We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome & really pleasant stay, definitely coming back!”
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #16 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome & really pleasant stay, definitely coming back!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed over the recent-early May bank holiday to get away for a few days, and couldn't rate Karl and his hotel better as it was so close to the beach, and felt a warm welcome from the onset. Karl was very kind, friendly and provided a top service, diverse range of breakfast options, and offered great help as to the local restaurants/ attractions. The hotel offered a spacious and homely lounge, lovely garden area to chill, with a room having everything we needed and more, so we would definitely recommend The Strand and stay there again in the future...thank you Karl :)

Room Tip: Just ask Karl in advance and if he can help in anyway, he will!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
75
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narberth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Booked very last minute to attend a sudden funeral.
Everything very good quality. Owner friendly and helpful. Room and the entire hotel really nice and comfortable and with good quality furnishings and fittings.
While a continental breakfast, best selection of cereals I have ever seen anywhere and a really lovely fresh fruit salad.
Excellent if you don't need an en-suite which we weren't bothered about for one night.
Very central for Boscombe beachfront
For £34 a night for two, can't beat it and nothing even vaguely tatty, everyhting really good quality

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraelizabeth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I would totally recommend this B and B. The welcome was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, tidy and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice and cooked fresh. The off road parking was a benefit as well. it was walking distance to the O2.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bean1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stay here for one night on 4th May 2014

Nice clean room and comfortable bed! Karl is very kind and helpful, who went the extra mile and provided us with exceptional services. His cooked breakfast is first class!

The place also has a lovely lounge and dinning area as well as a relaxing garden. We managed to place some table tennis in the garden which is a bonus of the stay.

We highly recommend the place!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night in a single room, booked via LateRooms.
Room was clean, not en suite but toilet next door and bathroom slightly further. Small sink in room for brushing teeth etc
Karl the owner is friendly and welcoming, breakfast is continental, wide selection of cereals, toast, pastries, fruit, juices etc.
Overall recommended, good value and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edjimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here as a single guest on 30th April 2014. The B and B is immaculately clean, very professionally run and the self serve continental breakfast was all you could possibly ask for. As well as all the usual cereals, toasts, teas and coffees there was even a bowl of freshly prepared fruit salad. The hotel was perfectly situated for local shops and five minutes walk from the beach. Karl the proprietor could not have been more helpful. Happy to recommend.

Room Tip: The one single room is very quiet at back of the house and bed was extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernhillangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

All round fantastic place to stay, Karl was the best host ever, nothing was to much trouble.
Rooms are cosy and clean, immaculate. We requested a full English which was great veggie option also available and was yummy, We could not rave about this enough really enjoyed our time here, the most comfortable nights sleep we have had in ages and for the price you pay it is great, Thanks Karl we will be back soon, have a great holiday yourself.

Room Tip: Room 1 so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,968 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#35 of 132 in Bournemouth
52 reviews
2.2 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#11 of 132 in Bournemouth
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ocean View Hotel
The Ocean View Hotel
#63 of 132 in Bournemouth
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 19 Westby Road | Boscombe, Bournemouth BH5 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Strand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Hotel is Bournemouth's best kept secret for fresh, comfortable rooms at prices you'll love. Discover a smart hotel where you can relax in style and feel at home. Enjoy free high speed Wi-Fi everywhere, Freeview TV and tea and coffee making facilities in your room, all Sky HDTV channels in the lounge, and table tennis in the garden. Staying with us, you'll be just 500 metres from Boscombe beach, pier, surf reef and beachside restaurants. A pleasant 2km walk along the stunning seafront takes you into the bustling centre of Bournemouth with its many attractions including shops and department stores, nightclubs, restaurants and cafes, parks, an aquarium and aviary, crazy golf, and fairground rides on the seafront. Live music venue The O2 Academy Bournemouth is just footsteps from the hotel, or if you're looking for Premier League thrills, the AFC Bournemouth football ground is only 1 mile away. Our guests also enjoy boat and coach trips to popular nearby destinations such as The Isle of Wight, Brownsea Island and Corfe Castle, which can be booked separately. Bournemouth (Hurn) Airport is a 15 minute drive. For breakfast, indulge yourself with a generous freshly cooked "Full English". Plus help yourself to our plentiful buffet of fruit, cereals (a huge variety including gluten-free options), toast with premium jams and spreads, yogurt, fresh juices and hot drinks. We offer a variety of room types, from small single to en-suite king-size, to suit your requirements and budget. Look for our special offers on extended bookings, and business stays (Sunday - Thursday). We look forward to hearing from you, to ensure that your time in Bournemouth is a refreshing and rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing