can be booked separately. Bournemouth (Hurn) Airport is a 15 minute drive. For breakfast, indulge yourself with a generous freshly cooked "Full English". Plus help yourself to our plentiful buffet of fruit, cereals (a huge variety including gluten-free options), toast with premium jams and spreads, yogurt, fresh juices and hot drinks. We offer a variety of room types, from small single to en-suite king-size, to suit your requirements and budget. Look for our special offers on extended bookings, and business stays (Sunday - Thursday). We look forward to hearing from you, to ensure that your time in Bournemouth is a refreshing and rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing