We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fine modern hotel with some niggling flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Fine modern hotel with some niggling flaws”
Reviewed 11 December 2009

I stayed for 2 nights and felt that the Hotel and it's staff were great value for money, and having shopped around for the best deals, this Hotel was about the cheapest.

It's bright, airy, minimalistic and very modern, staff were very helpful and attentive, booking and payment was quick and easy.

Breakfast is a large tasty hot/cold buffet type but a few extra items on the menu (mushrooms, hash browns and vegetarian sausages), would'nt have gone amiss, oh yes the auto toasters cremate the bread.

The room itself is functional & practical rather than homely and comfort laden, the bathroom area (which has a small screen seperating the shower from the toilet) is well lit and practical but a lip or something for the showe would've made sense, as it is when you have a shower the water goes everywhere.

Downers: For a very modern hotel the television is totally and utterly pants, pixelation and no signal was the norm during my stay and even though a very helpful member of staff rebooted the tv, pixelation returned shortly afterwards.

Parking especially when the Hotel's busy is a complete and utter joke - beware all those that try to drive/reverse down in front of the hotel, there is a tiltable bollard, made of heavy metal (not rubber, as it should be), which does'nt happen to be lit at night, it cracked my bumper, a sunken footpath leading up to it does'nt help. I'd like to see some kind of sign that says if either of the car parks are full or not, anyone going to either of the car parks in a large 4X4 etc are going to struggle (it's tight at the best of times).

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good value for money and that does'nt want to watch tele and that drives a g-wiz.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    618
    151
    32
    11
See reviews for
175
688
51
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Like many of the other reviewers, I though that this was a nice comfortable hotel and was good value for money. My room was clean and airy although a bit minimalistic and the bed was comfortable. I was suprised that the television was so old fashioned, with a poor picture, in such a smart room; it should have been an LCD screen.
The thing that was poor was the breakfast.: the restaurant itself felt more like a college canteen than a hotel restaurant. There was no boiling water to make tea, just fairly hot water (it was a bit like being in the USA where the idea of using freshly boiled water to make tea seems completely alien) and the the orange juice was absolutely appaling: it was watery and was of a very low quality.
Although I was very happy with the room, the service and the overall quality of the hotel, the catering was a let-down. It felt like the 'dead hand' of the accountant was in there somewhere They need to spend just a little more on the catering; a good breakfast is important; although I didn't t expect 4/5 star hotel standard, it felt as if the abosolute minimum had been spent.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
390 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We stayed at the Ramada Encore for one Saturday night and found it to be perfectly adequate. It is clean, smart and very modern in its design. The ‘hub’ – reception, small sofa seating area, bar and tables/chairs for breakfast - is fine to sit for a short while although none of the furniture is particularly comfy so you wouldn’t spend a long/lazy time there. Tea/coffee etc is help yourself from machines – you pay for the mug at the bar/reception desk.

Breakfast is ok, and as an inclusion to the £86 room rate we paid wasn’t bad, but I am surprised people rave about it in their reviews – the quality of the food is pretty poor (dried up scrambled eggs, pale cheap sausages, fatty bacon, etc).

Our bedroom was fine. Spotlessly clean and looked reasonably new. Wood flooring looks modern but makes it feel not so cozy as a carpeted room. TV had plenty of channels – I think everything you get on Freeview. Furniture was basic and functional – everything you needed but no luxuries. Bathroom was fine. Again, spotlessly clean and personally I liked the walk-in shower. It doesn’t get the rest of the bathroom floor wet so no issue. I wouldn’t call it a “power shower” though – just normal – we have power showers at home and these were nowhere near.

I would sum it up as being one level up from a Premier Inn, because there is on-site food & bar and lifts to the rooms. Good value for the price we paid and I’d go back if I wanted somewhere basic for a one night stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyPurples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We have stayed here before and went back again for 2 nights booked through late rooms.The parking is easy and free.The reception was fine and no problems encountered.We had a very modern room with all facilities .The shower room is wet room style with green glass panels and a good shower. The Bar and restaurant serve snacks and drinks.The prices are pretty good a pint of Becks for £2.75 and wine prices cheaper than the local restaurants.In the evening you can walk into Bournemouth in 10 mins so very central. Help yourself breakfast well laid out and good staff to oversee the proceedings.We would use it any time we need somewhere in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satnavfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Considering this hotel is described as half a mile from Bournemouth centre, it was less than 10 minutes walk and practically 2 minutes to restaurants, bars and clubs.Having said that didnt get any noise from outside at all and beds were wonderfully comfortable. Shower room was fab, and breakfast was to die for! Came with friends for my birthdayn and we all loved it. Only negative is there is only 1 mirror and little storage in the room so we were fighting for it! Great for families or friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

On arrival we were not made to feel welcome in the least, other guests checking in were offered a newspaper in the morning, we weren't. We had to ask which floor our rooms were on and on arriving at our room (we had 2 rooms for 4 females) we found the sink wasn't draining water, the TV remote didn't work and neither did the in-room telephone. It took quite some time for the telephone and sink issue to be resolved and we were told it was because they were "busy". We stayed for 2 nights, the TV remote issue was not resolved until the Saturday afternoon - the day after we arrived!

Breakfast was an all inclusive buffet style which was really fabulous but there was no sort of service at all. We weren't even told when checking in what time breakfast was from or to nor where we had to go for breakfast.

The room was just about ok, but the walk in showers in the bathroom can get a bit messy and none of us were very keen on these at all. I probably wouldn't visit again as I didn't feel it was worth it for the poor level of customer service received.

The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the beach and just a few minutes walk from dozens of bars and restaurants in the area. Central Bournemouth is a cab-ride away.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybong_n_hubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreManagerBW, Owner at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, 27 October 2009
I am very sorry you recieved such bad customer service, I am very surprised as this is something we pride ourselves on. I will be speaking with the member of staff who checked you in and make sure this is corrected. I hope you will give us another chance to prove our worth.

Regards

Brendan Westwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Comfortable room with a contemporary feel. Bare wooden floor. Air conditioning a bit fiddly at first (the trick is to press and hold down the Mode button). Very convenient for town centre. Cooked breakfast a bit dry and uninspired. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conference_Rep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Bournemouth

Property: Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Address: 22 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NS, England (Formerly Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel, close to the town centre, shops and sea. With 114 bedrooms the Ramada Encore Bournemouth is an exciting new hotel experience. The concept is simple - fresh, stylish, vibrant and upbeat, with comfortable, contemporary accommodation. Rooms include doubles, twins and wheelchair accessible twin rooms. All bedrooms are air-conditioned, with power shower, internet access, generous work area, and more. Car parking on site with no extra charge, and a licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Encore Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Ramada Bournemouth
Bournemouth Ramada
Ramada Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing