We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but Breakfast was a Let-Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Like many of the other reviewers, I though that this was a nice comfortable hotel and was good value for money. My room was clean and airy although a bit minimalistic and the bed was comfortable. I was suprised that the television was so old fashioned, with a poor picture, in such a smart room; it should have been an LCD screen.
The thing that was poor was the breakfast.: the restaurant itself felt more like a college canteen than a hotel restaurant. There was no boiling water to make tea, just fairly hot water (it was a bit like being in the USA where the idea of using freshly boiled water to make tea seems completely alien) and the the orange juice was absolutely appaling: it was watery and was of a very low quality.
Although I was very happy with the room, the service and the overall quality of the hotel, the catering was a let-down. It felt like the 'dead hand' of the accountant was in there somewhere They need to spend just a little more on the catering; a good breakfast is important; although I didn't t expect 4/5 star hotel standard, it felt as if the abosolute minimum had been spent.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2009

We stayed at the Ramada Encore for one Saturday night and found it to be perfectly adequate. It is clean, smart and very modern in its design. The ‘hub’ – reception, small sofa seating area, bar and tables/chairs for breakfast - is fine to sit for a short while although none of the furniture is particularly comfy so you wouldn’t spend a long/lazy time there. Tea/coffee etc is help yourself from machines – you pay for the mug at the bar/reception desk.

Breakfast is ok, and as an inclusion to the £86 room rate we paid wasn’t bad, but I am surprised people rave about it in their reviews – the quality of the food is pretty poor (dried up scrambled eggs, pale cheap sausages, fatty bacon, etc).

Our bedroom was fine. Spotlessly clean and looked reasonably new. Wood flooring looks modern but makes it feel not so cozy as a carpeted room. TV had plenty of channels – I think everything you get on Freeview. Furniture was basic and functional – everything you needed but no luxuries. Bathroom was fine. Again, spotlessly clean and personally I liked the walk-in shower. It doesn’t get the rest of the bathroom floor wet so no issue. I wouldn’t call it a “power shower” though – just normal – we have power showers at home and these were nowhere near.

I would sum it up as being one level up from a Premier Inn, because there is on-site food & bar and lifts to the rooms. Good value for the price we paid and I’d go back if I wanted somewhere basic for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyPurples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We have stayed here before and went back again for 2 nights booked through late rooms.The parking is easy and free.The reception was fine and no problems encountered.We had a very modern room with all facilities .The shower room is wet room style with green glass panels and a good shower. The Bar and restaurant serve snacks and drinks.The prices are pretty good a pint of Becks for £2.75 and wine prices cheaper than the local restaurants.In the evening you can walk into Bournemouth in 10 mins so very central. Help yourself breakfast well laid out and good staff to oversee the proceedings.We would use it any time we need somewhere in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satnavfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Considering this hotel is described as half a mile from Bournemouth centre, it was less than 10 minutes walk and practically 2 minutes to restaurants, bars and clubs.Having said that didnt get any noise from outside at all and beds were wonderfully comfortable. Shower room was fab, and breakfast was to die for! Came with friends for my birthdayn and we all loved it. Only negative is there is only 1 mirror and little storage in the room so we were fighting for it! Great for families or friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

On arrival we were not made to feel welcome in the least, other guests checking in were offered a newspaper in the morning, we weren't. We had to ask which floor our rooms were on and on arriving at our room (we had 2 rooms for 4 females) we found the sink wasn't draining water, the TV remote didn't work and neither did the in-room telephone. It took quite some time for the telephone and sink issue to be resolved and we were told it was because they were "busy". We stayed for 2 nights, the TV remote issue was not resolved until the Saturday afternoon - the day after we arrived!

Breakfast was an all inclusive buffet style which was really fabulous but there was no sort of service at all. We weren't even told when checking in what time breakfast was from or to nor where we had to go for breakfast.

The room was just about ok, but the walk in showers in the bathroom can get a bit messy and none of us were very keen on these at all. I probably wouldn't visit again as I didn't feel it was worth it for the poor level of customer service received.

The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the beach and just a few minutes walk from dozens of bars and restaurants in the area. Central Bournemouth is a cab-ride away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladybong_n_hubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreManagerBW, Owner at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2009

I am very sorry you recieved such bad customer service, I am very surprised as this is something we pride ourselves on. I will be speaking with the member of staff who checked you in and make sure this is corrected. I hope you will give us another chance to prove our worth.

Regards

Brendan Westwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Comfortable room with a contemporary feel. Bare wooden floor. Air conditioning a bit fiddly at first (the trick is to press and hold down the Mode button). Very convenient for town centre. Cooked breakfast a bit dry and uninspired. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conference_Rep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Often use this very good (gets everything right) hotel.
Great for short stays.
Rooms modern, very clean and comfortable beds.
Lovely wet room power showers.
Great hot buffet style breakfast with all the trimmings.
More geared to business users but if you want to avoid the
pot luck choice of Bournemouth hotels this is a great place to stay.
Bags of onsite free parking and very friendly efficient staff.

What more could you want?

Only downside is they don't do an extensive choice for meals other than at breakfast.....
a buffet at lunch time weekdays and very limited bar snack type meals in the evening but also near to restaurants so you can overcome that. (10% discount if they book).

Thanks again Ramada Encore!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kibby2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,560 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Bournemouth

Address: 22 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NS, England (Formerly Pavilion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £50 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel, close to the town centre, shops and sea. With 114 bedrooms, the Ramada Encore Bournemouth is an exciting new hotel experience. The concept is simple - fresh, stylish, vibrant and upbeat, with comfortable, contemporary accommodation. Rooms include doubles, twins and wheelchair accessible twin rooms. All bedrooms are air-conditioned, with power shower, internet access, generous work area, and more. Car parking on site with no extra charge, and a licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Encore Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Ramada Bournemouth
Bournemouth Ramada
Ramada Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing