We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and highly recommended”
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #21 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Two of us stayed at The Strand for one night and I have nothing but good things to say about it.
Lovely house with a beautiful garden, Karl was a great host and gave us a lovely welcome. The rooms are nicely sized, very clean and comfortable. Many communal areas in the house with a lovely garden. Perfect location (5 minute walk to the beach and the cliffs). Great breakfast with toast, fruits, cereal and tea/juice.
Overall, would highly recommend to anyone going to the area and would love to return if planning to stay by the beach for a break again. Could not really ask for more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella23114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband booked this for my sister and I as a very, very late booking. Our flight had been delayed so much that no public transport was available to get us to London. What a delightful small hotel. Karl was a lovely person and welcomed us even though we arrived after 11pm. Lovely clean room with en-suite. The breakfast had a variety of options, never seen so many cereals in one place... Apart from the shops! Would definitely go back there and stay more than one night so I can explore the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Strand Hotel in June 2014 and had an enjoyable stay in a very pleasant hotel. Could not fault the hotel in any way. It was clean, tidy, comfortable and very good food & service.
We would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Perfect place really. Lovely food with a wide range of cereals, also toast and fruit. Most importantly it was very easy to sleep there. Also Karl is a great man and a great guy to chat to about whatever you have in mind! Would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed over the recent-early May bank holiday to get away for a few days, and couldn't rate Karl and his hotel better as it was so close to the beach, and felt a warm welcome from the onset. Karl was very kind, friendly and provided a top service, diverse range of breakfast options, and offered great help as to the local restaurants/ attractions. The hotel offered a spacious and homely lounge, lovely garden area to chill, with a room having everything we needed and more, so we would definitely recommend The Strand and stay there again in the future...thank you Karl :)

Room Tip: Just ask Karl in advance and if he can help in anyway, he will!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Booked very last minute to attend a sudden funeral.
Everything very good quality. Owner friendly and helpful. Room and the entire hotel really nice and comfortable and with good quality furnishings and fittings.
While a continental breakfast, best selection of cereals I have ever seen anywhere and a really lovely fresh fruit salad.
Excellent if you don't need an en-suite which we weren't bothered about for one night.
Very central for Boscombe beachfront
For £34 a night for two, can't beat it and nothing even vaguely tatty, everyhting really good quality

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraelizabeth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I would totally recommend this B and B. The welcome was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, tidy and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice and cooked fresh. The off road parking was a benefit as well. it was walking distance to the O2.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bean1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,431 reviews
1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#29 of 131 in Bournemouth
63 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
#1 of 131 in Bournemouth
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 19 Westby Road | Boscombe, Bournemouth BH5 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £27 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Strand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Hotel is Bournemouth's best kept secret for fresh, comfortable rooms at prices you'll love. Discover a smart hotel where you can relax in style and feel at home. Enjoy free high speed Wi-Fi everywhere, Freeview TV and tea and coffee making facilities in your room, all Sky HDTV channels in the lounge, and table tennis in the garden. Staying with us, you'll be just 500 metres from Boscombe beach, pier, surf reef and beachside restaurants. A pleasant 2km walk along the stunning seafront takes you into the bustling centre of Bournemouth with its many attractions including shops and department stores, nightclubs, restaurants and cafes, parks, an aquarium and aviary, crazy golf, and fairground rides on the seafront. Live music venue The O2 Academy Bournemouth is just footsteps from the hotel, or if you're looking for Premier League thrills, the AFC Bournemouth football ground is only 1 mile away. Our guests also enjoy boat and coach trips to popular nearby destinations such as The Isle of Wight, Brownsea Island and Corfe Castle, which can be booked separately. Bournemouth (Hurn) Airport is a 15 minute drive. For breakfast, indulge yourself with a generous freshly cooked "Full English". Plus help yourself to our plentiful buffet of fruit, cereals (a huge variety including gluten-free options), toast with premium jams and spreads, yogurt, fresh juices and hot drinks. We offer a variety of room types, from small single to en-suite king-size, to suit your requirements and budget. Look for our special offers on extended bookings, and business stays (Sunday - Thursday). We look forward to hearing from you, to ensure that your time in Bournemouth is a refreshing and rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing