We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit austere for my liking...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A bit austere for my liking...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed here for one night recently, in order to attend an event at the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC). The good bits: The hotel is within comforatble walking distance of the BIC. There is plenty of free parking avaialble and the breakfasts are decent.

The not so good: The decor in the public areas is very "functional" rather than welcoming and homely. The rooms are very spartan - I felt the combination of wood-effect "lino" floors (no carpets here!), plus rock-hard beds, stainless-steel bathroom sink and all-in-one shower and loo were rather reminiscent of a boarding school! Interesting concept and probably not for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreManagerBW, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you didn't like the design style of the hotel, but none the less we hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    613
    149
    32
    11
See reviews for
174
684
51
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

WE stayed here on Saturday night to attend a gig at the O2 Academy.

Hotel was easy to find and check-in was smooth and quick. The room was clean and spacious enough. The bathroom is a wet-room which I prefer with a walk-in shower which was hot with good pressure

What I did like was the reception/dining area which was open-plan and good for casual snacks and drinks late-on. The staff were friendly and helpful.

I particularly liked the 2 night porters who were Polish guys that made a great double-act but were also friendly and efficient. A great asset to the place.

Parking is really quite tight and for the size of the place seemed a little on the sparse side but maybe they have an area I did not see other than the two covered areas and the few spaces at the front.

Otherwise a good option and close to some local pubs and restaurants..

The room was clean and had good wireless and air-conditioning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoungeLizardLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreManagerBW, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Than you for your comments. I am glad you liked the hotel, and I will pass on your comments to the night staff. I am sure they will be happy to be recognised! We look forward to seeing you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Booked this hotel for the night as we were in Bournemouth to see Jools Holland (brilliant by the way!) Its a great hotel, free parking, which is getting a lot harder to find these days, clean, modern rooms. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Great breakfast, including a lot of what you would get in a 4 star hotel, fruit, cheese, pastries, full english, cereals etc.

All in all a great hotel for short breaks, with fairly easy walk into the town, although elderly people would probably struggle with walking as it is quite hilly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreManagerBW, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel, and I would certainly agree about the price of parking these days! We look forward to seeing you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Was staying in Bournemouth for one night on business and was attracted to the free wi-fi and free parking (public parking can be rather expensive in Bournemouth) for an excellent room rate with breakfast.

The hotel is a little way out of the town centre and too far away for holiday travellers, but for business travel is ideal.

The hotel is clean and functional, although the rooms feel a bit sterile and not very homely, again good for one night business travel, but wouldn't want to stay in the room for an extended stay.

Friendly staff and a couple of nice touches at check-in (free goody bag with chocolate and water if you sign up for a loyalty card).

Would stay again for business, but not for leisure, but compared to most business hotels, was good valley for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggiewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreManagerBW, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for your response. I would agree that the hotel is well suited to business guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Cheap as chips for a weekend stay. Location fine and rooms clean with everything you need for a city base. The free parking definitely puts this above similar quality hotels in other cities. Along with free wifi and super hot powerful showers there's not anything else we could ask for. If back this way would look this up again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank walkformilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreManagerBW, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. I'm glad the hotel suited your needs so well, and we hope to be of service to you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

It's been a couple of years since my last visit to this excellent Hotel & apart from a few visible changes the Hotel is essentially as it was the last time i visited, improvements: the tele is now a modern flat screen LG, and not the very poor sub standard cube tv, the dangerous and damaging heavy metal bollard (which cracked my rear bumper a few years ago) outside the main entrance has gone, and car info is inputted on the front counter parking computer, apart from that I could'nt see any thing else different.
I stayed in room 518 on Fri 30th Nov & Sat 1st Dec, and at £129 consider it to be excellent value for money, the room is basic but modern and comfortable, parking is free and fairly ample, breakfasts are outstanding, Ramada could teach a lot of uk hotels a thing or 2 about a "decent" breakfast, booking online was simple and fuss free as was checking in and out.
Downers: For the first time ever I was asked for ID upon check in (apparently a company policy), which is something that has never happened in any hotel before, my civilian mod ID with name and photo was'nt deemed good enough and my driving licence was provided instead, which was photocopied, why ???, room wise; only 4 very soft pillows are provided, personally I'd have liked to see either firmer pillows or 2 spare, we were rudely woken up by an inconsiderate guest, (in the region of room 508) at 04.45am on Sunday Morning, who made a lot of noise (talking loudly), and upon check out a "do not disturb" sign could be seen on a certain parties door, along with a lot of crumbs on the carpet, banging loudly on the door as I walked passed did enter my mind, but that would've brought me down to their attitude/level.

Recommendations; firmer / more pillows, explaining and broadcasting proof of ID.

Apart from the little incident, which was beyond the hotel's control, we had a really great stay, would like to thank all the staff for doing such a great job, and we will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, the wet room (no bath), is fantastic, if you like to have a bath I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreManagerBW, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Its nice to hear you have come back to us after 2 years and also good to hear you can see the minor updates and changes we have implemented, which is something we try to do on a regular basis. I understand your concern about asking for ID, however we only normally do this for UK patrons if they are paying in a certain way and we have no other form of identification for them, I am more than happy to explain this in more detail on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

In Bournemouth for 3 days on business and could not have picked a better hotel - easy to find, lots of free car parking, simple check in and check out, good service and good location.

The food was ok, but it was quick and just what I was looking for. The rooms are well equipped and modern.

If I had a gripe it would be the 'push button' hairdryer and the design of the wet room bathroom, which seemed to flood into the bedroom, but did not affect my stay.

Definitely stay there next time I am in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McAllisterandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreManagerBW, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
I agree with you we are ideal for short business breaks and I am glad you enjoyed your eveing meal with us. I will also ask my maintenance team to look at your bathroom drainage as well. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Bournemouth

Property: Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Address: 22 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NS, England (Formerly Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel, close to the town centre, shops and sea. With 114 bedrooms the Ramada Encore Bournemouth is an exciting new hotel experience. The concept is simple - fresh, stylish, vibrant and upbeat, with comfortable, contemporary accommodation. Rooms include doubles, twins and wheelchair accessible twin rooms. All bedrooms are air-conditioned, with power shower, internet access, generous work area, and more. Car parking on site with no extra charge, and a licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Encore Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Ramada Bournemouth
Bournemouth Ramada
Ramada Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing